We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful home, excellent service, perfect for our anniversary!”
Review of Phipps Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hudson
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Phipps Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hudson B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 May 2010

We stayed for our anniversary and it was perfect! The Queen Anne suite is lovely. The whole house is very well kept and absolutely beautiful. Mary Ellen and Rich were very warm and attentive hosts - and the breakfast was wonderful, especially Mary Ellen's scones!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zigalig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2010

A special 'Thank you' to Mary Ellen and Rich for the unforgettable stay! I have been inspired by the beauty and mystery of the Phipps Inn, and the exceptional hospitality. This majestic place deserves 5 Stars!

Helena Nyman, Success Coach, Speaker & Author

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenaNyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2010

This was our second stay at the Phipps Inn. It's a really lovely home, decorated perfectly. The innkeepers are wonderful and the rooms and breakfast are both great. The rooms are clean and a perfect mix of historic decor and modern comfort (beds, tubs, etc.). For a great dinner try the German restaurant downtown -- yum!

Quick little tip when choosing a room - tte only rooms I've seen with a door separating the room from the "facilities" are the Bridal Suite and the Peacock room (didn't get a chance to peek in the Willow room). Just something that surprised us a bit last trip and made this one more comfortable.

Also, they will either serve breakfast downstairs or bring it to your room if you want to stay cozy. And they have a stocked minifridge (water, soda, etc.) available up by the rooms.

Really, this is that perfect B&B getaway. My husband and I went for just one night and when we got back we couldn't believe how much it felt like we 'got away'!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelFan123_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2010

Stayed here for an anniversary in the Willow room. It was very cosy. Loved the bed and the whirlpool tub and all the little ornate decorations in our room. The upstairs nook is really cool too. Breakfast was good if a little sweet for me, my husband loved it though. Innkeepers were helpful and not at all intrusive (never been to a B&B before because of this stereotype). We go somewhere new each anniversary, and this is the first time we've wanted to go back to a place for another year. Very nice stay.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aimoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2009

We spent two nights at Phipps Inn for our honeymoon. From the first moment we saw it, we loved the details of the gorgeous Victorian house -- with giant windows, beautiful woodwork, and period furniture. We stayed in Victoria's Room and found it to be a bit smaller than we had expected from the photo, but really comfortable with huge south-facing windows. The bed was fluffy and warm with a toasty gas fireplace right in the room. The room was warm despite the -5ºF temperature outside. Mary Ellen and Rich took great care of us. Both breakfasts we had were hearty and scrumptious (and on time). Mary Ellen's a great cook and Rich keeps the snow at bay leaving the sidewalks completely clear. We're looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeartRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2009

We were given this two stay as a gift from our children and they really picked a great place. the staff personalized their interactio0ns with us and made us feel right at home. The breakfast was very good and plentiful, on Sunday after breakfast we were not hungry until evening. I would recommend this B and B to everyone I talk to about a place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wiskers64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2009

The Phipps B&B is one of our favorite places to stay. Comfortable, relaxing, great breakfast, and wonderful innkeepers!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wenz482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hudson hotels
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hudson
2.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Hudson
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hudson-I-94
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Royal Inn - Hudson
Royal Inn - Hudson
#3 of 8 in Hudson
107 reviews
2.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn Hudson
Fairfield Inn Hudson
#7 of 8 in Hudson
103 reviews
1.6 mi away
Super 8 Hudson
Super 8 Hudson
#6 of 8 in Hudson
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phipps Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phipps Inn

Address: 1005 3rd St, Hudson, WI 54016-1261
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Hudson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Hudson
Price Range: £119 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Grand Dame of Queen Anne houses in Hudson is nestled in the charming setting of historic Third Street. Enjoy gourmet breakfasts and spacious surroundings close to the St. Croix River. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing