We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tim and staff have plenty to learn - poor experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites La Crosse
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in La Crosse
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Tim and staff have plenty to learn - poor experience”
Reviewed 31 October 2010

Wow - these guys need some training. Maybe IHG can get them some. I am sure Andrew Cosslett and Jim Abrahamson will be interested to learn how the LaCrosse Holiday Inn "behaves"! Do the right thing - NOT, Show we care - NOT, Aim higher - NOT, Celebrate difference - ?, Work better together - NOT! Tim Rortvedt obviously hasn't attended empathy training. Very bad experience, we checked out shortly after checking in. Rude behavior at the front desk, and then after the fact Mr Rortvedt basically dismissed my comments. He claims he was present at check in and check out but clearly was NOT, if he had been, a real manager would have introduced him/herself and shown his/ her interest in a client's concerns! LaCrosse has a real ambassador here! Sorry LaCrosse!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LaCrosseIndians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trortvedt, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites La Crosse, responded to this review, 30 December 2010
I was actually standing at the desk when Ted and his wife came back down from the room. They told the desk clerk that either they remove the parking fee or you were going to check out. The desk clerk said that we do not remove the fee, that our prices are comparable downtown with parking added to which the wife replied "so what" and they wanted to check out. Do not layout ultimatums if you will not be happy with the consequences. They were in the hotel for about 40 minutes.

There was no "attitude" displayed from the desk only refusal to waive the parking fee. All the other guest pay for parking which in a downtown hotel is not "nickel and diming", it is common. We provide covered parking which the other two hotels do not. I am very familiar with the room rates in all the downtown hotels and we range anywhere from $10-30 lower than our competitors. I understand that they did not want to pay for parking but it is not negotiable. Our lot is clearly marked and the checkin process as well as online bookings makes it impossible to not understand the parking policy.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    75
    52
    36
    43
See reviews for
66
59
18
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cedarburg, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2010

Front desk staff needs a lesson in Customer Service! Could go into great detail about circumstances, but young, immature, rude, and offensive front desk clerk made our stay less than enjoyable. We were told our room was not ready due to a flood in the room above the previous night. No manager was available to speak with and all hotels in the area were sold out. We were stuck with a room that still had wet carpeting, the wall paper was peeling off the walls, the ceiling looked as if the drywall was going to fall at any time. When we showed our displeasure for the way he was handling the situation he had the audacity to ask if we were "having a bad day."

Although the location of this hotel is ideal for staying in downtown La Crosse, I will never stay at this hotel again. I recommend you do the same.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank honeyjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trortvedt, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites La Crosse, responded to this review, 29 October 2010
A guest did fall asleep the prior evening, in the room above and left the tub running. It overflowed into the room below. Our engineering department did take care of the room and the items were fixed prior to the guest arrival. Unfortunately, we were sold out and the guest wanted to check in early. It was not possible that day for the room type they reserved. The guest reported that the floor was still wet at checkout and our Engineering went up to the room with the guest to find dry carpeting. We tried to do our best to accommodate the guest and even gave a 25% discount to the guest for their patience for waiting until 4pm the day before. However, after inspecting with the guest, we could not substantiate the claims made at check out.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these La Crosse hotels

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2010

The front desk personnel claimed that the reservation I had was "canceled" and blamed the error on "corporate." He was rude, insolent, and did nothing to rectify his companies mistake.

Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank funkey52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trortvedt, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites La Crosse, responded to this review, 29 October 2010
The Holiday Inn La Crosse nor the corporate reservation line cancels reservations without the guest calling to cancel.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winneconne, WI
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2010

Traveling with spouse and another couple; great location for it was within walking distance of some fabulous restaurants. Folks at front desk were very friendly and everything was in order when we arrived. We had a king bed and our room was furnished adequately. Comfortable matress and linens were okay. From reading the other reviews prior to our visit, it was nothing more, nothing less than we expected. We also received a coupon for $20 per room toward breakfast making this room a great value...just wish our server had smiled once or twice! We thought she was mad at us and couln't figure out why.

The only concern I have is that my husband and I did notice a musky smell as soon as we opened the door to our room. At first I thought perhaps we had been given a smoking room by error, but soon realized it wasn't smoke I was smelling - just stale. Each time we left and returned, the odor was present.

No, we did not ask for anything different because we felt we were only going to be there one night and could live with it. We were in room 502.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Livinmydream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2010

The room smelled as though someone had thrown up there. The wallpaper was peeling off the wall. Everything in the room looked tired and grungy. The restaurant has great food for a decent price and the service throughout the hotel was stellar. A big plus is that the hotel is in a great location downtown. I think I'll try a different hotel next time hoping to find cleaner rooms.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveling0225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2010

We stayed there during La Crosse's famous Oktoberfest celebration. The service was ok, but the pool was a little dirty as well as half the equipment in the workout room didn't function right.

Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MunchyMorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin USA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2010

Stayed at this hotel for a weekend and were very pleased with it. There were signs posted at the front desk as well as on every exterior door stating that parking permits were necessary - and the $3/night fee is not unusual for an inside parking spot in a downtown area. Had a 5th floor room/suite which was clean and pleasant. It was nice to be able to open the windows a crack and let in fresh air instead of having to rely on air conditioning and fan 24/7. Restaurant was open for breakfast - good food at reasonable prices. Location is excellent - close to riverfront and downtown area. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MenomonieTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Crosse hotels
0.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton La Crosse
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites La Crosse Downtown
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel La Crosse
Radisson Hotel La Crosse
#4 of 20 in La Crosse
1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites La Crosse Downtown
0.4 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites La Crosse
0.2 mi away
The Charmant Hotel
The Charmant Hotel
#1 of 20 in La Crosse
1,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites La Crosse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites La Crosse

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites La Crosse
Address: 200 Pearl St, La Crosse, WI 54601
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > La Crosse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in La Crosse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites La Crosse 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - LaCrosse. We are proud to offer a non-smoking environment in all our guest rooms. A great night's sleep is ensured on our new Simmons Plush Beautyrest World Class mattresses in our NEWLY RENOVATED hotel. The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites is located 1 block east of the Mississippi River, in the heart of historic downtown La Crosse. The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites has 114 rooms with free high-speed wireless Internet access, and 27 inch TVs with over 70 cable channels. The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - LaCrosse, offers its guests an indoor pool, over-sized whirlpool, fitness center, guest laundry service, and complimentary shuttle service to and from transportation centers & clinics. The hotel also has a lobby business center with wireless Internet access, PC, printer and FAX machine, as well as a 500 sq. ft. meeting room located just off the hotel lobby. Burger Fusion is the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites' unique restaurant and lounge; open for breakfast, lunch & dinner, Burger Fusion features gourmet burgers & grilled cheese, as well as shakes. The La Crosse Convention Center directly across the street offers a connecting skywalk. Major medical centers & colleges, Trane Co., City Brewery & our own Oktoberfest, make La Crosse a great destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites La Crosse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn La Crosse Hotel La Crosse
La Crosse Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing