We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn La Crosse
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in La Crosse
Reviewed 18 April 2007

We stay here for a basketball tournament. When we saw the lobby we thought it was o.k., but when we got to our room it was awful. The hotel reeked of smoke. We couldn't let our children wonder by themselves because it didn't feel safe. There was also cold showers and the bedspreads had stains on them. It was a dark and dingy room. The people who organized the hotels for this tournament should never had it on its list. I would never stay here again no matter how low the price.

  • Stayed: March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Tinker64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 125 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2007

I love this place. It has a great lobby with a 65"TV, comfy chairs, and the people are friendly. The rooms are very nice and clean (when I checked out, they told me that the rooms in 400 area are even better.) Fridge and microwave in the room were a big plus. Continental Breakfast was well supplied, served for a good amount of time, and very enjoyable. Free wireless internet in the room was very convenient for me. According to the recepcionist, all these improvements started when the motel changed ownership last year, and became Americas Best Value Inn. I strongly recommend this motel for anyone that is looking for a comfy stay with reasonable prices!

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Rodger53201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Harvard, IL
12
Reviewed 9 June 2005

I read the other review rating Road Star on here. I'm convinced they work for the competition! I travel for a living and have always stayed at RS. It's what you would call a "budget hotel". However, the staff, cleanliness, and amenities reflect that of an inn twice the price. If you want a quality, affordable stay, I can't think of any reason you wouldn't choose Road Star. Enjoy.

  • Stayed: July 2004, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
River Falls, WI
15
Reviewed 5 February 2004

By far the worst hotel I have ever stayed at! The rooms haven't been updated since the 60's and there was NO hot water to shower with. The beds were terrible and the sheets were pilled and felt like gauze. I urge you to reconsider staying here.

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
City, State
18
Reviewed 31 July 2003

Our room was a non-smoking room that smelled so strongly of stale smoke I finally went out and slept in my car. The sheets and pillow cases were so wrinkled, I do not believe the bed had been changed. The lobby smelled so strongly of smoke we could not sit there and eat the continental breakfast. I will never stay at one of these motels again.

8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2009
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank horwebinheiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Crosse hotels
0.4 mi away
Motel 6 La Crosse WI
Motel 6 La Crosse WI
#15 of 20 in La Crosse
246 reviews
0.5 mi away
Settle Inn & Suites La Crosse
1.0 mi away
Days Inn La Crosse Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Super 8 La Crosse
Super 8 La Crosse
#14 of 20 in La Crosse
471 reviews
0.8 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Conference Center La Crosse - Riverfront
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites La Crosse Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn La Crosse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn La Crosse

Address: 2622 Rose St, La Crosse, WI 54603-1616
Region: United States > Wisconsin > La Crosse
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in La Crosse
Price Range: £44 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn La Crosse 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2 Story interior corridor property. FREE guest breakfast. FREE wi-fi. FREE truck, bus, car parking. Fitness Center. Meeting Room. Guest Laundry. Pet friendly (charge). Near UW-La Crosse and Western Technical College. Near Onalaska OmniCenter. I-94 exit 3. Restaurants nearby. Gas and diesel nearby. FEMA = WI 5181. Three miles from downtown La Crosse. All rooms non-smoking (2010 State law). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn La Crosse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn La Crosse Hotel La Crosse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing