We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place in Horicon”

The Rock River Tap Bar & Grill
Ranked #2 of 8 Restaurants in Horicon
Price range: US$5 - US$15
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Comfortable bar & grill just a little east the main downtown area. The food was great, the service excellent. Outside dining available overlooking the Rock River.
Horicon, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best place in Horicon”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Eat there every few months. Never had a bad experience. Place is clean. Owner is very friendly. No concerns over taking kids. We've had fish fry, pizzas, and burgers.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DNL53032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    14
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Horicon, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent pizza, good fish fry”
Reviewed 9 May 2013

A two minute walk from my house. I walk down there and pick up a pizza about once a month. Nice thin crust with lots of cheese.

We have a fish fry here every so often. Fish breading is nice and light and they have a half-size portion which my wife appreciates.

They also make a good brandy old-fashioned.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank PowerThrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Small, comfortable, on the river!”
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Very nice bar&grill. We always enjoy our stop here. Good food, friendly and very clean. Nice water-side deck!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank SteveB092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee,Wi
Level Contributor
89 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Friendly service and just-right hamburgers...”
Reviewed 28 July 2012

This is a great place to stop for friendly service, comfortable AC on a hot summer day, and really good hamburgers. My husband and I made a trip to Horicon to pick up some of our favorite butcher shop meat at LeRoy's Meat Market. Feeling the need to satisfy our appetites, we stopped at Rock River Tap and ordered a Marsh Burger and Mushroom Swiss Burger. Both were juicy, well-cooked, and the bun and toppings were perfectly suited to the burgers. Seems like a favorite local stop as patrons drifted in and out during our lunch visit on a Monday afternoon. Will definitley consider returning to try another of their sandwich selections when we return to Horicon.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank untired26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fish fry with scenic overlook”
Reviewed 12 May 2012

This little bar sits right on the river. Nothing special inside but the outside deck overlooking the river is extraordinaily pleasant. We had the Friday fish fry offering smelts, walleye, perch, cod. Good, old-fashioned, Wisconsin pub food. Add a beer and you're all set. On days other than Friday you can still get fried Bluegill, which the locals say is good eating. Very convenient to Blue River Landing marsh tours.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Scorpio1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Rock River Tap Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to The Rock River Tap Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing