We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place - Nice Remodel”
Review of Stone Tap

Stone Tap
Ranked #16 of 96 Restaurants in Hudson
Cuisines: American, Pub, Gastropub
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
St. Paul
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Nice place - Nice Remodel”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Made it to the Stone Tap for the first time and liked it. The atmosphere is a complete 180 of the dive bar that was there forever. One of the partners was bar tending and was also my server. Good guy and knowledgeable about his food and the drinks. Unfortunately not very busy that day so even spoke to the chef. I stopped in on a recommendation and will be back.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BriN188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    40
    20
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hudson
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Great place to visit with friends. Great variety of beers and small plate meals. I love the look of the interior with raw stone walls that were uncovered during renovation. Very enjoyable.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bananaman3M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not very good”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We tried Stone Tap shortly after it opened and didn't think the food was very good but the remodeled facility was so nice, we thought we would try it again. Another big disappointment! We should have known that an empty restaurant on Saturday night is a sign that there are problems. This place certainly has them. Bad food and bad service make for a bad experience. Our server had a difficult time using the I Pad application to take our order-- taking much longer to get it than it would have to write it out and she got one of our party's order totally wrong. The food was lukewarm and tasteless. We will not return to give them another chance.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peggyy89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
River Falls, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice Addition to Hudson's Restaurants”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stone Tap turned a down-at-the-heels bar into a fashionable bar and restaurant with good service, a pleasant ambience, and a good menu. If you are looking for a wide range of tap beers, this is the place for you. While the menu is limited, it still offers lots of interesting choices. The house burger and homemade thin-cut fries are both quite good (though the claim that the burger is a half-pound seems to be stretching the truth. The thin patty seemed about half that.). Stone Tap provides yet another choice in Hudson's growing array of new places to try.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 119lauraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
429 reviews
305 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Why is this place not busy?”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

My husband and I have eaten here once in the past and had a really nice dinner. Good beer offerings and the food was quite good. I remember we were about the only people in their at the time and it was a Sat evening for dinner. Then, yesterday we stopped in to check out the breakfast menu. It was 11:00 am on a gorgeous Saturday in Hudson. The town was crawling with people. They serve Breakfast from 9am-2pm. There was one guy sitting at the bar and absolutely not one other person in the entire place. So we ran out and headed elsewhere. Now reading the reviews here on the place it looks like a well loved addition to Hudson. So where are all the people. I guess I'll have to brave it again sometime. The meal we had a while back was really good. I just don't get it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MollyAW1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Stone Tap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing