We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service, Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard La Crosse Downtown/Mississippi Riverfront
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in La Crosse
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
“Great Service, Location!”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Halfway to Chicago, with my cellphone charge depleted, I realized that I left my charger in the room. I phoned the hotel, and immediately reached Monica Berra. While I waited online, she sent housekeeping to my room, verified that the charger was there, and mailed it my home in Minneapolis. It arrived before I returned to Chicago. Also: great waterfront location -- my new cellphone screensaver is a shot of the bridge over the Mississippi (connecting MN and WI) that my daughter took from the patio in back (see below).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy P, General Manager at Courtyard La Crosse Downtown/Mississippi Riverfront, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Ross,

Thank you so much for the great review on Trip Advisor! Monica will be thrilled to see her name in the post. The picture you took is great too. There really isn't a bad view from our hotel on the riverside.

I'm glad you got your charger back so promptly and we hope to see you again in La Crosse soon!

Thank you!

Amy Penchi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    85
    26
    7
    3
See reviews for
55
69
12
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This property is in a great location on the river close to many great restaurants and activites. So if you are willing to pay the exorbitant price for that convenience, then this is the place for you. Be aware that the bathrooms are the smallest we have ever experienced. We have stayed in places 1/4 the price and had much nicer bathrooms than this. The room itself was very large making the bathroom situation so strange in that quite a lot of space could have been used for the bathroom instead of all the dead empty space in the room. The room was exceedingly humid and damp. No amount of adjustments to the A/C would alleviate this. It was so uncomfortable that any down time we had was spent in the lobby to escape this. There was also a stain the size of a dinner plate on the floor.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goosebeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy P, General Manager at Courtyard La Crosse Downtown/Mississippi Riverfront, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear goosebeast.

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us on Tripadvisor! We're happy to see that you enjoyed our location for your visit.

I'm sorry to see that you were unhappy with the price you paid as well as the room layout. Our price is very comparable to our competitors with the same or similar amenities and our busiest time of year is the summer.We welcome you back and please consider staying with us in the off season when prices are lower.

We will investigate the carpet issue you mentioned as well. If you have any additional comments or suggestions that you think we'd find helpful, please feel free to call me at the hotel directly.

Kind Regards,

Amy Penchi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

An upscale hotel at the edge of the downtown area...unfortunately for us this hotel is not close to tourist attractions we enjoy, which was a disappointment. We arrived on a Saturday afternoon...not much to do in the downtown area near the hotel...not many good restaurants near the hotel (at least not restaurants recommended by hotel staff). Small off-street parking area, meaning on-street parking could be a possibility if the hotel was fully occupied. The Marriott Downtown is located along the banks of the Mississippi River...nice patio area for sitting/dining/enjoying the view of the river. A bistro is located adjacent to the patio...limited menu selection...the dinner we ate at the Bistro was excellent (much better than expected). A very clean, well maintained hotel. High end rooms and accessories...usual excellent fare expected at a Marriott chain. Highly recommended for business travel...for those vacationing you may wish to find a hotel nearer tourist activities and quality restaurants. A tad more expensive compared to other hotels of equal quality that we stayed at on this 29 day trek.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy P, General Manager at Courtyard La Crosse Downtown/Mississippi Riverfront, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Trainchasercalgary,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property on Tripadvisor! We appreciate your comments and are pleased you enjoyed yourself during your stay.

It is true, weekends, can be difficult to find a close, yummy lunch in downtown La Crosse. Some of our best restaurants, such as Waterfront and Piggy's are closed for lunch on weekends. A great water view option is 4 Sisters Wine and Tapas, with outdoor seating overlooking Riverside park and the Mississippi. Please keep that in mind for a future visit.

We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed your meal in the Bistro as well in the evening. Our location is perfect for a quiet evening of al fresco dining which is very limited in the city.

Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to your return.

Kind Regards,

Amy Penchi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2014

LaCrosse is such a fun city in the summertime! The kids had a blast, lots of parks and great restaurants. We loved Edwardo's Pizza, Fayze's for breakfast, and the Pearl for ice cream. It was a great mini vacation, and the Courtyard was an excellent place to stay.

Room Tip: The river view rooms are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenniferCan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy P, General Manager at Courtyard La Crosse Downtown/Mississippi Riverfront, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear JenniferCan,

Thank you so much for the perfect review you left us on TripAdvisor! It's great to hear that your family had a wonderful time.

We welcome you back to stay on your next mini-vacation to La Crosse!

Kind Regards,

Amy Penchi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decorah, IA
Level Contributor
89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I chose this hotel based on it's location close to everything downtown and was not disappointed. A short walk is all that is needed to reach multiple bars and restaurants. The free parking and beautiful view of the Mississippi River are simply a bonus!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dr_reagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
106 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I stopped off in La Crosse for food before but never stayed in the area since the first mile or two off the freeway looked run down. However I needed a base for a couple of days and saw the Courtyard available so booked it. What a lovely surprise it was as it`s in the downtown area beside the river in an area that is being regenerated. Great location beside the river and the staff were all friendly and cheery. Having breakfast looking out over the Mississippi was a great way to start the day. In the evening a quick drive across the river and up into La Crescent for a scenic drive along the bluffs was perfect to see the sights

Room Tip: Top floor, river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hammy59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I've stated at this Courtyard several times for business and have never been disappointed. It's is very clean, friendly and accommodates my needs. I even enjoy sitting in the Bistro with dinner and a good Cabernet, watching the boats on the Mississippi and answering emails.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soccermomonthheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy P, General Manager at Courtyard La Crosse Downtown/Mississippi Riverfront, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Soccer mom,

Thank you for the wonderful review you posted on Trip Advisor! We appreciate the perfect score.

Spring through autumn is a great time to enjoy our hotel and the fabulous view with all it has to offer for quiet entertainment. Whether it's the barges and other boat traffic, the beach area across the way or the birds and other wildlife; the terrace and Bistro is a great way to "get away from it all" when on the road and relax without even having to leave the hotel to enjoy it.

We look forward to your next visit and hope you bring your family some time! We have lots of fun things to do in La Crosse for a leisure trip as well!

Kind Regards,

Amy Penchi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Crosse hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel La Crosse
Radisson Hotel La Crosse
#3 of 20 in La Crosse
976 reviews
0.2 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton La Crosse
0.4 mi away
The Charmant Hotel
The Charmant Hotel
#1 of 20 in La Crosse
1,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites La Crosse Downtown
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites La Crosse Downtown
0.6 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites La Crosse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard La Crosse Downtown/Mississippi Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard La Crosse Downtown/Mississippi Riverfront

Property: Courtyard La Crosse Downtown/Mississippi Riverfront
Address: 500 Front St S, La Crosse, WI 54601-4011
Region: United States > Wisconsin > La Crosse
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in La Crosse
#3 Romantic Hotel in La Crosse
#3 Family Hotel in La Crosse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard La Crosse Downtown/Mississippi Riverfront 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newly renovated Courtyard by Marriott La Crosse is perfectly located in Downtown La Crosse on the banks of the Mississippi River. Offering a fresh, vibrant and newly renovated everything. Featuring the new Bistro restaurant, 24 hour market, pool and whirlpool, free parking, internet and friendly staff. We welcome you to share all we have to offer with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard La Crosse Downtown/Mississippi Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott La Crosse Downtown / Mississippi Riverfront Hotel
La Crosse Marriott
La Crosse Courtyard
Courtyard La Crosse Downtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing