We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Magical Get-away in the Northwoods”
other travellers have booked this property
Runamuk Roost
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Runamuk Roost
The front yard view from the shore
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
Runamuk Roost
The front yard view from the shore
The porch - one of our favorite rooms...
Another photo of the porch
Outdoor dining patio
Fishing map uncovered during renovations.  Note the original owner's secret fishing spot markings.
Great sandy beach, clean and gentle sloping lake.
Beautiful sunsets; pretty lake
The best sunsets...
The living room looking towards the lake
The living room from a different angle.
The Living Room Fireplace
Sitting area
The kitchen
The kitchen from another view
The banquette dining nook (seats up to 12)
The kitchen from yet another perspective.
Master Bedroom with king-sized bed
Master bath
Main level lakeside bedroom with double bed
Main level bedroom with double bed
Main floor bath with shower/tub
Upper level lakeside bedroom with queen bed
Upper level lakeside BR dressing area
Upper level bath with shower
Upper level bedroom with two twin beds
Perfect room for kids
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Hayward, Wisconsin

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Liis1959
Amery, Wisconsin
1 review
“A Magical Get-away in the Northwoods”
Reviewed 14 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

How grateful we are to Jim and his family, for creating, maintaining and sharing their thoughtfully appointed home. The house was designed and crafted with great care. The quality and beauty is readily perceivable --- through the five senses, and in the feeling of ease (and awe) one feels from the very beginning. Each of us let out a big sigh when we walked through the front door, and savored every moment in our new home away from home. Runamuck provided a perfect container for us to connect with our adult children and their sweethearts.

Jim was great to work with. He was approachable and attentive to details (He had a fire burning in the fireplace when we arrived.)

We would love to own a northwoods cabin, but we don't want the expense and work that comes with ownership. These insights made the rental fee very reasonable! We will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The intangible feel of the place. It was very easy to let down and
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amery
Reviewed 13 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
steve l
River Forest, Illinois
1 review
“Runamuk Roost - great home base for ice fishing excursion”
Reviewed 10 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We rented Runamuk Roost as home base for a annual ice fishing trip of friends. The home is up-north luxury. It's a warm relaxing home with personal touches throughout. The kitchen and bedrooms are large and the fireplace burns hot at the end of a long day on the ice. We planned to fish LCO but ended up with multiple fish dinners from Durphee lake right out the front door - great time. The owners are the real catch and care as much about their guests as they do their wonderful lake house. Thanks Jim, we'll be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Quality, comfort and location
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbattaino
Eagan, Minnesota
1 review
“A wonderful experience!”
Reviewed 8 February 2014 for a stay in July 2013

I have had the pleasure of staying at a Runamuck Roost during the summer and in the winter. The home is exquisitely furnished, very comfortable and charming. Our group has been on guided ATV & snowmobile excursions and absolutely loved them. There is nothing better than swimming and fishing in beautiful Lake Durphee on a hot summer's day. I would highly recommend renting this amazing home!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Reviewed 30 January 2014 for a stay in July 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MN
Reviewed 30 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MN
Reviewed 30 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing