We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel was old and run down”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Kenosha
Waupaca, Wisconsin
2 reviews
“This hotel was old and run down”
Reviewed 4 July 2011

We had a 2 room suite, it was dusty, it was run down. The room had peeling wall paper. There was a mouse trap by the ice machine. We had to get towels and sheets for the pull out couch, because they were not provided for us. We were disappointed the hot tub was not working. I had made the reservation the night before we stayed there with them. They could have mentioned it. The only thing that impressed me about this motel was there continental breakfest was good. They had ice coffee which was the 1st time I ever seen this on a breakfast. Also they had a variety of breakfast foods, bacon, eggs, waffles, yogurt, hard boiled egg. lots more,, There is a Best Western right next door that seemed to look nicer from the pictures

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickin35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    35
    20
    13
    16
See reviews for
56
22
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kenosha, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 19 June 2011

The room was clean and spacious enough. But, I tried to use the fitness room and it consisted of a broken stationary bike and a very old elliptical that didn't function very well.
Also, the whirlpool was broken, so between that and the fitness room, we were disappointed in the hotel overall.

A bit outdated overall, but a decent place to stay for the price. Probably wouldn't comeback if they don't fix the pool and fitness area.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank illinoisclone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2011

Came here for my brothers graduation, and on first arrival, they have us a room that wasn't even cleaned yet. Second room they have us was stuffy, air conditioner didn't work well and was loud, so we were sweating and kept awake all night. Not to mention the shower smelled so sour, we could smell it even with the door closed. Third and final room they sent their cleaning manager in before we got in there, which I appreciated. But when I went to inspect it, first thing I had to do was kill a centipede coming out of the bathroom. If I had not been there for a major thing, I would have completely changed hotels. I know the staff tried, but they were making a silk purse out of a sows ear. If they made modular hotels, I would think this was one of them. On the upside, they did have a great breakfast every morning. But this won't happen again. I was disappointed, because they're usually pretty good. Unfortunately there was not a person in my family that was sorry to leave.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jmbrendle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kenosha hotels

Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
109 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2011

Travelling for teenagers activities; this time another gymnastics meet. I try to be detailed and honest about everything.

Checkin: We checked in at 3:45pm and it was very quick and efficient. Perhaps took three minutes.

Room: We were on the first floor which is different from other floors. We had 15 foot high ceilings with ceiling fans. Other floors did not have these two items. When you open the door you enter the living room area. There is a double size sleeper sofa, floor lamp, a rectangular coffee table, L-shaped desk with chair and a swivel table top lamp with additional outlets for PC, etc. Wireless internet is throughout the hotel. In this room is a counter with sink, microwave, fridge, coffee maker and accessories and small dresser drawers. The sofa appeared to be clean, but upon inspection of the rest of the room we requested a flat sheet and covered it....just in case. There is a locking door which separates the living room from the bedroom. Upon entering the bedroom there is a door on one side that leads to the toilet and shower. Across from this door is a vanity with mirror and sink. I like this type of setup as then someone doesn't hog the bathroom putting on makeup, etc. when someone else needs to shower. There were two queen size beds, an upholstered chair with a floor lamp, a long dresser drawer with six long drawers and a TV on top. There was also a small closet area (no door) with a luggage stand and hangers. The duvets were fairly clean, but we always remove these. The sheets appeared clean, but upon further inspection one bed was not and the other bed had two large red stains on the matteress and running down the side of the box spring. I requested clean sheets and remade the beds myself. Then I knew they were clean. I could have requested another room, but felt they would all be similar upon inspecting two others on the same floor. There were thick mattress covers on top of the mattresses which made for a very comfortable sleep.

Pool Area: The pool area was a little small and the pool was not the average hotel size. I didn't mind that, but the swimming pool was cloudy and had an odor (definitely not chlorine) it so we did not use it. Because of the condition of the swimming pool I decided the hot tub woul be off limits to the teenagers also.

Excercise Room: The is a room next to the pool which may have been a storage room in the past? It contained two pieces of equipment: an eliptical machine which was cracked on the rear portion and an old (8 years?) stationary bicycle.

Breakfast: The breakfast was quite good and the person attending the breakfast supplies was very attentive and good at keeping items well stocked. (We stayed Friday night through Sunday morning.) There were two juices (orange, apple), plus flavored water (mango), along with a cold mocha thing. Various small pastries, bagels, french toast (to be warmed in the toaster), wheat and white bread. The standard Choice Hotel waffles along with biscuits with a warm gravy with sausage bits along with sausage links and scrambled eggs. Also Fruit Loop type cold cereal and regular Cheerios type along with whole and 2% milk. There is also a coffee/tea counter with two types of regular coffee, decaf, cocoa mix, and various teas. This was perhaps the best part of the stay.

Checkout: Very quick and efficient.....perhaps ten seconds!!

FUN: One block away is a tourist stop - Brat Stop - the "the last good Wisconsin brat before Illinois." Tour busses seemed to stop there twice per day and the food was unique (brat panini, brat salsa, brad linquini) and good.

OTHER IMPORTANT/MISCELLANEOUS ITEMS: The neighborhood is old and did not seem very good. My 16 year old son was hanging out in the lobby area and witnessed a drunken fight between some guests (12:15am). One man punched a woman in the face (blood ran down her chin), another adult was going to call the police, but the hurt woman physically treatened to "pulverize" the adult offering to call. The incident ended when they all left the lobby for their rooms. My son returned to the room and told me what happened. I asked him what the desk person did and he said she hadn't been around for about 45 minutes. I went to the lobby ten minutes later and the front desk person was not anywhere in the general vincinity. One hour later I went to the lobby and found her with her boyfriend on the sofa in the lounge area where the TV was. I asked for two additional towels and was immediately provided four!!! I am not sure if her boyfriend lived in the hotel, but he was always hanging around, even at breakfast when she wasn't working.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MinnesotaM-GreenBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicagoland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2010

My husband and I were in the area for a visit with friends. I booked by phone and even got the AAA rate for $85.00, which seemed like a really super good deal. If I knew then what I know now, I'd have happily paid an extra $20 or $40 for a CLEAN room at another hotel

From the outside it looked like a nice hotel. The parking lot was pretty full of nice SUVs too so I figured it would be a decent spot. The lobby looked similar to a nice chain we usually stay at but the room (#204) was seriously grungy. If it wasn't so late when we checked in, we would have definitely gone somewhere else. I'm actually mad at myself for being so tired and stupid that we stayed there but it won't happen again!

Carpets were old and dirty (like where you don't want to put your bare feet on it), some furniture in the office area of the "suite" was broken, heat switch was cracked and dirty, heat (or whatever ventilation that was supposed to be) caused a terrible low hum in the room, one nightstand lamp didn't work, the other lights in the bedroom took a minute to turn on (which was a little creepy electrically). Bed linens looked wrinkly and what was so much worse was the top bedcover was stained (eeewwww!). There were also stains on the only chair in the room (I don't even want to know from what!) Bathroom had peeling wallpaper and a tub/shower where parts of it were worn away revealing the black beneath the white. The carpet didn't even fit the contours of the bathroom floor at the corners so there were areas of cement beneath the dingy carpet. Did I mention the closet door (or whatever fabric that was supposed to cover the closet) had been removed so the bed stared at the open closet? Even the window treatments looked wrinkly. It was a creepy, dingy place.

As I said, it was so late when we checked in, we just peeled back the cruddy bedcover and crawled in. Unfortunately, the low hum was so bad (and we were so tired after listening to it for a few hours) we turned off whatever the ventilation was. In the end, we both ended up not really able to sleep. Did I mention the walls are really thin so you could hear the guy in the next room yawning! Seriously. I am not kidding.

Maybe I should have complained to the desk but I felt it was pointless. I mean, what kind of a business even offers a room like this to a customer? Needless to say I will never stay at one of these places again. Better to pay the extra and get something halfway decent.

P.S. When we checked in the front desk clerk told us the "24 hour" pool was "temporarily closed for a couple of hours."

P.P.S. And the capper; my husband waited until we left in the morning to tell me that he killed a bug in the shower. Yikes!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Conductor71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2010

This was a really nice place. The beds were great, it was clean, service was great and so was the complimentary breakfast in the morning. I will def be looking at staying at this chain again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loves2travel24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Towanda, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 4 May 2010

The rooms were clean. The staff was courteous and helpful. The pool and hot tub were a place. I would stay there again. Thanks for a good stay

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler11467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenosha
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Kenosha
0.0 mi away
Best Western Executive Inn
7.1 mi away
Wyndham Garden Kenosha Harborside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kenosha
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Pleasant Prairie
Holiday Inn Express - Pleasant P...
#2 of 4 in Pleasant Prairie
181 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn Pleasant Prairie Kenosha
La Quinta Inn Pleasant Prairie K...
#3 of 4 in Pleasant Prairie
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites
Address: 7206 122nd Ave, Kenosha, WI 53142-7313 (Formerly Quality Suites Kenosha)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Kenosha
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Kenosha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Renovated Hotel located in Kenosha, Wisconsin. Full Renovation Completed in 2014. (Worth Over Half a Million Dollars) Great Breakfast Served every morning with eggs, hot waffles and lots of other choices including yogurt and fresh fruit. Hotel has a indoor pool, hot tub and elevator. We have all suite rooms with kitchenettes as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Kenosha Hotel Kenosha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing