We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (24)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveller rating
19
0
1
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
19
0
1
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews zip line pontoon boat get away fish john grill
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 24 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2016 via mobile

Excellent experience for the whole family. The kids had a great time running around, and we all had a great time fishing. It's a great lake. John is a great help and makes you feel very welcome. He is helpful and prompt without getting in the way. My wife and I were able to relax with cold drinks on the deck while watching the kids play. Highly recommended! It's a great resort without the overly-pampering intrusiveness of high-end places. Worth every dime. We are going back.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Isaac S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2016

Just finished a trip from the UP of Michigan and was lucky enough to stumble across an opening at A Wilderness Haven in early July. John, the owner, welcomed us with excellent recommendations for nearby restaurants, attractions, and excellent fishing spots on the lake right across the street.

John lets guests take any of his many kayaks out for free, and also lets individuals rent pontoons for the afternoon which is great for anyone trying to explore the beautiful Spring Lake or catch nice bass, northern or pan fish.

If you are looking for a wilderness retreat in great rustic cabins, with a great view of the lake and an overall excellent getaway, please give John a call. He will take great care of you and make sure you are having fun!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Noah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2015 via mobile

Drove 6 hours here to a get a taste of the wild and we got just that. Very beautiful place! Cabin was clean and roomy for my family and I. Lots to do around! Close shopping for anything we needed. Great fishing. Great mushroom picking. The owner John was very kind and helpful. Would definitely come back and recommend anyone that wants to get away for a great family week/ weeken end!

Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
Thank Luda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2015

Our family has been coming here every summer for several years now. You can't find another resort that comes with the use of a pontoon for price. The fishing is GREAT and it is a very relaxing get- away. There are many fun day trip opportunities around the area to explore as well. John, the owner, is wonderful and a very knowledgeable outdoorsman. Our boys always learn something from him each trip. When asked asked where they want to go on vacation, our boys always have Wilderness Haven and Hayward at the top of their list! Many great family memories made here.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
Thank BudapestRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2015

It should be a red flag when a resort has availability at the height of summer! We were looking for a resort for a last minute summer getaway when we stumbled upon Wilderness Haven's websites. The pictures looked good. Reviews were mixed, but we figured we would give it a try.

The cabins look great from the outside and the porches are great for hanging out. Inside is another story. Rustic is one thing. Dirty and in disrepair is another. I don't know if they just didn't have time to clean, but the kitchen area was just plain gross. Dead bugs on the window sill. Kitchen tile pealing up everywhere from water damage. Door that would not open no matter how much brute force we used.

While we did enjoy the fact that there were no televisions, we were counting on the promised Wifi to stay in contact with the outside world. The zip line seemed unsafe. Air conditioner was not great. The pontoons were hit and miss. Yes, they float but the torn seats are a turn off. Fishing was okay, but we were there late in the season.

In the end, we decided to leave two days early and stay in another hotel in town with a pool and more activities for the kids.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews