We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the right place for you!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Horicon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Honeybee Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Horicon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2006

We stayed in the Queen Bee suite two nights Oct 11 & 12, 2006. The room is more than comfortable, with a beautiful working fireplace, air jet whirlpool bath (spotless) and fourposter bed with the nicest linens and angel soft comforter to rest your weary head.

When you first arrive you are made to feel welcome. We were greeted by Barb, one of the owners with a warm welcome. Soft music surrounds you as you enter into a lavishly appointed parlor that is contains furniture that bekons you to sit and stay. This home is 6000+ square feet, cirra 1902, and every corner a majestic marvel. The woodwork is stunning throughout the entire house.

My husband is a Union plumber, and wants Fred, the owner, to know that the full jet body shower in our suite was elegant , installed perfectly, and is well thought out . Fred is a master plumber by trade, and his skill is more than evident.

Other nice extras: a wonderful machine right outside your room to make coffee or hot chocolate (free), unlimited microwave popcorn/ microwave use and a good selection of movies to watch in your room ( free) , and a stocked fridge with sodas or bottled water (free), and a laptop with internet ( free). I just returned from a trip to Ireland, most all places I stayed charged extra for all the above.

This is a place for couples to come and rest from hectic lifestyles, for birdlovers (Horicon Marsh is spectacular , and so close) and those who wish to be pampered. The breakfast is elegant & wonderful, and Barb should have her own cooking show. She is the midwest's "Barefoot Contessa" without a doubt. We eagerly looked forward to her morning feast. You will not leave the breakfast table hungry! PERIOD.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Enjoying_travel_life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (232)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 232 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2006

The Honeybee provided the most beautiful atmosphere for a weekend romantic getaway--the meticulous attention to all the details has convinced us to make it an annual getaway. The beautiful Queen Bee Victorian room had everything, it was cozy, with a lovely whirlpool tub and outstanding shower with 9 shower heads (it was hard to leave the shower it was so nice!!), right down to the little nurturing details--the soft robes and plush towels, soft music and soft lighting, beautiful four poster bed piled with pillows; even the shampoo and conditioner was chosen for its luxurious scent. The Inn is loaded with beautiful old wood and comfortable, cozy nooks. It would be a great place for a couples 'retreat' with its lovely rooms and inviting parlor for socializing. The Inn Keepers were friendly and welcoming and provided homey 'service' and excellent breakfast which was lovingly prepared and presented. The Honeybee is set in a beautiful small town, nestled in outstanding Wisconsin country side. Its proximity to the Horicon Marsh and wonderful hiking and biking trails is a real plus. This is a destination worth traveling to to experience some homestyle luxury. Our compliments to the Inn Keepers, Barbara and Fred.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank greyhoundgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2006

We have frequented many B&Bs throughout the United States and the Honeybee, by far, is an inn that everyone should experience. Upon entering the home, we were greeted by our names being displayed on a decorative chalkboard. This touch made us feel welcome from the moment we stepped into the foyer, and that feeling and attention to detail was present until the moment we left. We had a chance to view all of the rooms and each of them was tastefully appointed without being overly decorated. Sometimes the most basic amenities are the most memorable. For instance, the Flavia coffee machine offered coffee and tea at any time, while a small refrigerator was stocked with complementary soda and bottled water. In addition, the Honeybee offered a wide variety of books, movies and games to enjoy in this classic 1900s house. Finally, we looked forward to each morning's sumptuous breakfast that was served in the home's dining room. Gone was the large table, and in its place were two small tables that created the option of interaction with other guests or having a romantic breakfast next to the roaring fire. In the summer, you also have the choice of dining on the lovely veranda. To describe the food would take an additional review. Let's just say that the apple smothered French toast and other dishes rivaled any top quality restaurant. This B&B is not only a place to stay, it is a destination in itself.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C-jazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2006

There are so many good points about the Honey Bee, I'm not sure where I should start. First, the owners, Fred and Barbara are absolutely wonderful! The ten years of research into B&B's shows in every detail of the experience you will have at the Honey Bee. Breakfasts at the Inn are by far the best I have had at any B&B in my travels. Barb prepares and designs the meals with the help of her prep cook and all around go to gal, Julia. My favorite breakfast was Blueberry Brulee, a scrumptious layering of fresh blueberries, yogurt and crunchy oatmeal.
Guests are treated to a Flavia machine (if you don't know what this is go here ---), hundreds of movies to choose from and watch in the comfort of your bedroom, a gift shop that includes disposable cameras just in case, and wonderfully coordinated antiques and knickknacks in every room.

We rented both the Honey Dew Lodge and Honey Pot Cottage rooms and found both very charming. Two other larger rooms are available with whirlpool baths, a plus for those honeymooning or anniversary getaway couples. We stayed here during the Oshkosh Air show and have booked our rooms here for next year already! I also suggest staying here if you are taking in Horicon Marsh.

Listen to Barb's suggestions for dinner!

Thank KikiOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2006

Imagine a wonderful old mansion turned into a more wonderfully appointed and comfortable B & B. Beautiful, comfortable, and usable furniture, the best beds, terrific breakfast and delightful conversation with the owners. Top of the line hot tubs and showers were refreshing and a great way to end and begin a day. More fun and interesting than the best hotels. Great country side to spend time in and relax.

Thank DjrandJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2006

What a glorious get-away this beautiful and historical inn proved to be! The inn, itself, is elegant and inviting. The theme of a honeybee is echoed throughout the furnishings and embellishment s in a subtle, yet clever way. The service and amenities are top notch, including a scrumptious breakfast of our choice and feather-topped beds. The downstairs has an enclosed porch area to sit or dine in. There is a living room, a gift shop, and an expansive stained glass window that sparkles as you go up the massive staircase. Each room has a fireplace and gorgeous bathroom fixtures, not to mention a private veranda. Plush white robes with the honeybee crest are provided for guests. A gold box of private label chocolates awaits you on your pillow. We could come and go as we liked, having as much as or little contact with the owners and other guests as we preferred. We were given a code to punch into the keypad on the sidedoor that allowed us to return at our leisure, even if it was late. Although our schedule only permitted us to stay one night, it felt like a week. This is as good as it gets.

Thank meiebre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2006

My wife and I recently celebrated our 25th Wedding Anniversary by spending an overnight in the "Queen Bee Victorian" at the Honeybee B&B. The first thing you will hear is how incredibly beautiful this home is (a feast for the eyes) and the meticulous attention to detail - both in the restoration of the home while still possesing all the modern amenities, but also in the care and hospitality given to guests. From the warm welcome, to the romantic CD's in the room, to the plush bathrobes and towels, crisp beautiful linens, and so much more it was idyllic. While a collection of menus from areas resturants could have taken us away for a span of time, we didn't want to be far from the peacefulness and opulant attention of the hosts of this place - so we walked to a local family resturant for dinner.
Breakfast, as you have heard was equisite but so too was the manner in which it was served - elegant and relaxed. One could not help but feel pampered. The only thing that exceeded the exceptional quality of the setting was the highly refined skills of the hosts in determining if their guests wanted privacy or conversation - and we feasted upon both. We could not have had a more memorable treasured experience.

Stayed: July 2006
1  Thank PD111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horicon
5.2 mi away
The Audubon Inn
The Audubon Inn
#1 of 1 in Mayville
291 reviews
9.7 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Beaver Dam
16.7 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Hartford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Waupun
21.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites West Bend
15.7 mi away
Westphal Mansion Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honeybee Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honeybee Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 611 E Walnut St, Horicon, WI 53032-1221
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Horicon
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Horicon
Price Range: £105 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Honeybee Inn is a Queen Anne/Craftsmen style home built in 1902, with 5000 sq. ft. Four individually decorated guest rooms have gorgeous fireplaces, whirlpools, feather beds and shower spas. Delectable, gourmet multi-course breakfasts, are served every morning. Honeybee Inn is located a few blocks from the Horicon Marsh National Wildlife Refuge, the largest freshwater cattail marsh in the US. People come from all over the country to birdwatch, canoe, bike and hike in this natural wonderland. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Honeybee Inn Bed And Breakfast
Honeybee Hotel Horicon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing