We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cajun Bar & Grill”

Buzzard Billy's Flying Carp Cafe
Ranked #3 of 202 Restaurants in La Crosse
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Maple Park, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Cajun Bar & Grill”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Excellent meal. I was alone for lunch, & knew my husband & I would be having a big dinner that night. So I had a sandwich -- but if we'd gone for dinner, it would have been sooooo hard to decide, so many excellent choices. I had a "Bourbon Street Chicken" sandwich -- available with a choice of fries, hush puppies, coleslaw, or sweet potato fries. Friendly & efficient service. Comfortable atmosphere. I was here a couple of years ago on a weekend evening, when my husband was at a meeting -- it was so busy I had to take a stool at the bar for dinner -- it was noisier that time, but the food was still served hot & in a timely manner. One of the best choices in downtown LaCrosse, I think.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wilma608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    316
    181
    40
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Neenah, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Delightful Meal”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Our group enjoyed this restaurant our first night in town. It was fun and full of decor for many different people. The flying carp was cute. The food was very eclectic with many different choices. I had the veggie Po'Boy. Delicious.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Burmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice stop in great downtown area”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Had lunch here today. Beautiful area with a great, walkable downtown. My husband and I both had one of their combo plates to try several things. My blackened chicken was very good and the hush puppies are truly the best I've ever had. I love red beans and rice, but these were a disappointment. Way too much salt. It was all you could taste. And my gumbo was just ok. My husbands blackened catfish was very chewy and tasted as if it may have been in the freezer too long. His jambalaya was good but also very salty. The restaurant seemed to be very clean. Great service.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tami T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Friendly, clean and good value”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Cajun food with an easy going atmosphere. Food was served hot and service was attentive. Portions are large for dinner, so consider sharing or bringing some home. Fun decor and light atmosphere welcomes families, couples, and large groups.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank 1234Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manitowoc, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“Great po-boy”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Four of us went here for lunch. Service was very good considering the place was full. I had a great shrimp po-boy, best I've had in years. The blackened catfish got raves from my companions. This is a restaurant that specializes in Cajun cuisine and they appear to do it quite well. If you are looking for a touch of the Big Easy while in LaCrosse, you definitely want to Check out Buzzard Billy's

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Calicoboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Buzzard Billy's Flying Carp Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Buzzard Billy's Flying Carp Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing