We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The American Club
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbor Winds(Sheboygan)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (964)
Filter reviews
964 results
Traveller rating
661
162
76
41
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
661
162
76
41
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscarriage housewhistling straitswisconsin roomkohler productsblackwolf runimmigrant roomgreen housedeluxe roomspa treatmentsfactory tourturn down servicekohler waters spathe kohler design centerblack wolf runmain buildinggolf tripbathroom fixtures
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
491 - 496 of 964 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2014

the hotel was clean. the bathroom was amazing. really enjoyed everything about this hotel except we weren't there long enough. I would recommend for all.
Also the spa was amazing. We didn't have time for alot else but everything we saw was top notch!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ocp2332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine L, General Manager at The American Club, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear ocp2332,

We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and sincerely hope you can return for a longer visit next time! Since you liked the bathroom, when you return, be sure to try a different category of room if you are able. Each category has a different experience.

Best Wishes,
ChristineL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We were visiting over Memorial Day weekend and attending a wedding at Riverbend. The staff was kind and helpful. Rooms were clean and shower rocked! Woke each morning to truck backing up outside of our window... Went right back to sleep.

Each day we visited the Green House to have a custom smoothie made for us. Found it odd that staff would sometimes add in ingredients we didn't request -honey. Glad we didn't have an allergy. Beautiful setting, though. Following, we would spend 1.5 hours taking advantage of the Sports Core - great facility and very clean.

We had a great dinner in the library where the server was kind enough to let us order from the immigrants menu, which was outstanding (tuna). We also ate at the Wisconsin room -service great, food very good, table we were seated at in middle of room not so good. Black wolf run was beautiful, but the menu was pretty basic.

We golfed, used the spa (crowded but nice - I wouldn't pay $45 to hang out) and took advantage of the market - all very good. First and second day at market were great. We specifically ordered some maple-bacon donuts on Sunday to take home for our kids. The worker said she made them on Monday, but sold them off???

I'd go back as a couple, but did not seem real fun for kids. The broadmoore in Colorado Springs seems similar, but much more for kids to do. Favorites were sports core, restaurants and valet staff.

Room Tip: 216 was noisy in am.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kingfamoffive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine L, General Manager at The American Club, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Kingfamoffive,

What a stunning weekend for the wedding at Riverbend. We were very happy to host many of the wedding guests at The American Club. It is always enjoyable to read how many amenities our guest enjoy during their stay. Thank you for the feedback regarding the variance in your smoothie preparation. This will be passed along to the team for consistency going forward. We have itineraries for families featuring kid friendly activities at our around the resort, if you would wish to return with your family.

Enjoy your summer.
Best Wishes,
ChristineL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I don't have experience staying here, but I am writing to note that even if you're not a guest, you can take advantage of their tour of the premises. We received a wonderful tour by Ellis the Concierge who is incredibly knowledgeable not only about The American Club, but lots of local history in general. We got a lot of insight about the area through this tour. It was one of the highlights of our trip to the area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Turtleliving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine L, General Manager at The American Club, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Turtleliving,

Thank you for sharing our historic tour with the members of Trip Advisor. We are rich in history and our concierge team has extended knowledge they love to share. Ellis is new to our team this year and what a delight to read how well he took care of you!

Best Wishes,
ChristineL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Great place with access to whistling straits and blackwolfrun golf courses so worth the stay for that alone also many other great courses in the area make sure you also play The Bull a great Nicklaus designed course

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billobri47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine L, General Manager at The American Club, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear billobri47,

We are so glad you enjoyed both of our golf courses at our resort. The courses have come alive, despite the late spring! We are all so happy golf weather is here.

Best Wishes,
ChristineL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Our group ranged from ages 20 to mature for a bachelorette weekend for my niece. From the moment we arrived, we all loved our stay at the American Club in Kohler. The accommodations are beautiful, the staff accommodating and unobtrusive, the spa heavenly, the food delicious, and the area and shops absolutely lovely. Great for a romantic getaway or for a small group as we had. Too early for golf, which my husband had always raved about!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OtooleQuinlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine L, General Manager at The American Club, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear OtooleQuinlan,

What a fun reason to celebrate at The American Club! Please extend our best wishes to your niece and her fiancé for a memorable and special wedding day. We a very delighted you all enjoyed so many amenities at our resort.

We hope you and your husband return for golf. The courses are in great playing condition after the long cold winter.

Best Wishes,
ChristineL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews