We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The motel is great -- if you're prepared.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hayward
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grand Pines Resort & Motel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Hayward
Certificate of Excellence
Sheboygan Falls, WI
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“The motel is great -- if you're prepared.”
Reviewed 6 September 2010

It's a typical motel room with a woodsy theme. Rooms are clean, beds aren't comfy (after 8 nights on the road, this was the first bed to give me a sore back).

It has a fridge, microwave, toaster oven and mini coffee maker. However, you'll want to bring your own utensils, cups, dinnerware if you plan to use them to make even a quick meal in your room. There is also no ice maker on site, nearby, or in the fridge.

The access and view from the dock are quite nice.

I'd maybe stay here again but I'd be better prepared for it - including bringing something to make the bed more comfy or sleep on the floor.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TinaKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    40
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
86
29
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lindstrom, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2010

My husband, twin 4 month-olds, sister, parents & I stayed in cabin 25 on Little Round Lake in early August. The cabins are very different than anything I had ever stayed in before. They are all designed to be like your grandparents' cabin from years ago! Every cabin has a screened porch & full kitchen. Cabin 25 has 3 beds & 2 baths.

Pros:
1. Near Famous Dave's & a short drive into the town of Hayward.
2. Nice lakeshore on Little Round Lake-very clean & clear!
3. A pontoon was included with the cabin stay, which is very nice to have! Other places I've been to will charge upwards of $75 for an hour of a pontoon rental.

Cons:
1. Near a major highway, which was kind of noisy in cabin 25, probably wouldn't be as bad a few cabins down.
2. Very uncomfortable mattresses! I will need a trip to the chiropractor. Seriously.
3. While the vintage decor is cool & unexpected, it is a little much. There was so much stuff in our bedroom, I hardly had a place to put my glasses down at night. And the taxidermy fish (plural) kind of freaked me out.
4. Our cabin didn't offer many places to sit. There was one old couch & rocker. Some of the other cabins I saw on their website had more furniture.

Other recommendations:
1. Bring your own towels! They provide only 6 old & thin towels & washcloths.
2. Bring or buy toilet paper.
3. Bring camping fold-up chairs. We only had 4 plastic chairs out on the porch.
4. If you don't want to do dishes, bring paper plates. Also, the cabin only had 4 knives. May want to bring your own stuff.

I know my review sounds negative, but we really had a great time just relaxing & hanging out by the water.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KaterPotater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2010

This is a nice lake and very good cabins.... but, the mgt. for the past 2 years has provided boats as part of the deal. The first year the boat had NO usable prop and could not use until day 3. This year - same deal. They found another boat with a prop that was literally bend and chipped - not even a good backup. I used the boat sparingly - only in Little Round lake. At the end of my stay, they claimed it was bent more and charged my CC for $55. A new 100 prop - I wonder how many times that has been paid for by unsuspecting guests that are not used to inspecting boats. Stay away - management did NOT ever return my calls.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim1309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rice Lake, WI
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2007

We just got back from our second stay at Grand Pines. Both stays were anniversary weekend get-aways. And we loved it both times.
The resort shares the property with the original Famous Dave's rib house restaurant. There are several cabins that flank the restaurant on Round Lake. Nearly all are on the lake. There are more cabins on a nearby lake and a hotel as well. Despite the nearness to the restaurant, the cabins are isolated enough and well-landscaped enough that you don't know that it's there. And the perk is...if you don't want to cook, you can just bop over for take out.
Cabin #5 is awesome for a romantic weekend. I cannot say enough good things about it! There's a kitchen, in room jacuzzi, and an AWESOME 2-head shower.
Cabin #6 is a 3-bedroom. A little big for a weekend stay for two, but the upstairs loft is a bedroom suite with a great 2-person jacuzzi in the nicely sized bathroom. Water pressure was a little low in the shower.
In both cabins, there are gas fireplaces in both the bedroom and the living room and the decor is a perfect combination of northwoods summer cabin finds.

  • Liked — Privacy!
  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank stockgrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hayward hotels
7.9 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#2 of 14 in Hayward
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
8.4 mi away
Flat Creek Inn & Suites
Flat Creek Inn & Suites
#5 of 14 in Hayward
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
8.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#14 of 14 in Hayward
3.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
No photo provided
Edelweiss Motel
#12 of 14 in Hayward
3.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
8.4 mi away
The Riverside Motel
The Riverside Motel
#3 of 14 in Hayward
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
8.9 mi away
Northern Pine Inn
Northern Pine Inn
#13 of 14 in Hayward
3.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Pines Resort & Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Pines Resort & Motel

Property: Grand Pines Resort & Motel
Address: 9993 N Grand Pines Ln, Hayward, WI 54843-6149
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Hayward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Hayward
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Pines Resort & Motel is located on beautiful Round Lake in Hayward, Wisconsin. Our accommodations include 20 cabins and 10 motel rooms. Reminiscent of the days of the lumberjack! Luxurious cabins uniquely combine nostalgia with a touch of class. Rustic cabins are nestled in the woods and feature cozy interiors with stone fireplaces to take away the evening chill, whirlpool baths to soothe the soul, central air, a full kitchen and a pontoon boat available with most rentals. Grand Pines Resort & Motel also includes 10 motel rooms, located on Little Round Lake. They include two queen beds, a small refrigerator and sink, microwave, a coffee maker, flat screen TV, central air, whirlpool jets in the tub and a private deck off the back. Grand Pines Resort & Motel is an ideal destination to hold a wedding, family reunion, corporate retreat, business seminar, executive conference or convention. Our year-round conference facilities are designed to accommodate groups of various sizes. And the Hayward Lakes resort community offers all kinds of recreational opportunities, dining experiences, and shopping for your whole group to enjoy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grand Pines Resort Cabins Hotel Hayward

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing