We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing weekend”
Review of The American Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The American Club
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kohler
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We were visiting over Memorial Day weekend and attending a wedding at Riverbend. The staff was kind and helpful. Rooms were clean and shower rocked! Woke each morning to truck backing up outside of our window... Went right back to sleep.

Each day we visited the Green House to have a custom smoothie made for us. Found it odd that staff would sometimes add in ingredients we didn't request -honey. Glad we didn't have an allergy. Beautiful setting, though. Following, we would spend 1.5 hours taking advantage of the Sports Core - great facility and very clean.

We had a great dinner in the library where the server was kind enough to let us order from the immigrants menu, which was outstanding (tuna). We also ate at the Wisconsin room -service great, food very good, table we were seated at in middle of room not so good. Black wolf run was beautiful, but the menu was pretty basic.

We golfed, used the spa (crowded but nice - I wouldn't pay $45 to hang out) and took advantage of the market - all very good. First and second day at market were great. We specifically ordered some maple-bacon donuts on Sunday to take home for our kids. The worker said she made them on Monday, but sold them off???

I'd go back as a couple, but did not seem real fun for kids. The broadmoore in Colorado Springs seems similar, but much more for kids to do. Favorites were sports core, restaurants and valet staff.

Room Tip: 216 was noisy in am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kingfamoffive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine L, General Manager at The American Club, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Kingfamoffive,

What a stunning weekend for the wedding at Riverbend. We were very happy to host many of the wedding guests at The American Club. It is always enjoyable to read how many amenities our guest enjoy during their stay. Thank you for the feedback regarding the variance in your smoothie preparation. This will be passed along to the team for consistency going forward. We have itineraries for families featuring kid friendly activities at our around the resort, if you would wish to return with your family.

Enjoy your summer.
Best Wishes,
ChristineL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (953)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

482 - 488 of 953 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

I don't have experience staying here, but I am writing to note that even if you're not a guest, you can take advantage of their tour of the premises. We received a wonderful tour by Ellis the Concierge who is incredibly knowledgeable not only about The American Club, but lots of local history in general. We got a lot of insight about the area through this tour. It was one of the highlights of our trip to the area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Turtleliving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine L, General Manager at The American Club, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Turtleliving,

Thank you for sharing our historic tour with the members of Trip Advisor. We are rich in history and our concierge team has extended knowledge they love to share. Ellis is new to our team this year and what a delight to read how well he took care of you!

Best Wishes,
ChristineL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Great place with access to whistling straits and blackwolfrun golf courses so worth the stay for that alone also many other great courses in the area make sure you also play The Bull a great Nicklaus designed course

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billobri47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine L, General Manager at The American Club, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear billobri47,

We are so glad you enjoyed both of our golf courses at our resort. The courses have come alive, despite the late spring! We are all so happy golf weather is here.

Best Wishes,
ChristineL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Our group ranged from ages 20 to mature for a bachelorette weekend for my niece. From the moment we arrived, we all loved our stay at the American Club in Kohler. The accommodations are beautiful, the staff accommodating and unobtrusive, the spa heavenly, the food delicious, and the area and shops absolutely lovely. Great for a romantic getaway or for a small group as we had. Too early for golf, which my husband had always raved about!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OtooleQuinlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine L, General Manager at The American Club, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear OtooleQuinlan,

What a fun reason to celebrate at The American Club! Please extend our best wishes to your niece and her fiancé for a memorable and special wedding day. We a very delighted you all enjoyed so many amenities at our resort.

We hope you and your husband return for golf. The courses are in great playing condition after the long cold winter.

Best Wishes,
ChristineL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

I have gone and played at many top rated golf destinations (Bandon, Pinehurst, Pebble, Ireland and Scotland) and was looking forward to 3 nights at and 5 rounds of golf at Kohler's famous resort. The weather was phenomenal. The American Club is a 5 Diamond but not sure why, the property is small and not connected to pool, gym or spa services. The food is nice but the service is stuffy, stiff and not what you would expect of typical Midwestern friendly.

For sure not the place to stay if you are going for boys golf weekend, which we were. The golf is awesome, Whistling Straights is the real deal Major Championship course not a true links but pretty close. The River Course at Black Wolf Run is a great parkland course and you can see why it has hosted a couple LPGA US Opens. The other two courses Irish and Meadows are forgettable. Great time overall but found on the whole the American Club and Golf to be overrated.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank mattw1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine L, General Manager at The American Club, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear mattw1960,

Please accept my apology for not providing you with good Midwestern service. Normally, this is our strength and on behalf of the entire team we are truly sorry for this.

You are correct, as a historical property, our resort has a unique design. Our spa is just across the street from the main lodging facilities at The American Club. It is accessible by either walking through our underground parking garage or, for days like you experienced with phenomenal weather, a quick walk outside. All our guests receive complimentary access to our full service health club, the Sports Core, and it is a short complimentary shuttle ride to this facility.

We are pleased you enjoyed our two championship golf courses!

Kindest Regards,
ChristineL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed at the American Club for a May weekend. This was our first visit to Kohler. We reserved a deluxe room and were upgraded to a superior suite. The room (the Fred Astaire Suite) was great--a comfortable king bed, large sitting area, AMAZING whirlpool tub, fantastic shower. Having seen a few of the rooms, I would definitely book at least the deluxe level. The standard rooms were fine but looked quite small. The hotel is dotted with quaint, beautiful courtyards and sitting areas that made us wish we had more time to sit with a glass of wine doing nothing. Instead we golfed (great golf spot, but everyone knows that so I won't elaborate), visited the Design Center (very cool, highly recommend it), and indulged at the spa. No complaints, it was all great.

Make extra time to hang out at the spa (and don't forget your swimsuit). Laying by the pool there was a perfect way to unwind. If I were to go back, though, I would try to avoid the weekend. They charge more at the spa and it's crowded, so less enjoyable. We made a point to get there in the afternoon on Friday and it was half as busy as Saturday. We did separate massages Friday, and tried the H2O Inspiration for Two on Saturday- it was probably the best spa experience I've ever had (it's not cheap, so you expect it to be good, but it was really good). My husband-- who started the weekend pretty tense after a crazy work week-- practically floated out of the room.

We ate at the Immigrant Room on Friday and the River Wildlife on Saturday, which is a cabin in the woods in a picture-perfect setting. We expected to like the Immigrant Room better after reading the reviews, but both agreed the River Wildlife was the best of the two. Immigrant room had a great menu, River Wildlife's was a bit more limited. But our food was prepared better at River Wildlife, and the setting couldn't be beat (watching the woods from our window seat just before twilight, we saw a red fox jog by the cabin). Tip for women: make a practical shoe choice for River Wildlife. To get to the cabin by shuttle, you are dropped off in a parking area then walk down a pretty path through the woods that's covered in wood chips- practical for the setting, but tough in heels.

Overall: We had a lovely stay and would go again, but I would choose an off-peak time to increase chances of a free upgrade and have fewer people at the spa. We experienced exceptional service all weekend- at the hotel, the spa, the restaurants, and the golf course.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AugustAtHeart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine L, General Manager at The American Club, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear AugustAtHeart,

We are so pleased to read how you enjoyed your stay, dining and spa experiences. You stayed in one of my personal favorite rooms, it is a pleasure to see you enjoyed it as well! River Wildlife is a very special setting, unlike any other. And you are correct, it is a good idea to wear sensible shoes for the journey down the hill to where the cabin is nestled.

We do hope you return,
Best Wishes,
ChristineL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Our family spent Mother's Day weekend at The American Club and had a wonderful time. It is a manageable drive from Chicago (about 3 hours) and very educational for the kids. We took our 3 boys (11,10,2). They actually enjoyed visiting the Kohler museum and design center and had a blast at the beach in Sheboygan and the Bookworm Gardens. The hotel is very kid friendly and it all has to do with the wonderful staff. The atmosphere is elegant yet laid back. We love staying at historical hotels with the kids. They make history come alive! The American Club has several guided tours throughout the day. We wished we could have attended one or to but did not have enough time on our quick gateway. We stayed in a large suite and it was the perfect size for our family. The beds are extremely comfortable and off course, the Kohler jetted tub and spa shower are first class! We enjoyed the gardens and complimentary drinks and cookies in the greenhouse. They have great homemade treats as well (ice cream, smoothies, pastries, specialty teas and coffees). For dinner, my husband and I enjoyed a delicious and relaxing dinner at Blackwolf Run while the older kids participated in the kids program at the Inn on Woodlake (pizza and a movie). Our toddler stayed with a wonderful baby sitter we arranged through the Concierge. Best of all, the hotel has a very efficient shuttle service to get you to all the places of interest. On Sunday, we enjoyed a very nice Mother's Day brunch. The price was actually quite reasonable for what you get, same for Blackwolf Run Restaurant. What makes The American Club a special places are all the little touches and attention to details, coupled with very attentive and friendly employees. It may be a 5 diamonds resort but no snootiness here! We loved the laid back and casual atmosphere throughout. Well worth the money!

Room Tip: Take advantage of the tours offered by the hotel. There is something for everyone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlobalKidsTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine L, General Manager at The American Club, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear GlobalKidsTravel,

Thank you for selecting our resort to celebrate Mother’s Day with your family. For a quick getaway, you took advantage of many resort amenities. Our dinner & movie is designed for families like yours! Mom and Dad alone time, while the kids enjoy a movie and pizza. We are very happy you were able to spend both time as a family and as a couple.

Our team is our greatest asset and it is always a pleasure to read about how they were attentive and friendly.

We hope you return for many more special days to come.

Best Wishes,
ChristineL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kohler
0.4 mi away
Inn on Woodlake
Inn on Woodlake
#2 of 2 in Kohler
300 reviews
3.6 mi away
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel - Sheboygan
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sheboygan - Kohler (I-43)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Sheboygan
3.4 mi away
Harbor Winds
Harbor Winds
#6 of 11 in Sheboygan
121 reviews
9 mi away
AmericInn Plymouth
AmericInn Plymouth
#3 of 5 in Plymouth
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The American Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The American Club

Address: 419 Highland Dr, Kohler, WI 53044-1514
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Kohler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kohler
Price Range: £146 - £427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The American Club 5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The American Club is a Forbes Five-Star Resort Hotel and the Midwest’s only AAA Five Diamond Resort Hotel providing unique, luxurious decor that with a singular quality experience room by room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and TravelClick so you can book your The American Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The American Club Hotel Kohler
American Hotel Kohler
The American Hotel
American Club Wisconsin
American Kohler
American Club In Kohler Wi
American Club Kohler Wi
The American Club Kohler, Wisconsin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing