We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and great people”
Review of Milwaukee Grill

Milwaukee Grill
Ranked #2 of 174 Restaurants in Janesville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Milwaukee Grill is a local restaurant, bar & grill in Janesville, WI with outside patio seating and a private banquet room. Independently owned and operated for over 25 years, "The Grill" has served quality food to discerning customers who enjoy fresh approaches to classic American Cuisine. From fresh seafood, tender marinated chicken and fall-off-the-bone barbecued ribs, to a burger with more toppings than you can fit in your mouth - freshness and quality always prevail. We never take the shortcut or sacrifice quality for cost. Our staff members honestly enjoy our customers and will do their best to make your visit memorable - each time you dine with us!
Haines City
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Great food and great people”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This is one of our favorite places to eat while in Janesville. The food is great. Well priced. They have a great bar with fresh popped popcorn!! And do try the Cheese Curds! They have great dinners and sandwiches. Never had a bad meal there.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Constance C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    135
    32
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Janesville
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Consistantly Good”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

One of the best places to go in Janesville. We eat there often for lunch and occasionally for dinner. I can't think of a single time that I was disappointed.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jace J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Milwaukee Grill - easy to find off of exit 171 - near Harms Nissan”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Milwaukee Grill - stopped on a Saturday morning, they were fairly busy, serving bikers getting ready to ride in a fund raiser in the area. I tried the Ultimate Omelette with hash browns and biscuit, she tried the Eggs Benedict with the hash browns, both meals were delicious. Our server was attentive and apologetic for the long wait for our meals. Servers were constantly checking and refilling our coffee and water. Fortunately the wait was not too bothersome as our vehicle was next door at Harms Nissan for an oil change, everything worked out just fine. This was our first visit and we'll definitely be back. Stop by if you are passing through Janesville, I think you'll enjoy your visit.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LaCrosseIndians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Pretty good fresh food with ok staff”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

We were traveling through Janesville and decided to give Milwaukee Grill a try based on the reviews. It was around 1:30 on a Sunday afternoon and we were seated right away.

The server was nice enough but not very quick. It took a while to get our initial waters/menus and everything else we ordered. Had we been on a time crunch this would have been a problem.

The food was all very good like the other reviews have mentioned. We had the humus and really liked the olives and other garnishments - a nice change from the basic humus we've had elsewhere. The curds were tasty but not squeaky, in case that's important to you. :-)

The small ceasar salad was plenty for 2 of us to share with fresh greens and a variety of veggies. The onion haystack is a very thinly sliced onion that's been battered and fried so if you like the extra thick onion rings and petals you might not like these as well.

Lastly we enjoyed the chicken salad sandwich and sangria based on others recommendations and definitely agree with them - both were very good!

Helpful?
Thank Onery13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 6 Contributor
372 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Lunch”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We selected the Milwaukee Grill because it isn't a chain and we wanted a meeting place for friends traveling from three Midwest cities. We made a good choice. The summer special chicken salad with fruit was delicious. The salad was full of chuck of chicken and the fruit was scrumptious--watermelon, cantaloupe, grapes and huge strawberries. Topping off the lunch was wonderful banana nut bread. The wait staff was pleasant and efficient and we were seated in a quiet corner so our conversation was easy. We'll stop here again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank dekalbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Milwaukee Grill also viewed

 

Been to Milwaukee Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing