We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“slice of heaven” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The American Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The American Club
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kohler
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“slice of heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

Very fine at all turns. We stayed in The Carriage House, huge room, 3rd. floor. I went to the Spa, it was like no other. Dixie, 13th. year at spa, was an angle. It is hard for me to relax, and by the time she was done with my detox massage, with facial and head massage, I could not move, nor did I want to. Day before Kate gave me a firm, full body massage, it was great as well.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine L, General Manager at The American Club, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Dear Thomas V,

We are delighted you enjoyed your services at the Kohler Waters Spa and your room at the Carriage House. The best compliment our spa technicians can receive is when guests don’t want to move at the end of the service!

Best Wishes,
Christine L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    566
    137
    65
    39
    22
See reviews for
81
446
19
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
106 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

My father's family grew up in the Villiage of Kohler, and worked for the Kohler Company for decades. Besides quality bath fixtures, the American Club was originally part of the housing for Kohler Company workers from Europe.

Today, it is a Five Star resort with amazing golf courses.

My extended family has lunch at the "Horse and Plow" Bar and Grill - which originally was the bowling alley. Very nice atmosphere, service and food.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LarTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine L, General Manager at The American Club, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Dear LarTraveler,

You are correct, The American Club was built in 1918 to house immigrant workers coming to American to begin a new life. After closing down for renovation in 1978, in 1981 it reopened as a luxury hotel marking its new purpose.

We are glad you enjoyed the Horse & Plow, it was the original recreation center for the workers and after prohibition offered a shot and a beer for $0.25! What a deal.

Best Wishes,
Christine L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Caveat: I stayed here with friends as a get-away/spa trip, not as a golfer.

The best part about the Carriage House is that it is adult-only which is perfect when looking for a few days away with friends. The Carriage House is compact because it is the original structure. However they have done a good job of retrofitting the structure to accommodate hotel rooms.

We had 2 adjoining rooms (362 & 364). 362 is a 2 queen bed room with slanted ceilings so it felt a little cramped. 364 is a king bed room with high ceilings, separate shower and WC rooms, and felt quite open and large. The shower area was a large open space covered with tasteful Travertine tile. This allows Kohler to showcase the double-headed spa shower. The area also contained their Seawall Whirlpool Tub. Plumbing fixtures are not at the top of my checklist of items I look for in luxury hotels so while it was clean and new, it did nothing to impress me. The other issue with the fancy shower space is that while roomy, it is wide open with no privacy which is a little exposed. I can only imagine how cold it would be in the winter to have all that open space with no way of trapping the warm air. A heat/warming lamp is installed in the ceiling.

The rooms are dark wood and dark, heavy furnishings. While it fit the style of the building, it was too dark for the long, bright days of summer. The available window space is small so do not count on natural light to brighten up your room.

The service was excellent. Exactly what you should expect from a 5-star resort.

Was the whole package worthy of a 5-star rating? As a non-golfing guest I would say no. I cannot speak to the quality of the resort from a golfers view however. That would require a review of the golf course and this review is strictly for The American Club/Carriage House, rather than the resort as a whole.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank cgiessler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine L, General Manager at The American Club, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear cgiessler,

Thank you for your review. At the Carriage House every category offers a different bathing and showering experience. Your King bedded room is a Heritage room, and as you note with an open concept shower. Our reservations team can detail out each category and the bathing/showering experience to be sure the experience matches the guest! Some guests like to try something new when they return, some have personal favorites.

Very happy to read our team provided you with Five Star service!

Best Wishes,
Christine L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

I thought 'southern hospitality' cannot be beat. But, this midwestern city and specifically the club really surprised me. This will remain one of the most memorable business trips I have ever taken. Congrats to the staff and especially the concierge staff!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Farhan16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine L, General Manager at The American Club, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Farhan16,

Thank you very much for acknowledging our team and the service they provided to you. We are very happy they made your business trip memorable.

Best Wishes,
Christine L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Playing Whistling Straits golf course would have been terrific but the greens fees did not match our golf games. We'll just watch the PGA Championship next year.
We stayed with two days of spa treatments instead of golf. All of our treatments were great. I highly recommend the Hamman Ritual.
If you stay at the Carriage House you have the convenience of just coming downstairs in your robe and slippers for spa treatments, etc. The Kohlers Water Spa does not have a direct connect to The American Club Lodging next door. You have to walk through the parking lot or walk through the underground parking lot. There are lockers available.
We paid extra in our package to dine in the Immigrant Room and found it worthy of all the accolades.
We also dined at Whistling Straits. Less formal than the Immigrant Room for sure but very nice.

Room Tip: The Carriage House is the most convenient lodging for use of the Kohlers Water Spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nailer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine L, General Manager at The American Club, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Nailer J,

Thank you for your review and recommendation of our spa services. Many guests who stay at the Carriage House enjoy spending the day in their robe and slippers until dinner time! So glad you took advantage of this. The spa does have complete male and female locker rooms for guests who travel from the American Club main building or the Inn on Woodlake for spa services.

Best Wishes,
Christine L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

If you want a top notch retreat with excellent amenities then this is the place to go.
Kohler, Wisc. is not an extremely convenient place to travel but it is about 30 minutes north of Milwaukee.
The American Club has great restaurants, fitness center and golf - this is the home of Whristling Straits.
The amenities (fitness and golf) are not on the property of the American Club which creates some inconvenience - the Club has shuttle buses to the golf and fitness center. The Whristling Straits golf courses are about 10 miles from the Club and the other golf courses are about 3 miles from the club. The fitness center and tennis courts are about 1 mile from the Club.
This place is pricey but worth the experience.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank acappy300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine L, General Manager at The American Club, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear acapsuto,

We are very happy to read you felt the experience was worth your trip! As a resort, some of our amenities are spread out over the Village of Kohler as well as Whistling Strait being located north west of the hotel. Thank you for mentioning our shuttle service, which will take our guests anywhere within our resort, complimentary.

Best Wishes,
Christine L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
123 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

OK, that title is a given. You ARE across the street from the Kohler factory so obviously, all Kohler fixtures. But putting that aside, I was struck by how personable all of the staff is. You are made totally welcomed by everybody. I stayed in the "Carriage House" who's rooms were very comfortable and dark. With tall the world class golf around, the other guests were very golf oriented and the spa facilities were always being frequented. I'd say this was a very nice relaxing spot for a visit...expecially if you are a golfer.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TRM59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine L, General Manager at The American Club, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear TRM59,

We are pleased you enjoyed a relaxing stay at our resort. It is always fun to read about our guests’ reaction to our bathrooms. Most importantly, we are very rewarded to read how welcoming our staff made you feel!

Best Wishes,
Christine L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kohler
0.3 mi away
Inn on Woodlake
Inn on Woodlake
#2 of 2 in Kohler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
3.6 mi away
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel - Sheboygan
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sheboygan - Kohler (I-43)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
52 Stafford
52 Stafford
#2 of 5 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
13.4 mi away
Victorian Village Resort
Victorian Village Resort
#2 of 2 in Elkhart Lake
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
2.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn Sheboygan
La Quinta Inn Sheboygan
#5 of 11 in Sheboygan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The American Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The American Club

Property: The American Club
Address: 419 Highland Dr, Kohler, WI 53044
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Kohler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kohler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The American Club is a Forbes Five-Star Resort Hotel and the Midwest’s only AAA Five Diamond Resort Hotel providing unique, luxurious decor that with a singular quality experience room by room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and TravelClick so you can book your The American Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The American Club Hotel Kohler
American Hotel Kohler
The American Hotel
American Club Wisconsin
American Kohler
American Club In Kohler Wi
American Club Kohler Wi
The American Club Kohler, Wisconsin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing