We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pet-Friendly Hotel...Perfect!”
Review of Hotel Hillsboro

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hillsboro
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Hillsboro
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hillsboro
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We went canoeing on the Kickapoo River with our family and our 90-pound dog...this was the perfect place to stay. The restaurant was a nice surprise, and the food was very good. The breakfast in the morning topped off the entire deal. We will definitely stay here again after our canoeing trips.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lakeparkriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2013

Place is nice. Noisy on first floor. Should have known when front desk asked me, if I wanted 1st or 2nd floor. I said it did not matter. So she gave us 1st floor. I know why.. NOISY!!! If I ever come back, I will say "2nd Floor"! Please! Also, at $94.00 a night, it was steep!!! Nice pool area. Nice lobby seating area with fireplace! Coffee service in Lobby all the time.

Room Tip: First floor rooms are noisy. Ask for 2nd floor! Bring swimsuit! Has nice indoor pool and spa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We were driving through and too tired and stiff to continue so we got a whirlpool suite. The price was very reasonable and the place spotless. There was a restaurant there & we only got an appetizer but had good service. The continental breakfast was nicely stocked and again very clean. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MummaZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Stayed at the Hotel Hillsboro as part of a group of motorcycle riders. The rooms are very nice and accommodated our group very well. The pool is nice, but the hot tub was a life saver after riding in the rain. The breakfast area is spacious and nice. The bar and restaurant is excellent and the staff are hard working and very friendly. On a side note, the smothered chicken is killer!!!!

All in all, a very good place to stay. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthwoodsJuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

In this part of rural Wisconsin finding a nice place to stay can be somewhat of a challenge, so we were delighted to find the Hotel Hillsboro on a recent travel back to our home town of Elroy for a funeral. Formerly a Sleep Inn, the owners decided not to renew the franchise and instead put their money into a great restaurant and bar adjacent to the hotel, which definitely contributed to a pleasant stay. The decor in Beezers Restaurant is "Northwoods" with knotty pine walls, high ceilings and a cozy atmosphere. They serve steaks, fish, burgers, salads, and prime rib on Saturday nights. We were part of a large table of 10 people and everyone remarked that their meal was good or excellent. Our room was spotless and well maintained, check-in was efficient, and although we didn't use the pool it looked clean and inviting. Hotel Hillsboro has a very nice continental breakfast with a wide selection of food choices along with nice little touches like homemade cinnamon rolls. From now on the Hotel Hillsboro will be our first choice to stay when we journey back home again.

Room Tip: There is no elevator in the hotel, so consider a first floor room if climbing stairs is an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WisconsinKristin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

In town for medical tests and stayed here. Pleasantly surprised with the accomadations and the rate was reasonable. Loved the Bar and Grill onsite, Did enjoy my stay. Didn't use the pool but it looked tempting.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine12060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

My sisters, daughters and I stayed at this hotel for our "getaway" weekend. The suite was really nice and all of the staff were very nice and helpful. Beezers Bar and Grill is attached and has great food. The Dollar General and the Subway next door are both convenient. We had a great time at Beezers.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jkbm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Hotel Hillsboro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hillsboro

Address: 1235 Water Ave, Hillsboro, WI 54634 (Formerly Sleep Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Hillsboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hillsboro
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Hillsboro, a locally owned independent hotel. The hometown pride and commitment by the owner and staff makes sure our guests are provided with the best quality, comfort and services available. We have 44 rooms, including 3 whirlpools suites. Our staff is here 24 hours a day to accommodate your needs. Wake up each morning to our continental breakfast including cereal, bagels, muffins, toast, freshly made cinnamon rolls, yogurt, boiled eggs, juice, coffee and tea. Our breakfast is served until 9:30 a.m. during the week and 10:00 a.m. on weekends. Enjoy our heated indoor pool and spa. Hours are 6:30 a.m. until 12:00 p.m. Take a stroll down the hall for a delicious meal or cocktail in our attached bar and grill. Beezers has a full menu including breakfast on Saturday and Sunday. Along with great accommodations we have Beezers Bar and Grill. We have an attached bar and grill providing the finest food and atmosphere in town. Enjoy an evening with no need to drive or walk uptown, everything is right here. Geared toward the sport-enthusiast, with eight large TVs. Plenty of room to meet for your party or gathering. Ask for group rates and services we can provide for your event. Check out Beezers. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing