We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Meal”

Buzzard Billy's Flying Carp Cafe
Ranked #3 of 202 Restaurants in La Crosse
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Neenah, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Delightful Meal”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Our group enjoyed this restaurant our first night in town. It was fun and full of decor for many different people. The flying carp was cute. The food was very eclectic with many different choices. I had the veggie Po'Boy. Delicious.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Burmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    325
    185
    43
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice stop in great downtown area”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Had lunch here today. Beautiful area with a great, walkable downtown. My husband and I both had one of their combo plates to try several things. My blackened chicken was very good and the hush puppies are truly the best I've ever had. I love red beans and rice, but these were a disappointment. Way too much salt. It was all you could taste. And my gumbo was just ok. My husbands blackened catfish was very chewy and tasted as if it may have been in the freezer too long. His jambalaya was good but also very salty. The restaurant seemed to be very clean. Great service.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tami T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Friendly, clean and good value”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Cajun food with an easy going atmosphere. Food was served hot and service was attentive. Portions are large for dinner, so consider sharing or bringing some home. Fun decor and light atmosphere welcomes families, couples, and large groups.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank 1234Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manitowoc, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
“Great po-boy”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Four of us went here for lunch. Service was very good considering the place was full. I had a great shrimp po-boy, best I've had in years. The blackened catfish got raves from my companions. This is a restaurant that specializes in Cajun cuisine and they appear to do it quite well. If you are looking for a touch of the Big Easy while in LaCrosse, you definitely want to Check out Buzzard Billy's

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Calicoboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewood, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“OK Cajun for the Non-Southerner”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Visited Buzzard Billy's for lunch with friends and while the cajun food was far from the best I've ever had it was ok for the Northern states. The Voodoo Tuna was good but would have used a bit more blackened seasoning, and the accompanying cajun rice was average at best.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank russminton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Buzzard Billy's Flying Carp Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Buzzard Billy's Flying Carp Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing