We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best breakfasts!”
Review of Chief Lake Lodge

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Chief Lake Lodge
Ranked #48 of 82 Restaurants in Hayward
Cuisines: American, Pizza
Description: This is a bar and restaurant that is part of a resort near Hayward, Wisconsin.
Restaurant details
Description: This is a bar and restaurant that is part of a resort near Hayward, Wisconsin.
Hayward, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“One of the best breakfasts!”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This is one of our top favorites for breakfast & we live in the area so have been to a lot of them. The eggs actually have flavor, not the institutional type you get in most places & potatoes are really good (I'm not usually big on potatoes either). We go there often, especially in winter when we can take the sleds over across the Chippewa Flowage.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank shelleylee7250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    15
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level 6 Contributor
469 reviews
312 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“great fish/chicken fry!”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Stopped in and happened to catch the Friday Fish Fry--usually the menu is closed but since it wasn't too busy when we got there, they said we could order whatever we wanted. We all went with the fish fry anyway and glad we did! Salad bar was good, as was the seafood soup. We all had a mix of chicken and fish, which came with awesome garlicky baby red potatoes and the best darn asparagus we've ever had! Rolls were also delicious. Glad we came early as by the time we left the place was PACKED and LOUD. We plan to come back in the summer!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Coby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clear Lake, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Terrific Fish Fry”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stumbled upon this place by accident, driving around looking for a place to eat with a lake view. Not much for parking, and it was a little odd to walk around the building and down steps to enter from the lake side. It was kind of small and rustic, and the view of the lake was very nice.

It was Friday night, so we were looking for a fish fry. The price seemed high, I think $13.95, but it was well worth it. It was all you can eat, but the first serving was so generous we each took some home. The salad bar was good. The seafood chowder was as good as any I've ever had. The fish was very good, lightly breaded and no greasiness at all. The baby red potatoes were swimming in garlic butter, perfect for me, maybe not so good if you aren't a garlic person.

All things considered it was one of the best fish fry meals I've had.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LesJuge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayward, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“BEST FOOD IN THE NORTHWOODS”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Best restaurant in the northwoods !!! The food is unbelievably AWESOME. This is a must see from the food to the server to the bartender. They all take pride in all they do. Will definitely go back again and again !!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LLaSavage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayward, WI
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Weird to get to, but worth the confusion”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We ate at the Chief Lake Lodge twice this past week ... once for Friday night fish fry, and once for Thursday night pizza. Very convenient for those arriving by boat, jet ski or snowmobile ... but for those arriving on four wheels, there is a miniscule parking lot and a very daunting pair of concrete steps to get down to the lakeside entrance. There was a person using a scooter, and I'll never figure out how she got to/from this lakeside eatery. Friday fish fry was excellent, with choice of deep fried/battered or broiled, both good. Several potato options and a decent little salad bar. Good service, great mixed drink prices. The pizza was also very good, and they had a special (get a free pitcher of soda or beer ...what a deal!). The female half of the ownership is very outgoing. On the second visit, we dined at one of their lakeside tables. As beautiful a view as the lakeside dining at Famous Dave's, without the one-hour+ wait for a table! If you're a local, don't forget about this place!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VSRubato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chief Lake Lodge also viewed

 

Been to Chief Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing