We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We like this place”

Backroads Coffee and Tea
Ranked #1 of 4 Coffee & Tea in Hayward
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Hartford, CT
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“We like this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Unlike a recent review, we find the coffee just fine and the sandwiches generous, innovative, and tasty. Can you find a better coffee shop in Washington D.C,, or San Francisco? Probably, but this is Hayward, Wisconsin, a pleasant small northern Wisconsin town with surprisingly good food, nice people, and more lakes and rivers than you can count. So, Backroads Coffee rides near the top of restaurant venues in Hayward with its counter ordering, its self serve coffee, and its pleasant staff. The Starbucks in Madrid, Spain, doesn't even come close to this little place in Hayward. And it, and the laundromat next door, have free WiFi.
This isn't a place you would think of as "romantic", but there are often a few couples sitting close together murmmering tender things to each other. Thus the elevated romantic rating.
Try it. I think you'll like it.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jrubicon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    8
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
WashingtonDC
Level Contributor
791 reviews
548 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 391 helpful votes
“small coffee shop, but nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

I tried out Backroads Coffee & Tea on the way out of Hayward, and was not really impressed with its offerings.

Some stores in small towns, that's normally a great opportunity to find some local treats for delicacy, but not here. All the chocolates were from California – really, they couldn't find some Wisconsin chocolates to show off?

The coffee just came in big jugs that you served yourself.

Not much in the way of baked goods or sandwiches to eat. As much as it pains me to say it, I'd rather have gone to a Starbucks.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jg325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“best coffee!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

falvor of the day was cranberry creme yum...sandwich of the day was roasted turkey and cheese on marble rye with cranberry spread. All very yummy!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank gmajulie1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayward, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“My Favorite Place In Town!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

As a local, I visit Backroads quite frequently. The coffee is great, bakery delicious, and just as wonder is the staff. They are always smiling and friendly, no matter if you are a first time guest or are there as often as me. Definitely make this a stop on your vacation, or part of your routine on an extended stay while visiting our little town, you won't regret it!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LLaSavage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayward, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Warm and homey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Great coffee, nice selection. Bakery goods and light lunches. Makes a mini hayward coffee house a treat.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank zippydi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Backroads Coffee and Tea also viewed

 

Been to Backroads Coffee and Tea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing