We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing this time”
Review of Pier 500

Pier 500
Reserve with OpenTable
Pier 500 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 96 Restaurants in Hudson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: We are a gathering place for friends and family, essence of hospitality in casual, comfortable surroundings. We create made from scratch dishes and cocktails with an incredible view of the Saint Croix River from being seated either inside our beautiful restaurant with the wood-fired rotisserie or outside on our patio with a full service bar.
1 review
“Disappointing this time”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This usually our 'go to' restaurant to bring guests or for just a good meal. Food, service and atmosphere are typically very good EXCEPT last evening which was very disappointing. We had reservations and although there appeared to be plenty of open tables inside the restaurant, we were seated at a table literally right next to the open kitchen. It was very noisy (esp. when they dropped and broke plates) and difficult to carry on a relaxing conversation. The pork chops were guaranteed to be very tender but It was a chore to cut them let alone chew them. It took over a half hour to get our meal. Our server, however was excellent.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kerri N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    153
    42
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“This place is a must..”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Dinner and Drinks on the patio at Pier 500 was fantastic. The Bartender was extremely friendly. You must order the Brie Cheese Curds, they are to die for. We had the prime rib and Asiago Scallops that were over the top delicious.
Service was great and the view overlooking the marina and the St. Croix River was just an added bonus.
We will definitely return on our next trip to the western part of the state!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Theumni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pier500, Manager at Pier 500, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Hello Theumni,

I apologize for the delay in response, but would just like to thank you for the wonderful review and all of your kind words towards our establishment at Pier 500. We take pride in striving to exceed our guests expectations for food and service, and appreciate your acknowledgement of that. We look forward to having you join us again in the future.

Thank you again,
Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We visited with my US work colleagues, myself and my wife being very jet lagged! Food and service were excellent - steak was fantastic. Server had encyclopedic knowledge of the menu and the drinks list - very impressive. Would recommend, just not with a body clock that reads 4am!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AndrewGJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pier500, Manager at Pier 500, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Hello AndrewGJ,

I apologize for the delay in response, but would just like express my appreciation in your wonderful comments towards us here at Pier 500. We strive to exceed our guests expectations regularly and to have it acknowledged by someone makes us all really feel great here. We look forward to having you join us again on your next trip into the area.

Thank you,
Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Super service, marvelous mojito, decadent dessert . . . !!”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Took a girlfriend who had never been to the area to Pier 500 for dinner, and we had a great experience! She had a prime rib cheese steak sandwich, I had walleye, and our sandwiches were great. The walleye was especially wonderful, with a light breading and very tender fish served on exceptional bread. The mojitos were wonderful, and the s'mores dessert was incredibly rich and yummy. Sharing it is a good idea. :-) Our server, Renae, was fantastic! I could tell she was having a rough evening, but we loved her smile, prompt service, friendly manner. Great service!! Only complaint would be that we chose a table indoors with a view, and other patrons wanted window shades drawn. Not the restaurant's fault, but those patrons could have been reseated. The noise level is also high.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ChiTraveler1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pier500, Manager at Pier 500, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Hello ChiTravler,

I apologize in the delayed response to your review at Pier 500. I am very delighted to hear that your experience with us went well. I do again apologize for the shades being drawn and noise level, and appreciate your understanding in those events. I enjoyed reading your comments and passed this on to Ranae as well, it was great to see someone else point out her smile the same way that we notice it. We all look forward to having you dine with us again soon.

Thank you again,
Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Paul
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Love the Patio”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Off the boat and onto the patio last night. Nice server and good food. We had lots of fun and because there are so many good places to eat in Hudson this is our first time here this year. Best patio in Hudson. The one thing I would like them to figure out how to control is the dang flies on the patio. They also have a large restaurant inside and a big game room. Shuffleboard anyone?

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank BriN188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pier500, Manager at Pier 500, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Hello BriN188,

I would like to thank you for your many kind words regarding our establishment and do apologize for the fly issues, we are in a continuous battle in trying to reduce the numbers we have lingering about.
We definitely take pride in what we do here and appreciate your acknowledgement of that. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Thank you,
Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pier 500 also viewed

 

Been to Pier 500? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing