We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No shower mats available ?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
GrandStay Hotel & Suites La Crosse
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in La Crosse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2013

After checking into GrandStay Residential Suites on 8/25, I decided to take shower. As I was taking shower, I noticed there was no rubber mat to place on bottom of tub and it was quite slippery. After shower, I asked the guest room attendant who was cleaning room across from ours, if I could get a mat for tub. She was very polite and said she would get me one. About 5 minutes late, she knocked on door and said there were no mats available. What ?? I said I would check at front desk. As I was leaving for dinner, I asked at front desk for rubber mat and clerk said none were available. I said the tub was very slippery and a rubber mat would be a nice safety item. She said other guests had mentioned about tubs being slippery. I told her if I fall in shower, I will be doing much more than mentioning how slippery tub is !! She said sorry ! How can a hotel be out of shower/tub mats? I think a simple mathematical calculation could be, if you have 55 rooms, you would have 90 tub mats to be able to switch out and replace ? This is not rocket science !
Guess things are run much differently in Wisconsin, than in other parts of the country.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BDiamond1564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (548)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

476 - 482 of 548 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2013

Stayed at the GrandStay Residential Suites in LaCrosse WI. As with most GrandStay's hotel is in excellent condition. Room was very clean. 2-room suite is perfect for the business traveler with a separate sleeping and living/kitchen area with great value price. Plenty of room to spread out work and prepare for meetings. Staff was most helpful. Hotel has excellent locations right along the Mississippi, walking distances from parks. Great place to make you feel a little bit "at home" when on the road.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelteach92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

The hotel is very clean and comfortable with plenty of room. Continential breakfast was very nice. We arrived with a group of motorcycles so it was a convenient location to park the bikes and walk to the downtown bars for evening entertainment.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Verndawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Trip was for a friend's re-union weekend. We reserved a wheelchair accessible suit with a roll-in shower. Surprised that the room was on the 4th floor.The overall floor space of the bathroom was spacious. The roll-in shower stall was small but had a drop down seat. There was no hand-held shower head. There was basically no counter space in the bathroom. There was a small shelf above the sink but not functional and blocked the view of the mirror. There was only one bed in the room and only the left side of the bed could be accessed by wheelchair. (The bed was very firm.) The kitchen area was fairly spacious with a sink, stove burner, dishwasher and a very small dorm sized refrigerator. The facility had a very small swimming pool and hot tub - both of which had a power lift for getting in/out of the water. The facility did not have any automatic door entrances which was a hassle. (the front door entry consisted of two sets of doors.) The continental b-fast was average - nothing out of the ordinary. The facility did allow pets. Front desk staff did not seem to go out of their way to make accommodations. Facility is conveniently located near the river walk and downtown La Crosse.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 262Carol877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We booked Grandstay because of its number 1 rating on Tripadvisor.It is a nice property, conveniently located on La Crosse's waterfront, next to Riverside Park.Our standard suite room was fine,clean,nicely appointed,and big enough to be comfortable in.My issues:

-no exhaust fan in bathroom,a nice $110+ a night room should include an exhaust fan in the bathroom!

-pool and hot tub are a joke,we have never seen ones this small!

-breakfast area is small and cramped,breakfast was fine though

-kind of loud,but quieted down nicely after 10 pm

No dealbreakers here,but definitely some things that need improvement,especially for the number 1 hotel in La Crosse...

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WJA81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
525Front, General Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites La Crosse, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Thank you for choosing GrandStay. Your comments are very important to us and we appreciate the time given to review your stay. I’m pleased you enjoyed the location, suite type and cleanliness. I apologize you did not find the pool and breakfast area accommodating in size. The exhaust fan in the bathroom is a silent fan wired to the light switch. Operation of the exhaust fans have recently been inspected however if you had time to reach out to me and provide me with the suite number we can look specifically at this suite. We do our very best to exceed guest expectations and all of your comments are appreciated and shared with the entire La Crosse GrandStay Team.

With Hospitality,
Kristina Conca
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed here, based on the high rankings from Trip Advisor, for a get-away weekend with friends. The hotel was a nice facility with a separate bedroom (complete with door) from the living room/kitchen. The kitchen not only had a microwave and refrigerator, but also a stove, sink, dishwasher as well as dishes, silverware, and pans. The kitchen table also doubled as a work desk. There was a television in the living room and the bed room. Breakfast was so-so...pretty much the same as you get at a Holiday Inn Express or any other hotel with included breakfast. The Fitness Center consisted of a treadmill, elliptical, and a bike.

That all sounds fine, but the main reason we stay in a hotel is to sleep, and we left after one night to switch to another area hotel because the queen-sized bed was so unbelievably uncomfortable. It was lumpy, hard, and had worn edges to the point that it was a struggle not to roll out of bed during the night. All the amenities of the hotel weren't worth having a terrible night's sleep. By the way, we've traveled all over the U.S. and the world and have never before left a hotel early due to an uncomfortable bed...so be forewarned that if you want a good night's sleep this isn't the place for you.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 298DickZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
525Front, Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites La Crosse, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

We appreciate all of our guests taking the time to review their experience with us on Trip Advisor. We strive to provide exceptional service to all of our guests. I apologize you did not find the bed in your suite to be comfortable. I certainly would like to speak with you directly about your experience if you would like to reach out to me.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We were in La Crosse for a family reunion. The rooms were spacious, two queen beds and a sleeper sofa. Full Kitchen with good storage and amenities. Large Tub and Shower. Two large flat screen TVs. Very Spacious. Breakfast was good, eat area is rather small. Pool and Spa were indoors, rather cramped but good for the kids. Friendly and helpful staff. Nice grounds close to the river and old downtown. The children had a good time .. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Crosse hotels
0.2 mi away
The Charmant Hotel
The Charmant Hotel
#1 of 20 in La Crosse
1,815 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel La Crosse
Radisson Hotel La Crosse
#4 of 20 in La Crosse
1,066 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites La Crosse Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton La Crosse
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites La Crosse Downtown
0.6 mi away
Courtyard La Crosse Downtown/Mississippi Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GrandStay Hotel & Suites La Crosse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GrandStay Hotel & Suites La Crosse

Address: 525 Front St N, La Crosse, WI 54601-3277
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > La Crosse
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in La Crosse
#2 Business Hotel in La Crosse
#2 Best Value Hotel in La Crosse
#4 Romantic Hotel in La Crosse
Price Range: £84 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — GrandStay Hotel & Suites La Crosse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown La Crosse our all suite hotel combines the comforts of home with the services of a grand hotel. Free WIFI, parking and Grand Start Breakfast included in all rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your GrandStay Hotel & Suites La Crosse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grandstay Residential Hotel La Crosse
Grandstay Hotel La Crosse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing