We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent guest relations skills!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites La Crosse
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in La Crosse
Waterloo, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent guest relations skills!”
Reviewed 22 February 2011

I love hearing people moan about a $3 parking pass....do these people ever travel anywhere at all?? Try chicago people!! Anyway, we had a great experience at this hotel. The staff was great and we knew a few of them by name by the end of our stay! Restaurant food was great and prices are reasonable! Great pizza!! Unfortunately, there were a duo of parents there that were near our table that cared more about drinking than watching their kids run around the bar and restaurant BUT the manager came over and apologized to us for the distraction and quietly talked to the undeserved parents who eventually left so we could enjoy the rest of our meal. Great location!!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smudge5755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    73
    52
    36
    43
See reviews for
66
57
18
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2011

This hotel looks beautiful from the outside and the location can't be beat, as its directly in the heart of downtown La Crosse near bars, restaurants, the Mississippi River, and the La Crosse Center. I typically love Holiday Inn's, but this one was just average. Upon check-in, we found the young front desk worker to be slightly stand-offish and he seemed almost annoyed that he had to stand up, get off the computer, and put his Blackberry down to help us.

* All future guests, be aware that there is an additional $3/night parking fee that will give you space in the ramp next door, which we didn't mind paying as it's convenient, especially during the winter!

Once we got to our room, we found the bed to be King-sized and comfortable, and there was a nice big flat-screen TV in the room. The shower in our room was big, with dual heads, but not that clean since we found strands long blonde hair that couldn't have belonged to my boyfriend or I.

I wouldn't recommend staying here if you want a good night's sleep and have intentions of sleeping in late. The cleaning staff (or maybe room service?) in the hallway outside our room made a lot of noise starting around 8 AM. Also, the walls are very thin, especially in the bathrooms! We could hear our neighbors turn their shower on like it was coming from our bathroom! The shower pressure coming from the next room sounds like a freight train. So overall, I'd just say the Holiday Inn La Crosse average.

*One minor request for management: Luckily we didn't have much luggage, so it was no big deal to park in the ramp right away and bring our bags in, since when we checked in on a Friday evening, there was absolutely no place to stop and unload in the front driveway/parking lot. I assume that most of the spaces were taken up by customers of the restaurant. Some 10-minute parking spaces for unloading would be awesome!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lele_mn_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2011

**Full disclosure: I did not actually stay at the Holiday Inn. I was just trying to book a block of rooms for my wedding guests. So I can't review the accomodations of this hotel. But I can speak to my frustration with the company and staff.**

I called the number on the website, hoping to speak to a staff person about booking a block of rooms at the Holiday Inn. I was transferred to some answering service that serves the parent company Holiday Inn must belong to-- and my call was answered by someone in a call center overseas. While this lady was very pleasant, it was frustrating to not be able to speak to a staff person at the hotel directly.

After submitting my request, the woman on the phone (from the call center) told me someone from the hotel would return my call within 24 hours. Over a week later, I FINALLY receive a response from the hotel, denying my request for a room block. While I understand that the hotel is booked up, I think it is impolite and just bad business to not return a call within the time frame set.

If you are looking for a group reservation in downtown La Crosse, don't even bother with this hotel. You are guarenteed a slow, frustrating process. Instead, direct your business to the Grand Stay hotel. You can actually talk to someone who works at the hotel and they are incredibly nice. Don't waste your time with the Holiday Inn.

Stayed January 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank mdtravels1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these La Crosse hotels

Mayville
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2010

After reading so many negative reviews of this hotel (and wondering if we should actually stay there), we were pleasantly surprised to find everything in order. First of all, the rate was fair and the room was large, quiet and very clean. The hotel desk clerk was friendly and helpful. I don't know what more you need to expect from a motel/hotel visit. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clfsinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MADISON
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2010

We went to check in for our anniversary and kiddingly said we were surprised we had to spend an additional $3 for parking given the expense of our room. The clerk was very rude and said how LaCrosse charges them a lot (gave mepersonal hotel information) and proceeded to tell me they charge more at the Radisoon accross the street. It wasn't the $3 it was the RUDE staff that made us leave and check into a WONDERFUL hotel down the street (Marriott Courtyard) . We will NEVER go to this hotel again and we frequent LaCrosse a lot as this is where my husband and I first dated!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LoraKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
164 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2010

Wow - these guys need some training. Maybe IHG can get them some. I am sure Andrew Cosslett and Jim Abrahamson will be interested to learn how the LaCrosse Holiday Inn "behaves"! Do the right thing - NOT, Show we care - NOT, Aim higher - NOT, Celebrate difference - ?, Work better together - NOT! Tim Rortvedt obviously hasn't attended empathy training. Very bad experience, we checked out shortly after checking in. Rude behavior at the front desk, and then after the fact Mr Rortvedt basically dismissed my comments. He claims he was present at check in and check out but clearly was NOT, if he had been, a real manager would have introduced him/herself and shown his/ her interest in a client's concerns! LaCrosse has a real ambassador here! Sorry LaCrosse!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LaCrosseIndians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trortvedt, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites La Crosse, responded to this review, 30 December 2010
I was actually standing at the desk when Ted and his wife came back down from the room. They told the desk clerk that either they remove the parking fee or you were going to check out. The desk clerk said that we do not remove the fee, that our prices are comparable downtown with parking added to which the wife replied "so what" and they wanted to check out. Do not layout ultimatums if you will not be happy with the consequences. They were in the hotel for about 40 minutes.

There was no "attitude" displayed from the desk only refusal to waive the parking fee. All the other guest pay for parking which in a downtown hotel is not "nickel and diming", it is common. We provide covered parking which the other two hotels do not. I am very familiar with the room rates in all the downtown hotels and we range anywhere from $10-30 lower than our competitors. I understand that they did not want to pay for parking but it is not negotiable. Our lot is clearly marked and the checkin process as well as online bookings makes it impossible to not understand the parking policy.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedarburg, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2010

Front desk staff needs a lesson in Customer Service! Could go into great detail about circumstances, but young, immature, rude, and offensive front desk clerk made our stay less than enjoyable. We were told our room was not ready due to a flood in the room above the previous night. No manager was available to speak with and all hotels in the area were sold out. We were stuck with a room that still had wet carpeting, the wall paper was peeling off the walls, the ceiling looked as if the drywall was going to fall at any time. When we showed our displeasure for the way he was handling the situation he had the audacity to ask if we were "having a bad day."

Although the location of this hotel is ideal for staying in downtown La Crosse, I will never stay at this hotel again. I recommend you do the same.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank honeyjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trortvedt, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites La Crosse, responded to this review, 29 October 2010
A guest did fall asleep the prior evening, in the room above and left the tub running. It overflowed into the room below. Our engineering department did take care of the room and the items were fixed prior to the guest arrival. Unfortunately, we were sold out and the guest wanted to check in early. It was not possible that day for the room type they reserved. The guest reported that the floor was still wet at checkout and our Engineering went up to the room with the guest to find dry carpeting. We tried to do our best to accommodate the guest and even gave a 25% discount to the guest for their patience for waiting until 4pm the day before. However, after inspecting with the guest, we could not substantiate the claims made at check out.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Crosse hotels
0.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton La Crosse
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel La Crosse
Radisson Hotel La Crosse
#4 of 20 in La Crosse
974 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites La Crosse Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites La Crosse Downtown
0.2 mi away
The Charmant Hotel
The Charmant Hotel
#1 of 20 in La Crosse
1,535 reviews
0.4 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites La Crosse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites La Crosse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites La Crosse

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites La Crosse
Address: 200 Pearl St, La Crosse, WI 54601-3216
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > La Crosse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in La Crosse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites La Crosse 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - LaCrosse. We are proud to offer a non-smoking environment in all our guest rooms. A great night's sleep is ensured on our new Simmons Plush Beautyrest World Class mattresses in our NEWLY RENOVATED hotel. The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites is located 1 block east of the Mississippi River, in the heart of historic downtown La Crosse. The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites has 114 rooms with free high-speed wireless Internet access, and 27 inch TVs with over 70 cable channels. The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - LaCrosse, offers its guests an indoor pool, over-sized whirlpool, fitness center, guest laundry service, and complimentary shuttle service to and from transportation centers & clinics. The hotel also has a lobby business center with wireless Internet access, PC, printer and FAX machine, as well as a 500 sq. ft. meeting room located just off the hotel lobby. Burger Fusion is the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites' unique restaurant and lounge; open for breakfast, lunch & dinner, Burger Fusion features gourmet burgers, mac n cheese, and shakes. The La Crosse Convention Center directly across the street offers a connecting skywalk. Major medical centers & colleges, Trane Co., City Brewery & our own Oktoberfest, make La Crosse a great destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites La Crosse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn La Crosse Hotel La Crosse
La Crosse Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing