We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A surprise”

La Cabana Canes Cantina
Ranked #19 of 81 Restaurants in Hayward
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A surprise”
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

What happens when the north wood meet Mexico? A delightful dining experience. The staff was attentive and remarkably courteous. Even the bus boy was working overtime to make sure we were enjoying our meal, had enough to drink and that the delicious chips and salsa never dried up. I has the chili rellenos, which had I slight kick, we're not overwhelmed by batter and weren't drowning in the oil of too much cheese. My husband loved his taco salad and proclaimed delight as we departed.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    34
    9
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minong, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“What a nice surprise!”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Heading out during the sub-zero temps to a movie and dinner and decided to try La Cabana. What a treat. The food was excellent, hot, and tasty! I have worked in restaurants, and the reviewer who thought the food was "nuked" probably isn't familiar with restaurant kitchens. In any case we totally enjoyed. We will return...also, my sangria was really good!! Such a nice addition to the Northland!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marge A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“South of the border goodness in the Great White North”
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Like margaritas? How about massive portions? Friendly staff? Quick service? Outstanding chips and salsa? Then this place is for you! I was staying in the hotel next door while my car was being worked on and the staff of this restaurant treated me like family (Not the kind of family you dread seeing on holidays, but favorite uncle family). The interior is large and festive. It is a nice change of pace when compared to over priced, pretentious area restaurants (You know who you are Angry Minnow). I will return and you should check them out!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very good Mexican”
Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

From Texas, live in AZ now and been eating Mexican all my life. This is as good as any I can ever remember. Highly recommended. If there is a downside, its the tourists and their self importance, but that's hayward. This is great Mexican.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank S35flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Mexican Place”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We ate at La Cabana when we visited Hayward last week. We were glad we stopped in. Some of the best chips and salsa we have tasted. Not salty like many places. Our food came to our table hot and very tasty. Good sized portions and the prices were reasonable. Will be sure to stop back next time we are in Hayward.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Danyel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Cabana Canes Cantina also viewed

 

Been to La Cabana Canes Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing