We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meh, at best”

The Chancery Pub & Restaurant
Ranked #31 of 250 Restaurants in Kenosha
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
Restaurant details
La Grange, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Meh, at best”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The four in our family had different things and was subpar as best. The best thing was the chicken fingers my little brother got. One of us got a three stooges named dish that was descrped as Japanese noodles with Asian sauce and vegetables. We were served. Literally was RAMEN noodles, not even broken up, still in its block like state. And was priced at $15 we did the math, you could get 36 packs of ramen and still have $3 left over at that price. Horrible.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Zmpreva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    44
    16
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great food in non-descript building”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The building isn't much to look at but the food was very good.
Breakfast menu is excellent, try the baked oatmeal. very good and original.
Sandwiches for lunch were very good.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Great Food!”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Food is prepared to your liking every time and tastes great. They have a wide variety of choices. The wait staff is always friendly and very helpful.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winthrop Harbor, Illinois
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed!”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I have to say we were very disappointed with our dinner tonight. We went to celebrate my birthday and I love their all you can eat fried shrimp and tomato bisque soup. Well we found out that they changed the Monday night special to all you can eat peel and eat shrimp only. So we ordered the shrimp dinner and were very surprised to find that they served asparagus with the shrimp!!! Can you believe that! I got it right off my plate. When they had all you could eat fried shrimp you got waffle fries and coleslaw, delicious! Now you don't have a choice, they give you potato cubes sprinkled with way too much pepper and a drop of cheese and asparagus. Oh, and the tomato bisque soup used to be the best, pureed. Now it is slightly pureed with huge chunks of tomatoes in it. Really disappointed! Also, all the staff we knew were gone, and there were only two other tables full. Guess they lost a lot of business on their famous shrimp night. Probably won't be back!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
269 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Average Hotel Restraunt - good beer though!”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Good service and a tasty starter couldn't make up for what was possibly the worst Fish & Chip meal ever - over cooked fish was like cardboard! Sorry but not good enough

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Chancery Pub & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Chancery Pub & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing