We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time B & B Couple”
Review of Phipps Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hudson
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Phipps Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hudson B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 November 2011

We visited the Phipps Inn in October and LOVED the home, location and our hosts, Rich & MaryEllen. We stayed in the Master Suite and would choose that room again. Spa, flickering fireplace and cute personal deck made it a perfect choice for us.

We've never been to a B & B before but will definitely be back, especially to this one!

Room Tip: Looked at all the rooms and they were all nice in their own way, however, we still will request the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ISUmom_Minnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2011

We very much enjoyed our recent visit to the Phipps Inn. It was absolutely delightful! The Inn was very clean and well decorated (not too overdone). The Bridget Suite was quiet and very relaxing! The breakfast was scrumptous and we loved the option to stay in our room to eat in with the sunlight coming in and it just being so peaceful! Thank you for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: We liked the open feeling of Bridget's Suite. It wasn't our normal decor, but the openness...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

This was our first B&B and what a place it was. It was quiet place to recharge your soul. Also, what a wonder breakfast each morning. Definitely would be back again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

It was only a matter of time when my husband and I would feel completely unwelcome in a welcoming environment such as a Bed & Breakfast. We may be young and in our twenties, but our preference in staying in B&B's as opposed to a hotel is evident in staying at twelve amazing unique houses across the country.

For our eleven-year anniversary, we decided to go back to Duluth, MN--the city we celebrated our honeymoon in. We booked a room in the heart of Duluth and everything was set in stone--until receiving an e-mail the night before driving north from Omaha that the room we booked was already booked by others in the same time we received confirmation. So we scrambled looking on the internet until midnight the night before taking off and found a B&B called the Phipps Inn in Hudson, WI. Everything looked good--accolades, a nice website (it's a deal-breaker with us), and most of all--availability.

Our anniversary trip was going great and we still made it up to Duluth to check out our favorite spot for lunch (Northern Waters Smokehaus) and decided we needed to head down to Hudson, WI as quick as possible. Taking the long way through winding highways and hills, we ended up at the Inn two hours later than we said we would be--not something we planned. We certainly weren't dressed for the occasion of making a grand entrance and I believe this is where things started going wrong.

When we arrived at the front door, we were greeted by the woman innkeeper. She seemed reluctant to let us in the house fully. Perhaps it could be because we are not the demographic of a B&B booker--or could it be because we had three visible leg tattoos between us? We gave her our first names and that was apparently not enough information for her when she asked me what our last name was. We were given the tour and eventually taken to our room--all the while being very closely watched.

When we got to our room upstairs, I noticed something very peculiar. There was no door to the toilet!! This is clearly not a romantic amenity and if we would have known this was the case (i.e. put that little piece of information on the website), we would have chosen a dreaded hotel. Also, the glass shower served as a voyeuristic glass tube and didn't really cater to those who are having womanly issues. So as my husband had to do his "business", I had to wander to the top floor to give him his privacy and while I was doing that, I decided to read a book. The innkeeper decides to come all the way upstairs, touched around the stack of books in which I took one to read for a bit and out of nowhere, she says, "My housekeeper knows how many towels we have in this house." What kind of unwarranted comment was this? If we look like towel-takers, then I'd hate to see those who actually do!

My husband then gets the luggage and the other couple is just getting talked to inside the house by the front door. He leaves the door open for a total of two minutes and gets yelled at to "Don't ever leave the door unlocked!" He comes upstairs visibly upset and pretty much shuts down from that uncomfortable exchanging of coarse words. We get a knock at our bedroom door and the innkeeper starts peering into our room when I answer the door and then proceeds to tell us that if we hear a tornado siren to not be alarmed and to go downstairs. There wasn't a menacing cloud in the sky. Five awkward minutes later, she goes off on her own. Then I notice her writing something on the bottom of the mugs for the Phipps Inn that are meant for house guests to use during the stay. We pick it up later on, and she wrote, "Property of Phipps Inn."

After spending $150 on a room that should have most definitely been $110 at most, feeling like a prisoner in our own room (we felt like we couldn't even make noise by even turning on the shower after 8 p.m.), we will always remember this experience for the wrong reasons.

Save your money on another inn around the area--unless you fit the exact description of a B&B'er.

Thank you for your time.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank ChrisandJen18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
queenanne, Owner at Phipps Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2011

It is unfortunate when guests do not enjoy their stay at the Phipps Inn. It is more unfortunate when they do not tell us of their dissatisfaction while here but instead wait 3 months to post a review. These guests were apparently unhappy from the moment of greeting when asked for their full name. We don’t ask that out of mistrust but rather to ensure that we have the correct Jennifer in the correct room. We hope they continue to enjoy bed and breakfasts in the future and will appreciate the unique nature of each of them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

This three story Victorian mansion is lovely and beautifully maintained. Its neighborhood location makes for an idyllic stay. It's within easy walking distance of the beautiful St. Croix River with its river cruises, Hudson's old downtown with its antique shops, the city beach and parks, ice cream and coffee shops, several good/excellent restaurants and bars, and across the street from the historic octagonal museum. This inn would be a great choice in any season: cozy in cold weather with its fireplaces, pool table, and music room, as well as relaxing in warm summer weather with its quiet neighborhood strolls and breezy balcony overlooking mature trees and gardens. All of the rooms/suites are welcoming and well appointed with fine in-room amenties, but we were especially happy with our choice of the Master Suite. We liked the delivery of a luscious hot breakfast to our room so we could enjoy it on our balcony.

Room Tip: Each room and suite has an individual decor. Our choice was the Master Suite and after seeing all o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snowlizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Unbelievable breakfast!!! Enough Said!!!! And I mean it!!

Room Tip: All rooms seem very very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bryon k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Go ahead and treat yourself! When I return to Hudson in 2012, I shall return to Phipps Inn. Victoria's room is beautiful as is the historic home and the tree lined street. I had breakfasts that were scumptious and excellent service was provided by Mary Ellen. I spent six nights at the Inn and all were very quiet, which was a blessing for me.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isha1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hudson
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hudson
2.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Hudson
1.5 mi away
Royal Inn - Hudson
Royal Inn - Hudson
#3 of 8 in Hudson
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hudson House Grand Hotel
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 8 in Hudson
73 reviews
5.8 mi away
Water Street Inn
Water Street Inn
#6 of 7 in Stillwater
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phipps Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phipps Inn

Address: 1005 3rd St, Hudson, WI 54016-1261
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Hudson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Hudson
Price Range: £121 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Grand Dame of Queen Anne houses in Hudson is nestled in the charming setting of historic Third Street. Enjoy gourmet breakfasts and spacious surroundings close to the St. Croix River. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing