We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Suites of Johnson Creek
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Johnson Creek
Carpentersville, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We checked in late in the day and promised our 4 year old he could swim. We got to the pool after dinner and found it not very inviting. It was very dark. only 4 of the 12 overhead lights were working and only 1 of the 3 in-pool lights were working. The pool was also very cold. Most disappointing was the mini-kiddie water park portion. It is no longer in use. That little fact does not stop their website from touting a 9,000 square foot swimmim area. The hot tub has a water fall feature but it only came down as a trickle. On the plus side, the room was big and clean but the coffee maker was in the bathroom next to the toilet. Yuck. The hotel is in the middle of a farmland wastland so nothing for the 4 year old to do. Again, if the kiddie pool area was working and they acutually had lighting in the pool area with above freezing pool water it would have ben much better.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    37
    14
    14
    15
See reviews for
71
26
3
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2011

My family and I were very disappointed in our recent stay. We chose this hotel, even though it was more expensive than other similar hotels in Johnson Creek because of the advertised "9000 sq. ft family water activity area" which used to include a play area with slide / sprinklers and was a lot of fun for our young son. We found out (after we arrived) that this area has since been turned into a "dry" play area - i.e. they can play on the rusty equipment in the empty concrete wading pool. the rest of the pool area was very disappointing as well - the water was very cold in the pool and 75% of the lights were burned out the the pool area. They had also recently closed the arcade (which is also still advertised on the website), further disappointing the kids. the rooms were nice sized, but between our family's two rooms there was: a couple lights burned out, a broken toilet seat! (resulting in two cuts) and so so cleanliness. the other thing that really must be mentioned was the continental breakfast (which I understand is free - but again if your going to advertise... ) we went down an hour before it was scheduled to close and mos of the food was gone and they never replenished anything during the last hour. Most of the milk cartons in the cooler was expired and when my wife pured out one of the non expired ones we did find on her cereal - it was curdled! very disgusting! with all these things the manager I spoke to was "very sorry it hear that" but no steps were taken beyond that... We had visited this hotel a couple time when it first opened and it was great - but it has really not been maintained well and it shows, drywall in the pool locker rooms is mildewed, tile and concrete around the hot tub are missing / cracked / stained... overall we were very disappointed that we chose to pay the higher price at this hotel when the service and facilities we so very below expectations.

Room Tip: Rooms were nice sized but not maintained very well - broken fixtures / burned out bulbs, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Awenthold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2011

We booked this hotel for our wedding guests to stay at (the wedding reception was not at this hotel). My first problem with this hotel is that it takes them weeks to call you back...terrible customer service! Second, our guests had multiple problems with the hotel rooms. One room had 3 of 4 lights burnt out, in another room the air conditioning was not working (it was in the 90's and humid) and another couple was first given a dirty room to stay in, then the second room had bugs (2-3 inches long!) and when talking to the manager, he laughed as my guests. Lastly, the kids pool was under renovation. I wish I could give this place a zero. Don't stay here!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank customer21345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JC-AGM, Manager at Comfort Suites of Johnson Creek, responded to this review, 4 August 2011
I am the general manager of the JC Plaza Hotel and Conference Center. I am responding to the customer review posted July 27th 2011. In response to the complaint that "it takes weeks to call anyone back" we do our best to return all calls in a timely manner to avoid any delays in service.


We are very sorry for the room issues over the weekend of July 27th. The room which had multiple lights burnt out was serviced within 10 minutes of the notification, and during our busy day we unfortunately missed those on our routine room inspections. The air conditioning issues were also subsequently fixed during the extremely hot and humid weather so that no


The guest that was given a room that was not complete was a communication error between the housekeeping and front desk staffs, and we will do better next time. I personally checked the complaint from that guest about bugs in the second room and found one very small beetle in the bath tub. It was as harmless as a fly and about as annoying, but unfortunately during the summer most hotels might see a few unexpected visitors walking in under doorways and through windows. This guest was certainly not laughed at. We take all complaints seriously and use them as opportunities to do better next time. This guest then received a complimentary room to avoid any more disturbance.

Unfortunately our kids pool has been a playground area since January 2010 and we tell all of our guests this upon reservation and check in.

Our most humble apologies for all who were inconvenienced by any lack of hospitality on this weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2011

we came up for a car show looking forward to swimming in the kids area with my kids and enjoying the wirldpool , when we got to the hotel, the entire pool is shutdown thursday through sunday or whenever they can get someone to fix it, meanwhile, my kids are swimming in the bathtub:( not fun!

Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank a102424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altoona, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 12 March 2011

We've been staying at this hotel yearly for basketball tournaments for the last 5 years. What used to be a great family oriented hotel is now a disappointment. The children's play area in the pool no longer has water. The breakfast is now practically a joke - no eggs, bacon or sausage, just biscuits and sausage gravy, toast, mini muffins and cold cereal. The hotel in general is beginning to look poorly maintained. Our sheets had a blood stain - washed, but nevertheless, still visible. The TVs are ancient and always have been. And the rooms cost more now. It's no longer worth the money and we'll be taking our business somewhere else in the future.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank midaro66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2011

Were here when it was brand new and loved it. Came back a few times. This last time was the most disappointing. Pool was POORLY maintained-no basketball hoops, growing mold in many areas of pool room, bathrooms in pool area filthy and walls were falling apart. For a newer building, should have been better. Room was not the cleanest either. But, you get to feed the kids breakfast for free with stay.
DON't USE THE room safe-it'll cost you. Kids were plunking buttons on it-didnt realize we'd be charged.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crizmila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft. Atkinson,Wisconsin,53538
1 review
Reviewed 2 January 2011

New Year's Eve activities was so well done.Really enjoyed the festivities!!Fun time for all!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grampz9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johnson Creek
1.0 mi away
Days Inn Johnson Creek
Days Inn Johnson Creek
#2 of 2 in Johnson Creek
3.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
10.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Fort Atkinson
8.0 mi away
Heritage Inn Hotel
Heritage Inn Hotel
#2 of 3 in Watertown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Watertown
6.6 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#1 of 1 in Lake Mills
3.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
15.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Milwaukee West Oconomowoc
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites of Johnson Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites of Johnson Creek

Property: Comfort Suites of Johnson Creek
Address: 725 Paradise Ln, Johnson Creek, WI 53094-3300 (Formerly Comfort Suites Johnson Creek)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Johnson Creek
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Johnson Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites of Johnson Creek 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Something for everyone! Relax in this quiet and serene setting offering 100 suites, several with in room whirlpools. Hotel features 8,000 sq. ft. family water activity area with large, 24 person hot tub perfect for families of all sizes. If shopping is what you are after, facility is within a mile from large outlet shopping center, dining of all varieties, parks and walking trails. Property also offers 9,000 sq. ft. of flexible banquet space for your next meeting or event and a fully catered menu by in house Chef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites of Johnson Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jc Plaza Hotel And Conference Center
Jc Plaza Hotel Johnson Creek
Comfort Suites Johnson Creek
Johnson Creek Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing