We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place to have a good meal.”
Review of The Ranch

The Ranch
Ranked #12 of 82 Restaurants in Hayward
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Supper Club
Barrington, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very nice place to have a good meal.”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I have eaten here twice, and each time I had a very pleasant experience. The first time we had ribs and fried chicken. They were both pretty tasty. Our server was very attentive, and our meals came out in a timely manner....starting with our relish tray!
The second time we came, we had a group of 14...I think they did a great job accommodating a big group. It was a Tuesday night, so I wasn't thinking it was going to be busy, but they were. I thought they did a great job handling our thirsty crowd ;)) They gave us Jan and another waitress...We love Jan (we knew her when she was at another restaurant, but now we frequent The Ranch just so she can do a great job waiting on us!!!)

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoanG986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    30
    12
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lansing, Illinois
Level Contributor
87 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great old school”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The ranch is very close to town.They bill themselves as Hayward's oldest Steak house going back to the 1920's.No surprises here just good food at nice prices and very friendly staff.I have been here several times with my family and no one was disapointed.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnwood, Illinois
Level Contributor
175 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“A truly Wisconsin supper club”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We've enjoyed going to The Ranch for years. Our only complaint is getting seated and somewhat spotty service, probably because of not enough servers. We had a 6:30 reservation for 4 people on a Saturday night and had to wait for the hostess to come to us upon our arrival. We ordered a varied menu. Their special was the prime rib. It was excellent, accompanied by a choice of potato, soup or salad. I had the salad with their special parmesan/peppercorn dressing. Quite good. The chicken livers and onions were just so-so. Excellent ribs. The soup of the day was minestrone and was very good. What makes this a Wisconsin supper club is the relish tray including pickled herring. The veggies on the tray were crisp. Their multigrain bread is delicious. Brandy manhattans were enjoyed by 3 of us. Lovely setting overlooking a large yard or pond.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DEEDEE1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owatonna, Minnesota
Level Contributor
176 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Casual, friendly and great food”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We've eaten at a lot of good places in and around Hayward but never tried The Ranch so on a recent weekend trip to Hayward, we thought we'd try it out and weren't disappointed. It is your typical Wisconsin "supper club" with great food and service. We went on a Saturday night and it was packed because of a private party, but we still managed to get a seat at the unique bar and had a couple of cocktails before being seated for our dinner. I had the Walleye Scampi and it was delicious. My husband had the Saturday night special, Prime Rib and he loved it. Done perfectly to his liking. Great atmosphere and food equals very happy customers! Definitely worth trying and will go back again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scooterpieMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bethM831, Owner at The Ranch, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thanks for the great review...our goal is to stay true to the definition of the Northwoods supper club. We look forward to your next visit.....cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayport, Minnesota
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Mothers Day Eve”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This supper club was cozy and had large windows out the back where we watch red squirrels playing - The scampi walleye was great. Loved the relish tray - great touch. Service was friendly and very accommodating. Placed was packed when we arrived and we had great service - our waiter just started and did a wonderful job. Great value - Great Service and nice atmosphere. Only a short drive from Main Street

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shari H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing