We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hayward Family restaurant

Hayward Family restaurant
Ranked #9 of 83 Restaurants in Hayward
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$9
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Hayward Family Restaurant has an extensive breakfast and lunch menu featuring daily specials, homemade soups, Friday walleye fish fry, and special selections for children and senior citizens. Breakfast is served all day long. This menu features a wide variety of omelets, Belgium waffles, pancakes, skillets and French toast along with your standard breakfast fare. The lunch selection features wraps, sandwiches, salads, stir fry, char broiled burgers, and a number of home style favorites including BBQ ribs, fried chicken, pork chops, sirloin steak and shrimp. The portions are very generous and the prices are sure to fit within any budget.
Shell Lake, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
247 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

We ate here on Easter Sunday as most other restaurants were closed. We shared an omlette with pancakes and hashbrowns. The food was tasty, served hot and served very quickly. The service was outstanding and everyone were welcomed with friendly smile. First time here and we plan to go back soon!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lakerfantoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    25
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Always good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

This is one of my favorite places to eat . Whether its breakfast or another meal the quality is always there . Sure it's not much to look at , being a cafe style diner in a grocery locale , but still worth the trip . About the only negative thing I could say about the place is they are like a lot of other places in that you pay for your "pop" on top of your entree . I'm not faulting them its just that if you have a part of say 4 , each with an entree in the $10 range .., add pop at approx. $2 each . Now tip .., $40 goes to $50 with pop , add tip you're probably over $60 .
Lately I bring a few Crystal lite tubes and just flavor my water .., ( wink , wink) lol

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Guyacrosstreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

Friendly staff,good location, clean restaurant , wonderful food, prompt service and very reasonable prices.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank BJC795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayward, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A great family restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Big food, great menu, fast service! One of the best places for a home style meal. Great fish fry on Fridays . Always good!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank zippydi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

We ended up here since Norske Nook was outrageously busy and I'm glad we did! We were seated within 5 minutes and had very attentive servers! Best of all, the breakfast was awesome and everyone in our party loved their food! Generous portions too. My husband is very particular about how his sunny side up eggs are cooked and they were done perfectly. We will definitely go back!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DaisyMack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hayward Family restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Hayward Family restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing