We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Breakfast, Gracious Hosts”
Review of Phipps Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hudson
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Phipps Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hudson B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Location of the B&B was perfect, just a short walk to wonderful downtown shopping, eating and drinking. The hosts were super friendly and the breakfast was amazing. Loved, loved, loved, the free library outside of the inn. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2013

Mary Ellen and Rich were the perfect hosts for our weekend trip to Hudson. They are very active in their business and take care of the smallest details in order to make your stay comfortable and relaxing. They have been perfecting their trade at the Inn for 12 years now.

The rooms are spotlessly clean, floor to ceiling. The rooms are also amongst the largest bed and breakfast rooms we have experienced. And very private as well. The Inn is actually listed in the National Registry of Historic Places. It is well very cared for.

Soft robes, huge spa tubs, local chocolates and even a billiards room give you lots of options during your stay. The breakfast is a delicious 4 course affair served with fresh squeezed juices and coffee.

This is our second stay at the Inn. We reserved the Peacock Room, which is on the 3rd floor. Beautifully decorated in more of a manly theme, it suited our tastes perfectly. Be sure to check out the historic Octagon House right across the street from the Inn.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank itraveleverywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

We stayed compliments of the owners who donate their entire Inn on Veterans Day. We were lucky enough to stay in the Peacock Room – peacocks everywhere! We loved the huge waterfall jacuzzi bath, plush towels and bathrobes, the wonderful assortment of toiletries and bath salts. The mahagony half-tester bed and magnificent canopy, in combination with the Comphy sheets and special pillows make for a very elegant and comfortable sleep. The fireplace was especially welcome when we awoke to the first snowfall of the season. The breakfast, as noted in the room’s journal by all of the previous occupants, was quite delicious, and all the more enjoyed by the camaraderie of other veterans; it was so interesting to hear their stories. All but one of the vets served in Vietnam; it was sadly noted that these vets, mostly drafted, did not return home to parades and ovations, in fact quite the opposite. It is gratifying to witness them receive some well-deserved appreciation so many years later. And incidentally, thank you, Rich, for your service.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mzztravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

I'm giving Phipps Inn 3 stars instead of 2 because the caretakers seem very nice and I feel kind of bad because we never had an opportunity to relay feedback to them.

We stayed in Victoria's Room, which was pretty small and without any luxuries.

The bed was really uncomfortable, it was the type where you and your significant other roll to the middle and you wake up with a back ache. The pillows are ungodly large - like for monster size people. Not sure who would enjoy these because there is noway not to get a kink in your neck the next day.

The lighting was difficult in this room since it was either very bright or none at all. There are two bedside tables without small lamps and the lighting was just not great.

There was a rotating fan on the only period appropriate table in the room which made me nervous about the temperature and sure enough it was either too cold without the fireplace on (due to the bay windows that rattled all night from the wind) or too hot with it on.

The shower/tub was strangely configured and attached together by large see-thru plastic doors which are cracked - odd set-up and somewhat run down. The "toilet area" (no separate room, just a privacy wall - not that irregular for smaller B & B rooms) fan made an ungodly sound when turned on. This was connected to the heat lamp, so you either are a bit chilled during the shower or warm and feel like you're in an airport landing zone.

There were boxelder bugs all over our room, I think I made my husband kill 6 or 7 and they kept coming out from behind the bed, which made me feel a little grossed out and like they were too close for comfort.

The breakfast in the morning included fresh fruit (yum), french toast bake (just so-so, a little too soggy), a cherry/coconut scone (yum) and jimmy dean links w/ orange juice and coffee. The breakfast dessert was a chocolate mint brownie (i wasn't a fan).

Positives
The gas fireplace was great. The caretakers do seem really nice. We got the something special package which included a mini bottle of champagne, small bouquet of flowers and chocolates from a local chocolatier. That was cute. Close to Stillwater for night life, shopping.

Overall, I would not return - but it wasn't horrible.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Savvykat77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
queenanne, Owner at Phipps Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2012

Thank you for taking the time to comment. It is a deep personal disappointment when guests feel that the Phipps Inn did not meet their expectations. Fortunately, this is a rare occurrence. We have a history of appealing to a diverse group of travelers and many of our guests return year after year and bring or send their friends and family members. Boxelder bugs thrive in this climate in the fall. We constantly check for the harmless little things but they do get past us once in awhile. Mother Nature sent a severe thunderstorm through the night these guests were here that did indeed rattle the windows. As much as we’d like to, there’s nothing we can do to control the weather. All of our rooms have several lighting options. In Victoria’s Room there are wall sconces on both sides of the bed as well as a bedside lamp and all have low wattage bulbs. Our pillows are from the MyPillow Company and though they may not be everyone’s cup of tea, we have sold a lot to guests who couldn’t leave without them. And we receive comments all of the time on how well guests have slept in our beds. We have been unable to recreate the rolling together effect these guests experienced and we are sorry that happened to them. We understand that these guests won’t return to the Phipps Inn however we hope that they will enjoy B&B experiences elsewhere.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

My husband and I stayed the Phipps Inn for a short fall break and it was just what I hoped for. This Queen Anne home is beautifully maintained and furnished, exceptionally clean, comfortable and inviting. The hosts Rich and Mary Ellen Cox don't intrude or insinuate themselves into your privacy, something that I greatly appreciated. On our first night, five of the six rooms were filled but we heard nothing! It was so quiet and we had a great night's sleep. I loved the bed pillows; my husband hated them, but we both agreed that the sheets on the beds were superbly cozy. Our two breakfasts were truly outstanding--fragrant herbs picked fresh that morning were used in the egg and ham souffle (in individual ramekins) on one day, and the cheese blintz souffle and marmalade muffin the other day were fresh out of the oven and amazing. Mary Ellen shares the recipes on the website which is great--I will definitely make these for guests in the future. (We had a three-course breakfast both mornings, not a seven-course breakfast mentioned by other reviewers.) The Phipps Inn is within easy walking distance of downtown Hudson and the St. Croix River waterfront. We walked everywhere, visited art galleries, fine restaurants, the river--loved it all.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mgeston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

My husband and I just returned home after staying for three wonderful nights in Victoria's room at the Phipps Inn. We have a strong appreciation of history and architecture and were delighted to stay in a home with such elegant dignity. It has been appropriately furnished by Mary Ellen and Rich and is perfect for a special vacation or just a quick getaway. Hudson (and Stillwater) both have great little shops to peruse, and strolling along the St. Croix River provides unsurpassed quietude.

Mary Ellen is gracious and helpful and is an excellent chef! After sleeping very soundly in an extremely comfortable bed, it was fabulous to slip downstairs for coffee or tea and then (after showering or lingering in the hot tub) enjoy an amazing breakfast. We love to eat in the dining room when we stay at B&Bs and this was just perfect. We were served breakfast on china (with crystal and silver) and the linens and decor were appropriately chosen for autumn.

We enjoyed the coziness of Victoria's room, as well as the beautiful light from the huge windows. Next time we will try the Master Suite or Bridget's Suite for a change of pace (and a bit more room, since these are actually double rooms). We visit family in the area and have been looking for a great place to stay in the region and we have FINALLY found the ideal spot!

Thank you for a wonderful stay! We will be back again. David and Debbie Nichols

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank editordeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Worked all week, anniversary on Friday, commitments for the weekend, what to do? We decided to "escape" Minneapolis - and Minnesota - for a quiet evening on the Wisconsin side of the St. Croix river at this beautiful B&B in Hudson. Mary Ellen greeted us and told us the story of the house as we toured the main floor and rooms on the upper levels. It was warm and inviting, with lots of antiques and places to sit to read or talk. The rooms were beautifully decorated, comfortable, and quiet. It was a bonus that the weather was beautiful and we walked to dinner along 3rd Street where the homes we passed captured our interest by their architecture. We ate dinner at a local restaurant just 10 minutes from the B&B and had a wonderful time. Then, of course, breakfast the next day was a delicious and creative melange of fruit, local rhubarb (I love rhubarb), eggs, and a dessert ("We always serve dessert with breakfast" Mary Ellen announced) the recipe for which we seriously need to get! If you are looking for a charming night or two away, we would recommend Phipps Inn!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hudson hotels
2.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Hudson
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hudson
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hudson-I-94
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Royal Inn - Hudson
Royal Inn - Hudson
#3 of 8 in Hudson
107 reviews
1.6 mi away
Super 8 Hudson
Super 8 Hudson
#6 of 8 in Hudson
251 reviews
2.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn Hudson
Fairfield Inn Hudson
#7 of 8 in Hudson
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phipps Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phipps Inn

Address: 1005 3rd St, Hudson, WI 54016-1261
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Hudson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Hudson
Price Range: £118 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Grand Dame of Queen Anne houses in Hudson is nestled in the charming setting of historic Third Street. Enjoy gourmet breakfasts and spacious surroundings close to the St. Croix River. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing