We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Please drive from the Twin Cities - so worth it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of San Pedro Cafe

San Pedro Cafe
Ranked #1 of 91 Restaurants in Hudson
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Jamaican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
North Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Please drive from the Twin Cities - so worth it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Last night was pure joy from the moment we walked in, Kathy with the side pony tail greeting us like she had known us forever, commenting on how cool it was we had the same name, to the blonde bartender who pointed out the unique personalities of their fish in their gorgeous aquarium, to Lisa, our waitress, who suggested an item she loved, thinking I would too: coconut curry red snapper, which was over the moon!! This establishment has their act together, the food, super friendly (I like working here & I am happy) staff, to the incredible ambience - we love being here in the winter because you feel like you are in the Caribbean, minus the air fare!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank josephine1112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    93
    20
    11
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Prescott, Wisconsin
2 reviews
“Date night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

Awesome food, great service!! I had the best food and unique flavors. Awesome atmosphere. Our server was really nice, attentive and great personality!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank norgegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herbster, WI
Level Contributor
106 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Get to San Pedro Cafe EARLY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

They only take reservations for eight or more so get there early even on a weeknight. This restaurant could dominate the food scene in Hudson and the Twin Cities area if only they had more room. The booths are small and few and far between. Couples can find a place in the center of the restaurant.
The food is excellent, topping some of the finer Caribbean dishes that we had in the Caribbean. Be prepared for some heat however but not to a point that the heat dominates the flavor. The Conch and Smoked Corn Chowder is out of this world good as is the Cuban Meatloaf.
The banana mashed potatoes are bland and the Brussel sprouts more than al dente and dry.
The service was slow but only because the food

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Elmo, Minnesota, USA
1 review
“Spicy good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Food is excellent! Love the Chicken Chili Penne & the stew. For the daring, try a jalapeño cocktail!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Colleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
199 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“YUM YUM and more YUM!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Breakfast with friends at it's best. The service was a bit slow the day we were there but it was very busy and it usually very good. Food is ALWAYS good, from the variety of Benedicts to huge omelets, or Breakfast pizzas. Go very hungry or be ready to take some food home as they give very generous portions. You can't go wrong here.
Gluten free options are still hard to find but it's not a problem here.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SailinggirlMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to San Pedro Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing