We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our home away from home...”
Review of Phipps Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hudson
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Phipps Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hudson B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 September 2009

My husband and I spent our wedding weekend here 15 years ago, and have returned for an overnight every year around our anniversary. We have also stayed here for a few other special occasions over the years, so all totaled, I believe this was our 18th stay at the Phipps! We absolutely love everything about it - the innkeepers, the rooms, the food - all are fantastic! It truly has become our "home away from home".

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wblcml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2009

Just visiting each room, we were fortunate to be able to do so, is like a lovely house tour. Everything is perfect and the third floor is every little girl's literary dream come true. The neighborhood was a wonderful place in which to walk and the downtown offered so much to do as well.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lecturer2231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2009

This is the only place in downtown Husdon, blocks from the St. Croix river. Makes a great weekend romantic getaway, go out on the town,, come back to a great room and awesome homemade breakfast. can't beat it. fun!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarDox59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2009

It's so nice to slow down. Much of the world does not live as American's do, everything hectic and rushed. So it's nice to step away and the Phipp's is a great place to do it. Lovely rooms, comfy bed and whirlpool tub. No phone, no TV. We sat on the porch in the evening enjoying a beer and a glass of wine. We had breakfast in our room and the meal was great. Sunday we went downtown strolling through the shops and got coffee and went down to the park by the river and sat for an hour enjoying the boats. We'd like to go back when they have it decorated for Christmas.

Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank holly4sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2009

I thought the Phipps Inn was a very nice B&B. It is always interesting to meet
for breakfast with guests that come from different directions but somehow there
always seems to be some sort of common link. It is in a wonderful neighborhood
of lovely older homes. It is very convenient to downtown Hudson which has many
restaurants and storefronts to visit. The breakfast was very good but I would have
preferred quiche versus the french toast -- wrong day I guess -- but still very nice.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zenagirl8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2009

Mary Ellen and Rich are such wonderful and thoughtful Inn keepers and the Phipps Inn is one of the most beautiful B & B's we have stayed at, this was our second stay and I am sure we will be back as well as tell others about it. Breakfast was wonderful, and the presentation well thought out. It was a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jilleldring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2009

We had a very nice stay at the Phipps Inn. All of the public areas and rooms were immaculate. It was truly amazing how clean everything appeared. The rooms are nicely furnished. The breakfast was superb. We were surprised/disappointed that we were only able to meet Mary Ellen rather than the husband/wife team. We have always had the opportunity to meet both the husband and wife while at the B & B. The innkeeper was polite and adequate but was below average from what we have experienced elsewhere. We would recommend this B & B and would stay her again, but with a different set of expectations.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MinnesotaRandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hudson
2.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Hudson
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hudson
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hudson-I-94
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Water Street Inn
Water Street Inn
#6 of 7 in Stillwater
349 reviews
1.5 mi away
Royal Inn - Hudson
Royal Inn - Hudson
#3 of 8 in Hudson
107 reviews
5.8 mi away
Rivertown Inn
Rivertown Inn
#4 of 9 in Stillwater
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phipps Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phipps Inn

Address: 1005 3rd St, Hudson, WI 54016-1261
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Hudson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Hudson
Price Range: £120 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Grand Dame of Queen Anne houses in Hudson is nestled in the charming setting of historic Third Street. Enjoy gourmet breakfasts and spacious surroundings close to the St. Croix River. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing