We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Place!”
Review of Finca El Mirador

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tajo Alto
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Finca El Mirador
Navarre, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect Place!”
Reviewed 14 December 2011

Finca El Mirador is a perfect place to stay. The rooms are very clean offer a lot of space. The grounds are well kept with many plants and flowers. The view is absolutely stunning! I was lucky enough to watch a monkey playing in the trees and toucans flying by. Uli, the host, makes you feel welcome and right at home the moment you arrive. She is very helpful at offering suggestions of things to do and places to see. This is a great place to relax and unwind. I highly recommend Finca El Mirador. It is truly a piece of paradise!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shanti_seeker8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
19
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

What an amazing location. We were there for just one night, but we wished to have more time. A lovely pool, a nice garden, a more that perfect host with Uli, very individual and creative rooms, an excellent breakfast, a gorgeous lookout (if it is not raining :-), nice surrounding and an adventurous way to the Finca.
Also the area is very nice, even if it is not marked in our travel book. Roud the corner in Miramar is a nice (german and trustful) canopy tour or horse riding.
Who wants to enjoy nature is absolutely right there!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2011

We are a family of five (two adults and three boys aged 8, 12 and 15) who stayed at Finca el Mirador for 5 nights January 2011.
We all loved the place!
The cabins were lovely and very clean, the view probably the most stunning we have ever seen, and the host Uli extremely welcomming, friendly and helpfull.
From the moment we arrived, Uli made us feel completely at home, allowing us to move the garden funiture whereever we wanted in her beuatyful garden - leaving us in privacy when we wanted, but always available when we needed an advice or had a question.
Her two dogs are so friendly and well behaved, that even our 8 year old, who is normaly afraid of dogs, grew to love them.
It was the perfect place for an relaxing holiday, and we were all very sorry when we had to move on.
We will be back soon!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tob5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leek, Neherlands
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2011

Only one night is realy to short for this wonderful area. The bungalows are very nice, some with a very good kitchen. The place with the unbeleaveble nice vieuw and the very friendly owner. We had a fantastic (sadly short) time!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Willenthea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
1 review
Reviewed 19 September 2009

Clean and comfortable accommodations, friendly owner, and amazing view. Great place to relax and enjoy the unique landscape of the west coast of Costa Rica. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelpescado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2007

Finca El Mirador is located just above Miramar in the small town of Tajo Alto.

This small B&B was very pleasant and the price was right. The two "cabins" are larger than the average hotel room and include a kitchenette. The room was perfectly clean. There is no air conditioner and this was fine because the temperature is much cooler than at lower elevations, though it is still humid compared to our home. Overall, the room was nicer than our room at a beach hotel that cost twice as much. Breakfast was provided at an extra fee (fruit, eggs, toast, juice, etc.) and was scrumptious. The grounds are pleasant and have a great panoramic view over the gulf of Nicoya.

The owners are German. Uli is VERY pleasant and helpful. She speaks German, English, and Spanish. She arranged a dinner at a local family's house that was a great experience. She recommended a route to take to visit the cloud forest and other points of interest that was just what we wanted. The road to the finca is bumpy dirt as is the road to the cloud forest. 4 wheel drive required but we drove a 4WD for the first time in our lives in CR and had no problems. The cloud forest was spectacular at "Las Orquedeas" and the restaurant there was clean and had tasty food. You can also stay at Las Orquedeas in cabins that look nice from the outside, but it is quite isolated.

Miramar is off the usual tourist track so this is a semi-adventurous destination. We chose to go there because we wanted a more "Costa Rican" experience with fewer tourists and more speaking of Spanish. With the exception of Uli, we met only one person who spoke English during our two days in Miramar. We ate dinner at the very close "Soda Dilan" which is very small. The food was fine. I think there are nicer restaurants in downtown Miramar. There is an ATM in Miramar at the bank.

Activities in the area include the cloud forest 18 miles up the road (this is the back of the same forest that Monteverde is in). There are multiple ways to enter the forest including walking trails and boat trip. There are zip-lines, ATV riding, horseback riding, etc. at Finca Daniel which is about a mile up the road.

Overall, this is a very pleasant, relaxing, friendly place to stay and I recommend it. There are a few negatives that didn't bother us much. Like most humid places, the bedding smelled a little of mildew. My wife, who usually smells everything, didn't notice it. The finca is on a residential road. One night the neighbors had guests arriving for the Christmas holiday late into the evening so there was some traffic noise - also some dogs barking. Our second night was very quiet.

If you want more action, you might stay at the Hotel Vista del Golfo at Finca Daniel which is very close. They have the high adventure activities and a restaurant there. Of course, you can do the activities without staying at their hotel.

  • Liked — Pleasant, friendly, quiet, clean
  • Stayed December 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tdtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tajo Alto
0.6 mi away
Adventure Park and Hotel Vista Golfo
3.1 mi away
Cabinas Dormi Bene
Cabinas Dormi Bene
#4 of 5 in Miramar
3 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hacienda Sassenberg
Hacienda Sassenberg
#1 of 5 in Miramar
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica
Show Prices

Been to Finca El Mirador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca El Mirador

Property: Finca El Mirador
Address: Calle Pavones, Tajo Alto, Miramar 5550, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Miramar > Tajo Alto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Tajo Alto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEW ADMINISTRATION! Because of healthy reason I had to rent out my project to Adriana Ujica and Leo Gonzales. I wish them good luck and success! All my guests I had I thank them for the beautiful time together. Uli Heckmann ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing