We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Northern Tiki Bar and Restaurant!”

River Deck Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 82 Restaurants in Hayward
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Open seasonally May through October. Check website for schedule.
Rhinelander, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
425 reviews
304 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“A Northern Tiki Bar and Restaurant!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We asked the couple at the motel where they recommended for dinner and they directed us here: thank you folks at Riverview Motel!! Open air bar; lights, log cabin, ice-cream shop, dining on a deck next to the Namakagon River(the Lake Hayward Part) and fantastic food. WE had been riding bike all day and were a little tired so we thought that we'd eat lite. The appetizer was baked Brie with a wine glaze, crustinies, and apples. We finished it for desert(except for the ice-cream that we took back to the motel) We had salads, mine was Mahi-mahi and it was perfectly done. It should have been as the chef for the nite came from the Turk's Inn, now closed, where she was chef for 50 years!. Everything was perfect: service view and food. Reasonable prices as well inspire as the fact that Hayward is a tourist area. By all means, go here for dinner if you are in Hayward.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TLV007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    28
    6
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Duluth
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Horrible, extremely slow service. If this place looks at all busy walk away and go somewhere else.”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Horrible, extremely slow service. If this place looks at all busy walk away and go somewhere else. We had a reservation and it took 45 minutes to get a appetizer.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alpine32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fred S, Owner at River Deck Restaurant, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Our lead server remembers you - we had a large group (24) that evening and when you arrived 15 minutes early for your reservation we seated you at the bar and bought you a drink, explaining it would be a quarter hour before we could seat you. Once you were seated for dinner, Amy felt you were served in a timely manner and you expressed satisfaction with the experience. All of our food is prepared fresh and it takes longer than premade entrees. Most of our guests consider the wait minimal and we apologize if we took longer than you considered acceptable. Please stop back and introduce yourself...you will receive excellent service. If a guest is unhappy with food or service, we want to fix it, immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Valle, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food, great location”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This was a great little surprise. The menu was small but everyone in our group of 11 enjoyed their meals. The outdoor bar and restaurant located on the river was the perfect backdrop for our family.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mdc60018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A great little find on a rainy sunday”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We happened upon River Deck on a rainy sunday while camping on Chippewa Flowage. After walking thru a very busy downtown Hayward with every bar/restaurant serving wisconsin ' s finest fried cheese curd appetizers, we went off the path and stopped here, what I thought was a tourist trap...but what a nice surprise. Great little menu. We had a crab cake, and tomato soup with a nice glass of wine. Inside or outside seating. Wonderful hostess Robin was a great local with a lot of history and info. Will be back.

Helpful?
1 Thank guilt-trip-101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful little find on a rainy sunday”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

What a nice little find. Was a rainy sunday, & we were camping for the weekend. The kids were out on atv trails taking advantage of mud, so we headed into town. Every bar/restaurant was the usual wisconsin fried cheese curd appetizers. ..we came over here and had a great crab cake, awesome tomato soup and nice glass of wine. Great place with great history. Robin was a fantastic hostess. We will be back. Nice to find an exec chef now and then.

Helpful?
Thank guilt-trip-101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed River Deck Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to River Deck Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing