We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unexpected Quality in a Small Town”
Review of Hotel Hillsboro

Hotel Hillsboro
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hillsboro
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Hillsboro
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hillsboro
Elk River, Minnesota
Level Contributor
100 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Unexpected Quality in a Small Town”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Stayed at the Hotel Hillsboro as part of a group of motorcycle riders. The rooms are very nice and accommodated our group very well. The pool is nice, but the hot tub was a life saver after riding in the rain. The breakfast area is spacious and nice. The bar and restaurant is excellent and the staff are hard working and very friendly. On a side note, the smothered chicken is killer!!!!

All in all, a very good place to stay. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthwoodsJuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    16
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
11
13
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

In this part of rural Wisconsin finding a nice place to stay can be somewhat of a challenge, so we were delighted to find the Hotel Hillsboro on a recent travel back to our home town of Elroy for a funeral. Formerly a Sleep Inn, the owners decided not to renew the franchise and instead put their money into a great restaurant and bar adjacent to the hotel, which definitely contributed to a pleasant stay. The decor in Beezers Restaurant is "Northwoods" with knotty pine walls, high ceilings and a cozy atmosphere. They serve steaks, fish, burgers, salads, and prime rib on Saturday nights. We were part of a large table of 10 people and everyone remarked that their meal was good or excellent. Our room was spotless and well maintained, check-in was efficient, and although we didn't use the pool it looked clean and inviting. Hotel Hillsboro has a very nice continental breakfast with a wide selection of food choices along with nice little touches like homemade cinnamon rolls. From now on the Hotel Hillsboro will be our first choice to stay when we journey back home again.

Room Tip: There is no elevator in the hotel, so consider a first floor room if climbing stairs is an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WisconsinKristin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, Iowa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

In town for medical tests and stayed here. Pleasantly surprised with the accomadations and the rate was reasonable. Loved the Bar and Grill onsite, Did enjoy my stay. Didn't use the pool but it looked tempting.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine12060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baraboo, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 November 2012

My sisters, daughters and I stayed at this hotel for our "getaway" weekend. The suite was really nice and all of the staff were very nice and helpful. Beezers Bar and Grill is attached and has great food. The Dollar General and the Subway next door are both convenient. We had a great time at Beezers.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkbm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

My wife and I went on a short trip up to Wisconsin in September to hill country and stayed at the Hotel Hillsboro. This is a pet friendly motel. It was great to be able to take our dog with us. They have two rooms they keep for pets. There is $10 or $15 pet charge for the stay and very reasonable overall rate of $79. The pet needs to be kenneled/crated if you leave the room. We left both days for several hours and it worked out great to leave our dog in his kennel in the room. The rooms are located at the end of the motel, next to the exit door which works out nice. A residential area surrounds the motel and a park is within easy walking (a few blocks away). It was a nice walk for the couple of mornings/nites that we stayed. The room was spacious, large bathroom, clean and didn't smell and very quiet. The beds were comfortable (really large puffy pillows). The heating/cooling was quiet. There is a bar/restaurant that is attached at the other end of the motel with very reasonable prices and tasty choices. The front desk staff was helpful answering questions about the surrounding area. We rented a canoe from Drifty's and canoed down the Kickapoo to bridge #5. Very nice trip. They have a nice visitor center, trails in the the Kickpoo preserve. Nice area to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CVspiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2012

I book weekend overnight trips for our GoldWing motorcycle group and we stayed here and were very pleased with this hotel. We ate at Breezers and there was a longer than usual wait for the food, but we had quite a large group too. The morning bruch was great, just what we needed to get on the road without a delay! Staff were pleasant and friendly, helpful with booking and coordinating rooms, etc.

I would recommend this hotel for any purpose from family to groups, or business travel.

Room Tip: They do have handicapped accessible rooms and one of our couples booked that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Champaign, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Just spent the weekend (21 July 2012) at the Hotel Hillsboro with my girlfriend and her 11-year old daughter. This is a newer chain hotel that has been converted to private ownership, but remains clean and well maintained, with no front desk problems encountered by us. A restaurant/bar has been added since my last stay, called Beezer's. Good service, excellent range of food from burgers and steaks, to pasta, etc. More like a family-oriented resort restaurant than a bar ... prices were excellent compared to more urban or touristy locations. This is a great base for motorcycle touring, bike riding rail-to-trails and canoeing the Kickapoo River. Strongly recommended for couples or families!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hillsboro
17.2 mi away
Best Western Park Oasis Inn
17.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#3 of 4 in Mauston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
19.4 mi away
Voyageur Inn and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
Super 8 Mauston
Super 8 Mauston
#2 of 4 in Mauston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hillsboro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hillsboro

Property: Hotel Hillsboro
Address: 1235 Water Ave, Hillsboro, WI 54634 (Formerly Sleep Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Hillsboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hillsboro
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Hillsboro, a locally owned independent hotel. The hometown pride and commitment by the owner and staff makes sure our guests are provided with the best quality, comfort and services available. We have 44 rooms, including 3 whirlpools suites. Our staff is here 24 hours a day to accommodate your needs. Wake up each morning to our continental breakfast including cereal, bagels, muffins, toast, freshly made cinnamon rolls, yogurt, boiled eggs, juice, coffee and tea. Our breakfast is served until 9:30 a.m. during the week and 10:00 a.m. on weekends. Enjoy our heated indoor pool and spa. Hours are 6:30 a.m. until 12:00 p.m. Take a stroll down the hall for a delicious meal or cocktail in our attached bar and grill. Beezers has a full menu including breakfast on Saturday and Sunday. Along with great accommodations we have Beezers Bar and Grill. We have an attached bar and grill providing the finest food and atmosphere in town. Enjoy an evening with no need to drive or walk uptown, everything is right here. Geared toward the sport-enthusiast, with eight large TVs. Plenty of room to meet for your party or gathering. Ask for group rates and services we can provide for your event. Check out Beezers. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing