We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun, Casual , Cajun specialties, but good other options as well!”

Buzzard Billy's Flying Carp Cafe
Ranked #3 of 202 Restaurants in La Crosse
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Fun, Casual , Cajun specialties, but good other options as well!”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We were traveling with friends on motorcycles up and down the Mississippi and stayed in LaCrosse on a Sunday night. Many restaurants were closed, so our options were limited.

I chose Buzzard Billy's as one of our options because one of our traveling companions is a huge fan of Cajun food! That being said , neither my husband or I are, but I had checked the menu and saw many other options.

I had one of the best Chicken quesadilla's I've ever had! Chocked full of large pieces of chicken and peppers, and the salsa was very tasty.My husband had shrimp wrapped in bacon he thoroughly enjoyed and our Cajun loving friend had a craw fish platter he thought was excellent.

Buzzard Billy's is a fun causal place, with good food, Cajun and otherwise, and prices were very reasonable.

We had hoped to check out the upstairs starlight lounge after dinner, but it was closed on Sunday night.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MarciaB10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    316
    181
    40
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Appleton
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food, quick service, friendly atmosphere”
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

We were in town visiting niece who attends UW-L. We had a very good lunch (I had the Shrimp Po' Boy with hush puppies) which arrived quickly and was very tasty. I love local eateries with a unique flair. This was a comfy little bar/restaurant with a big personality and an interesting menu of Cajun greats.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AppletonWItraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaford, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Casual w/ Great Service and Quality Food”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Friendly atmosphere and, despite the Cajun theme, you still get a good dose of local La Crosse hospitality and Wisconsin culture. The Cajun inspired food is just a bonus. If you're like me (casual and curious), you will enjoy Buzzard Billy's.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Yatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun name, fun food!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Our group of four wanted a quick bite after a Mississippi River tour on the La Crosse Queen and before heading over to watch the Highland Games at Irish Fest on August 9th. After consulting Trip Advisor for a nearby pub we could walk to, we settled on Buzzard Billy's on Pearl Street.
We started with their Big Joe W's Beer Cheese Soup (because we ALWAYS order beer cheese soup when on the menu). It was VERY good! Our friends ordered a shrimp poboy and the big fat chicken quesadilla. They were pleased with their choices. We shared a muffuletta with the fries which we enjoyed, but, in retrospect, I would have liked a little more olive tapenade on it.
Overall, we enjoyed the tasty meal and appreciated the waiter's effort to serve us quickly so we could make it to see the caber toss at the Highland Games.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pamela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lacrosse
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I heard from co workers that Buzzard Billys had "amazing" food, so when my brother came to visit i suggested we go there. What a disappointment, burgers as well as other food items overcooked, a almost burnt and for the 100 plus dollars spent we could have had a better dinner for seven anywhere else. I won't be recommending this restaurant to anyone I like.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank lilm4m439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Buzzard Billy's Flying Carp Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Buzzard Billy's Flying Carp Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing