We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“You've found your vacation spot!”
other travellers have booked this property
Runamuk Roost
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Runamuk Roost
The front yard view from the shore
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
Runamuk Roost
The front yard view from the shore
The porch - one of our favorite rooms...
Another photo of the porch
Outdoor dining patio
Fishing map uncovered during renovations.  Note the original owner's secret fishing spot markings.
Great sandy beach, clean and gentle sloping lake.
Beautiful sunsets; pretty lake
The best sunsets...
The living room looking towards the lake
The living room from a different angle.
The Living Room Fireplace
Sitting area
The kitchen
The kitchen from another view
The banquette dining nook (seats up to 12)
The kitchen from yet another perspective.
Master Bedroom with king-sized bed
Master bath
Main level lakeside bedroom with double bed
Main level bedroom with double bed
Main floor bath with shower/tub
Upper level lakeside bedroom with queen bed
Upper level lakeside BR dressing area
Upper level bath with shower
Upper level bedroom with two twin beds
Perfect room for kids
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Hayward, Wisconsin

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
K5313OXsu...
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“You've found your vacation spot!”
Reviewed 14 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This is one of our favorite vacation homes ever! Runamuk Roost is simply perfect. The house is stunning - you really can't capture it in photos! Everywhere you look are reminders that you are in the woods surrounded by nature, from the beautiful decor to your view out of every window. The kids swam in the lake every day, and we highly recommend renting a boat as it's a wonderful lake to explore. We also loved the fact that the lake was a perfect size for our taste - no jet skiers or loud motor boats. We'd give Runamuk Roost six stars if we could!

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2016
We are so happy you enjoyed our home. It's great when other people get as much joy out of it as we do. You were great guests and took nice care of it. Hope to see you again. K
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smiller19...
Farmington, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome rustic cabin retreat”
Reviewed 25 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Runamuk Roost for the weekend of 04/22/16. It is a beautifully situated cabin just a few minutes from Hayward with wonderful lake views. The cabin was very clean and very well set up for a large family or group. Literally everything was provided for, including utensils, a dishwasher, soap, towels, gas grill, pots and pans, binoculars etc so you don't have to bring the kitchen sink, it is already there for you!

We also saw wonderful wild life including deer, ducks, geese, beavers and bald eagles on our trip. I would recommend this place to anyone!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views, convenience and wildlife
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Apr 2016
Thank you for the nice words. We're happy you enjoyed Runamuk Roost and had fun.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSPGreg
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Happily Running Amok!”
Reviewed 29 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A group of us spent a fantastic weekend at this charming home. Although the constant rain of the weekend kept us indoors most of the time, it didn't matter, since the indoors here is a great place to be. The kitchen was fantastic, the living room comfortable and the bedrooms cozy and warm. (Personally, the master bedroom had an adjustable air bed, which I have difficulty sleeping on, but our friends all reported deep slumber).

Jim and Robyn were fantastic to work with and communicate with. We are already trying to figure out when to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Mar 2016
We appreciate your nice review. Happy to hear you loved it. Took me a while too to find the right "sleep number" for the MBR bed. Once I did though it was best mattress I slept on.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily K
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome family getaway”
Reviewed 24 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a group of 5 adults, 1 10 month old and a dog during our 5 night stay. We had a glorious time at the cabin. It was incredibly peaceful, clean, cozy but with plenty of space for all of us. We loved the large/spacious kitchen and eating area, that we had plenty of bedrooms and bathrooms for all and had the fireplace on for most of our stay. The cabin is situated on a quiet lake and street and we felt like we had a great deal of privacy and quiet. We look forward to returning again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Quiet, calm and lots of bedrooms and bathrooms
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Mar 2016
You were great guests. You left the house in such great shape. Our cleaning crew were so impressed. It was truly a pleasure to host you guys
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DebrahG
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Runamuk Roost Hosts Fat Bike Birkie Friends - Total Awesomeness”
Reviewed 14 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

What is not to like about this great story book cottage? Five couples shared Runamuk Roost for the Fat Tire Birkie. The house is great - plenty of room to spread out, yet we can all gather around the island in the kitchen or around the fireplace in the living room for great conversations. Kitchen is equipped with everything and stocked with kitchen staples (spice drawer) and some pantry extras. Love the attention to detail in the finishes (can't tell where old and new start/end) and decor - feels a place up 'nort you never want to leave. Comfortable beds (we stayed in the BR w/twin beds and loved the spaciousness) & linens. There's even a piano to play if you feel moved to bust out some Chopin. Would definitely stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: So darn story book cute!
Liked least: Wasn't able to charge our Chevy Volt
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike H
Eagan, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing weekend”
Reviewed 14 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Second time we've been to this cabin. The cabin is really beautiful, the setting is perfect and the amenities are really terrific. We hope we can make it back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the views
Liked least: the windy driveway
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen S
Ellsworth, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I can't wait to go back; I would stay there all year long!”
Reviewed 26 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The property is beautiful and placed on the lake where it has a lovely view of the sunsets. The lake home is warm, inviting, and very high quality with lots of custom work. Every rug, lamp, piece of furniture, and fixture is beautiful. The decorating is professional, with great attention to details that add character and charm. I wish I could live there. With five bedrooms, three bathrooms, a fabulous screened porch, and spacious kitchen with dining nook, all being wood (including the ceilings), I would need help keeping it as polished as it is. If I didn't need to maintain it, it would be a dream house. The bedrooms all have room darkening shades, curtains, or wooden shutters to enable you to rest, relax, and dream long past sunrise. The porch lets you have the feel of being in the woods, yet the screens offer protection from pests. The patio and outdoor grilling area is very nice, with table and seating that is pretty and comfortable. We played yard games in the spacious grassy area between home and lake, and we enjoyed the fire pit in a circle of Adirondack chairs. Our dog also loved it and was happy to be invited. We ran errands in nearby, Hayward. There are many stores, specialty shops, unique bars and restaurants, and attractions. There is even a doggy store with homemade treats, toys, outfits, etc. My husband and I are planning to take our family back next summer. Our children are in their twenties and it was the perfect get away for all 8 of us. We rented a pontoon this year and next year we may add jet skis.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lake home was so peaceful, beautiful, and ready to move in and enjoy.
Liked least: Having to leave our lovely vacation roost behind.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing