We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friendly, relaxing getaway!!”
Review of Ghost Lake Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hayward
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ghost Lake Lodge
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Hayward
Reviewed 31 July 2013

I love this place! Stayed here with my significant other in mid July of this year. We did a lot of research regarding where we should stay in the Hayward area and once we saw GLL online we were decided. But still, you never know. We stayed in Cabin 0. It was the perfect size for a couple. The woodwork and fireplace were beautiful. Really nice, modern bathroom. Awesome screened porch. I've never stayed that close to the water before. Our private pier was 5 feet from the cabin. It was like a movie cabin. Had everything we needed. It was clean as can be. I didn't see the interiors of any other cabins, but they are all nicely spaced apart and secluded. It's woodsy. The lodge and the rest of the grounds were very well-maintained. The lodge is just classic cool. Lots of people come for the fishing which is, by all accounts, fantastic. I loved that they had an outdoor swimming pool, as that wonderful fishing lake was a little weedy for my swimming taste. They have a nice tennis court. The owner and the staff were terrifically pleasant and available if you needed them. They make a good drink at the bar. We had a wonderful week.

Room Tip: Cabin 0 is great for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (18)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 18 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2013

This resort is a true gem! Historic, rustic cabins on a beautiful lake! We had one of the nicest vacations in recent memory and we will be back. We were here in early July 2013 and have booked another stay for the fall colors. Our cabin was cozy and clean with great access to Ghost Lake (right on the shoreline), and the fishing was terrific!

The owner is attentive when needed and otherwise respects the privacy of his guests. It has been an epic year for mosquitoes due to more rain than usual and the management was making every effort possible to "knock them back" for the guests. We were very grateful for his efforts and understand that this can be part of the North Woods experience.

The fact that this resort has a pool was one of the reasons we chose this resort and we weren't disappointed! Clean, refreshing and large enough for laps. The cabins were built in the 1930's and are in good shape and very clean. Linens were crisp and clean and we were impressed with how tidy and clean our cabin was.

Cell service is almost non-existent, but free wi-fi in the lodge placated my husband's need to check in and it's amazing how great it felt to unplug! We played more tennis the week we were there than we had in a very long time.

I just read the review before ours and I guess you just can't please everyone, but that review is simply not characteristic of this resort, the owner or the staff...

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grace M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Our welcoming was friendly and things went smoothly for checking in, but my spouse & I had our concerns just from the look of things – “run down - beyond used up”... Our concerns were beyond true. Having old cabins is one thing maintaining them & keeping them clean is another, cabin #5 was a dump. Clump of hair in tub, bug parts in kitchen ware, soiled smelly linens- so glad we brought some extra pillows - excessive gas smell from fireplace pilot or stove (both) major concern. You wouldn't walk barefoot in this place and as an extra bonus we slept fully sprayed up with mosquito spray because of so many leaks allowing the pest in. We cut our stay short because we just couldn't take it anymore - within the five days of staying there we saw one party of folk’s use the in ground pool, my daughter wouldn't because of all the debris in it. Trying to get something out of our stay at Ghost we played tennis, luckily we brought our own racquets & balls. The kids and I played foosball + billiards, while my spouse touched base using Wi-Fi inside lodge. The rate charged for this dump just made me sick, while in Hayward, WI we stopped at the visitor center and obtain multiple brochures with clean renovated cabins for a considerable lower rate for week rental. Checking out one day early also left me with further frustration - its 9:30am and I woke some strange women inside living quarters within the lodge she placed a phone call in order to get ahold of the owner staying on the grounds but in different dwelling, while on the phone with him I simply stated we wanted to check out. He didn't bother to ask why we were departing early - instead he proceeded to write up a bill at the wrong rate, at this time I stop him and voice my frustration. He then remembers our agreed upon price and proceeds to charge me that rate even though we are leaving a day early. I then told him we were deeply disappointed & just wanted to pay and be ridding of this bad experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Bryan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GhostLakeLodge, Owner at Ghost Lake Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2013

I was surprised at this review. We strive to provide clean cabins, and our laundry is sent out and done professionally. We are located in an old growth hemlock grove, so the pool does get debris in it, however it is cleaned daily. This guest did not express any of his concerns to management during the stay and so we were not made aware of any of the stated issues or given a chance to rectify them. The mosquitoes were the worst they have been in 30 years, we do fog to try and keep them down some, but there is only so much we can do against mother nature. I did inquire as to the reason for the early departure, however Bryan declined to answer and just stated he wanted to pay and leave. The Lodge opens at 10 am, his checkout a day early and before opening of business hours was also unusual. We work hard to ensure an enjoyable stay for all and will do anything we can to make sure that occurs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We stayed in Cabin 0 for a few days in August 2011. The cabin was remarkably clean and very cozy. We had a bit of trouble with the motor on our boat at the dock, when we told them about it they fixed it immediately. Our welcome there was very friendly even though we arrived late. We felt very welcomed and had a wonderful, restful time. Enjoyed boating around the lake, grilling, and sitting by the bonfire. Spent most of our time rowing around the lake, chasing a bald eagle to take pictures of it. Highly recommend this place for a quiet, restful vacation.

Room Tip: Cabin 0 is very private and very close to the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank cleozen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2009

Absolutely great accommodations! We had a family reunion at Ghost Lake Lodge and everyone enjoyed every bit of a 4 day/3 night event. Rustic but very clean. We felt deep in the woods yet every need met beyond expectations. Great times to really get to know each other ~ visiting to the musical background of Loons & Owls ~ at a camp fire by the lake or in cabin by fireplace; time to explore intruiguing paths (note variety of mushrooms, trees, leaves rustle as little animals scatter). We even spied an Elk ~ awesome! Lots of deer. Viewed the big results of beavers' challenging labors. This is a fantastic location for small - medium sized groups, couples, families wanting to get away from the hoopla of commercialization (& all the man-made madness). Yet a big variety of activities. Amy & Nathan are most delightful and definitely want their guests to thoroughly enjoy this unique and fantastic adventure. Highly recommend! Great memorable times are made at Ghost Lake Lodge!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CousinCarla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2009

Stayed at the Ghost Lake Lodge with several groups of extended family (a pseudo-family reunion). All had young children (7/9 under 6 yrs) and did we have a great time! The pool was an unexpected pleasure (clean and accessible) and the access to the lake was unparalleled with the private docks that each cabin is equipped with. Every night at sunset, all the fish fanatics took to the lake for some outstanding muskie fishing and great stories. Wildlife were everywhere - beaver, loons, turtles, frogs, eagles, osprey...even the call of the wolves at night.

Kids could catch pan fish off the dock almost continuously so we've now got a whole new generation addicted to the sport. Amy & Nathan were AWESOME hosts and made the lodge the go-to place for billiards, a few beers and fish stories after the kids were bedded down.

Be prepared to bring your food as restaurants are not right around the corner.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2008

We have chosen Ghost Lake Lodge for our annual family vacation for 24 years. We love the quiet setting of the old log cabins nestled in the woods near the lake. The pool and tennis court are close to each other and not too far from the cabins. Amy and Nathan are friendly and helpful hosts whom we look forward to seeing each year. Ghost Lake Lodge is not a party place, but rather a peaceful resort in which one can kick back, read a book, enjoy the pool with friends and family, go out in the boat to fish for muskies or watch the loons.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank WisconsinLa1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hayward hotels
20.6 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 15 in Hayward
190 reviews
21.2 mi away
Flat Creek Inn & Suites
Flat Creek Inn & Suites
#4 of 15 in Hayward
102 reviews
22.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#14 of 15 in Hayward
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Edelweiss Motel
Edelweiss Motel
#13 of 15 in Hayward
22 reviews
21.0 mi away
The Riverside Motel
The Riverside Motel
#3 of 15 in Hayward
65 reviews
21.9 mi away
Northern Pine Inn
Northern Pine Inn
#15 of 15 in Hayward
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ghost Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ghost Lake Lodge

Address: 12355 N Sheers Rd, Hayward, WI 54843-5164
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Hayward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Hayward
Price Range: £95 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ghost Lake Lodge is a historic resort on a virtually private lake surrounded by the Chequamegon National Forest. Offering vintage cabins along the lake and more modern accommodations in the Lodge. Fish, hunt, canoe, kayak, bike, hike, play tennis, or swim in the pool. Additional amenities include wireless DSL, pool table, foose ball, darts, and a full bar available in the Lodge. Experience the peacefulness of the past...today! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ghost Lake Hotel Hayward

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing