We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxurious feel for a reasonable price”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Inn on Woodlake

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Inn on Woodlake
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kohler
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Luxurious feel for a reasonable price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Everything plumbing, being Kohler, was magnificent! Showerheads coming out of the walls, access to the gorgeous health club complete with lap pool, outdoor hottub, hammam. We went just to get away for a night with our "tweens" and everyone had a great time. About 20 minutes from Kohler-Andrae State Park, which we visited on our way out.
The upscale mall attached to the hotel was quiet almost to the point of being creepy, as was the manufactured community which makes up Kohler.
Breakfast was copious, fresh, and all around very good.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cellomama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    122
    38
    8
    4
See reviews for
33
108
7
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glenview
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

I and three of my girlfriends have been to the American Club a number of times, but this time they had some conferences booking the whole hotel so we opted for the Inn on Woodlake. Although it is not as luxurious as the AC, we found it perfectly suited us. We were given two adjoining rooms and left the door between our rooms open and were able to go back and forth between them as needed. Our rooms overlooked the pond and we really enjoyed the view and seeing the birds on the pond throughout the day, and loved walking around the area. Some of the stores we remember in that area seem to have gone, but we found plenty to keep us busy for the two nights we stayed there. Because we needed seperate beds, perhaps, we were given two rooms that did not have a balcony, but I suggest that when you book make sure to ask exactly for whatever it is you want. The staff was very helpful and the included breakfast, while not expansive was most adequate. We would stay there again, as it is always helpful to save money if that is a priority for you-however if it is luxury you want then the American Club is where you need to be.

Room Tip: Maybe the Tower room is more fancy, but I prefer a quiet night away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joyceGlenview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
212 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

My boyfriend and I had a fabulous time in Kohler. The Inn at Woodlake was very nice and clean, and the service was great. However the only downer for us was the breakfast! By no means are we picky eaters either. Their hashbrowns didn't seem to be cooked enough, and were cold. We picked up a few muffins to eat and they were hard as a rock and seemed pretty stale. The banana pancakes were really good, along with some of the other pastries they had out.
The location of the Inn was great, we walked to the Spa and Design Center. They do have shuttle service that was very prompt when we used it.
Overall a great place to stay! We would stay again for sure.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpartyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

There really is nothing wrong with the Inn on Woodlake. The rooms are nicely furnished, modern, clean and the bathrooms live up to the Kohler resort standard. But this hotel really doesn't compete with the charm of the American Club. First of all, it's location adjacent to the Shops at Woodlake means many rooms simply have a view of the parking lot. The only dining option is Cucina so you either have to drive or take a shuttle over to the other building. There is also no room service unless you order from Cucina or another local restaurant.

I have friends that prefer to stay here so they can spend less money on their room and more at the spa, and if you are a return visitor I think that's fine. But if this is your first time to Kohler and you want the full romantic experience spend the extra staying at the real deal. You won't regret all the extra little touches that the Inn lacks.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussie_JaneK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
125 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

A more affordable version of th American Club. Still a Kohler showcase. Ask for an odd numbered room for a nicer view.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palatine, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

The rooms are better than the public space. Overall great service and great stay overall. The showers are the BEST I've ever experienced and I like how there are speakers in the bathroom.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlinkf27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
51 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

Although we only live about 25 miles from this property, we've been working so much, it was time for a break; so we chose this hotel because it would not be a far drive, and we had never stayed there. Went to the Kohler Design center before check-in, and it is definitely worth a visit; we had been there, but not in a long while. We had reserved the Woodlake suite, and it was perfect. A larger room, king bed, huge window overlooking the lake (with a blackout shade), and a wonderful bath, with huge soaking tub, double sinks, and multiple spraying shower. Yes, the bed was a bit firm, but we still slept well, very quiet our entire stay. The only thing that would have made our stay better, would have been if the tub was a whirlpool, and some grab bars for safty would have been helpful. The comp breakfast was very good as well, good selection, china plates, silverware, etc. We chose not to browse in the shops, but would have enjoyed that as well. We plan to return in the near future, a very nice property.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marily21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kohler
3.6 mi away
Harbor Winds
Harbor Winds
#7 of 11 in Sheboygan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
2.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn Sheboygan
La Quinta Inn Sheboygan
#5 of 11 in Sheboygan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sheboygan - Kohler (I-43)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel - Sheboygan
2.3 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Sheboygan
13.2 mi away
Victorian Village Resort
Victorian Village Resort
#2 of 2 in Elkhart Lake
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on Woodlake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Woodlake

Property: Inn on Woodlake
Address: 705 Woodlake Rd, Kohler, WI 53044
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Kohler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kohler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn on Woodlake 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the shore of picturesque Wood Lake, this serene 121-room hotel boasts boutique style guest rooms, ample meeting space as well as amenities and common areas for leisure and business travelers. During your stay, visit The Shops at Woodlake located next to the Inn, explore the Kohler Design Center or dine at Cucina Italian restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Inn on Woodlake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On Woodlake Hotel Kohler
Hotel On Woodlake
On Woodlake Hotel
Inn On Woodlake Kohler, Wisconsin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing