We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BE WARNED”
Review of Edelweiss Motel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Edelweiss Motel
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Hayward
Hurley, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“BE WARNED”
Reviewed 18 July 2011

***Worst experience I have EVER had! Please do NOT use this motel, I honestly think the owner is crazy and fear that one day a guest is going to be in the wrong place at the wrong time when this guy snaps! ***
The original conversation with his wife was great. They were the only motel in the whole town with a room available because of a major event (I wonder why). We told her that we would have 2 to 4 people. She said no problem if it ends up more than 2 they would just charge us 10 dollars extra per person. We asked that they not charge our card on file because we were going to pay in cash. Before we even arrived, we began receiving phone calls from the owner saying that if we weren't there by 6pm he was charging our card. We explained that we would be later and please don't charge the card, but promised we would be arriving later and paying with cash. He told us too bad be there by 6 or we charge the card. I withdrew cash from my debit that he had on file because I didn't know what he was capable of charging at that point. At 5 minutes after 6, he began calling and leaving messages telling us that we had a problem, our card is not going through and we needed to get this straightened out. Finally, we arrived at the hotel after 7 and he was livid, screaming at me about a valid credit card and yelling that he sees 5 people in our vehicle (there were 4) and this is a motel for couples only. I explained that the lady I spoke with told us we could pay for additional guests and he screamed "that LADY is my wife!" and you're not getting any extra towels! I then told him I didn't want to stay at the hotel as his aggression was way out of line and he turned it around and informed me that we were not allowed to stay there any longer. As we were walking out the door he continued yelling obscenities. I seriously thought I was on an episode of PUNKED! Scary, irrational man.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank ionnv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edelweiss M, Owner at Edelweiss Motel, responded to this review, 30 March 2015
I am sorry but this is not exactly what happened. Upon booking you stated 2 people and we never discussed additional people for this room as it was just you and your friend. You were also informed that our system is set up to charge a credit card if not check in by 6 pm. You stated you would be running later than that so I clearly stated it will charge your card but I can reverse it if you choose to pay cash when you arrive. 6pm came and the card automaticly came up declined. I at that point I (female) called you and asked for a valid card... or I can't hold your reservation. All credit cards are run for validation. We requested an additional VALID card and only then didn't have one. We let that slide until after 7 when you arrived and unloaded 5 people. When I approched you about the 5 people and asked you to pay for the addtional people you got very upset and say why does it matter I only brought enough for what you quoted me...at that point I (FEMALE NOT MALE) again asked for a valid card to compensate for the addtiional people. Since you didn't have a valid card or the extra cash and had 5 people instead of 2 I thought it was best for you to find another place to stay. What you stated in your review was misleading and invalid. People need to know that it seems that people only leave feedback when they KNOW they did something wrong and try to blame it on the motel. You never even talked to my husband as he barely EVER deals with any part of running this place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    2
    0
    1
    7
See reviews for
6
1
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2010

We thought check out time was 11:00 and at 9:59 a knock on the door (day before they went into our room while we were out to shut off the air conditioning, it was 90 degrees outside). I had already left and my son was sleeping. He told them he'd be out soon and that he had to get ready. There was 3 more knocks with last one being the owner. The owner is a mad man. He called my son the [--] word several times and went to grab his arm to throw him out and was calling the police while holding his very young child. My son was in his truck by 10:12 a.m. When I heard about the way he treated my son I went back to motel to request my final bill from the front desk guy and owners wife. At that time the ownder came out and wanted to know what was going on. I told him it was not necessary to treat my son like that. I wanted my final bill to be sure they weren't charging me for late checkout. He then proceeded to yell at me and told me to get out of his place and went to phone several times calling the police. He should not be allowed to run any business let alone a place that people stay overnight. Would not trust him for anything. Stay away from that place. His poor front desk man, wife and kids:(.

Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
14 Thank DeaconWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edelweiss M, Owner at Edelweiss Motel, responded to this review, 30 March 2015
You are talking about the previous owners!!! This is not the new owners. Sorry for the confusion or misleading information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hayward hotels

Columbus, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2010

on the phone, these people are really nice. This all changes once you actually get there. They have a strict non smoking policy, which is absolutely fine. I traveled with my mother who is smoker. We were having a big family reunion in Hayward and our family rented out this entire place. My mom and I got there first on Thursday. Thursday evening, my mom walked down the street past their property and smoked. The owner was waiting for her when she walked back!!!!! Going on about how this is a non smoking place and my mom was real nice and said she respected that and went down the street. Then he says 'well then you come in my room and stink it up and make my linens on the bed smell.' (so what, you don't wash your linens???) He said he would be HAPPY to find us another place to stay. We declined as our whole family would be coming in to join us that night. Friday morning, we left for breakfast, as soon as we got back, he banged on our door like he was the police and said we had 30 minutes to vacate his property. So we left. My uncle checked in later that day and immediately went across the street to smoke. He was allowed to stay, as was the rest of my family. this man has 8 rooms and had 5 other smokers in his rooms that were allowed to stay but my mom and I got the boot. This man is crazy..... I will never go back and will never refer this place to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank 37027Mandymay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edelweiss M, Owner at Edelweiss Motel, responded to this review, 30 March 2015
You are talking about a previous owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hayward
1.6 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#14 of 14 in Hayward
3.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
1.7 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 14 in Hayward
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
1.1 mi away
Flat Creek Inn & Suites
Flat Creek Inn & Suites
#5 of 14 in Hayward
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.0 mi away
Heartwood Conference Center & Retreat
22.2 mi away
Best Western Spooner Riverplace
0.2 mi away
Northern Pine Inn
Northern Pine Inn
#13 of 14 in Hayward
3.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edelweiss Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edelweiss Motel

Property: Edelweiss Motel
Address: 16081 W Park Rd, Hayward, WI 54843-2595
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Hayward
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Hayward
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Edelweiss Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small family run business. We work hard to provide nice clean rooms and friendly service. We do not allow pets in the rooms as we try to provide allergy free rooms for our guests. We do not allow smoking anywhere in or around rooms. State law requires 45" from door ways and windows, for this we have designated smoking areas across the way. No smoking in cars outside your door way as this violates our policy. We as a family, do all the work ourselves and try to please all guests. We do charge fees for smoking in the rooms and excessive cleaning fees caused by damages from guests. These are for extreme measures as there are people who this they can abuse the system and dispute later. We are not a large facility and it isn't right for us to absorb the cost of damages due to guest negligence. We have a great property and want everyone to have a wonderful experience with us. Thanks for considering us as your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Edelweiss Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing