We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Ok...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
GrandStay Hotel & Suites La Crosse
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in La Crosse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Stayed here for the weekend to visit family in Lacrosse Wisconsin.

Positives: Comfortable beds, nice breakfast, reasonably priced, nice location
Negatives: Extremely thin walls, VERY noisy of other guests you can hear everything. Front desk upon checkin was not very friendly, our room had a sewer smell when we walked in.

I would probably not stay here again due to the noise in the hotel.

Room Tip: Bed's comfortable but noisy hotel, thin walls
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
525Front, General Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites La Crosse, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Thank you for your feedback. I’m happy to hear you enjoyed our new beds along with our free breakfast. I apologize you found the walls to be thin and noise bothersome. We encourage all of our guests to notify us during their stay if there are any issues so we can resolve them immediately. We are here to provide an exceptional experience for all our guests and I’m sorry you left with a “just ok” experience. We hope you will try us again in the future, our guests are very important to us. If you would like to discuss this further please contact me directly.

With Hospitality,
Kristina Conca
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (539)
There are newer reviews for GrandStay Hotel & Suites La Crosse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

449 - 455 of 539 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2014

Stayed here as my normal go-to was booked. Have not stayed in a GrandStay before, and was impressed by the attention to service, and comfort of the beds. Overall a good stay. Negatives (not major) were hard to control thermostat, thinner walls, and strong smell of air freshener in room.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tptn8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
525Front, General Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites La Crosse, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Thank you for choosing GrandStay and sharing your experience! We hope to see you the next time you are in La Crosse!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

After spending many stays in lacrosse at another hotel. My family decided to find a hotel with a pool and downtown. Our stay was great and made our family time together fun. The pool/hot tub area was very tiny but clean. Beds were comfortable, room was clean, and layout of room was great. Breakfast was well stocked and staff very friendly! Our only request is to somehow make it known to guests that silverware/dinnerware is not stored in the cupboard but instead the dishwasher. We discovered this too late. We will definitely return.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
525Front, General Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites La Crosse, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback! We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us while visiting with family. I apologize you were not aware of where the dishes are kept in our suites. We are in the process of ordering signage for the guest suites to resolve this issue. Thank you for choosing GrandStay La Crosse and we look forward to seeing you in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We stayed at this hotel in late January amidst their reconstruction. We booked a two bedroom suite. I wish it would have been cleaner. When we pulled the sleeper sofa out for our daughter to sleep on we notice used tissue under the couch. It was pretty gross. The room overall, just didn't feel very clean. Dirty carpet and stains on the chair. When we went for the continental breakfast, one of the employees peeked her head out of the office, looked at us and then proceeded to talk about us to her co-worker. I thought that was kind of rude. I am guessing she is a college student, but still not the best customer service.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taymad4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
525Front, General Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites La Crosse, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Our goal is to exceed guest expectations and I’m sorry this did not happen during your visit. We appreciate your comments and they will be shared with the entire team to assure cleanliness expectations along with overall guest expectations are not just met but exceeded. If you would like to speak with me directly about the specifics of your stay I would very much appreciate it.

With Hospitality,
Kristina Conca
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Attitudes, Decor, and beds all improved. Stayed a year ago and was OK but beds uncomfortable, and staff was unattentive. This visit better value, better attitudes and better beds. Lobby was nicely redone, special touchies like decorated planters as you arrive.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dntwiscon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
525Front, General Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites La Crosse, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you for choosing GrandStay! In the past year all of the beds have been replaced along with new sofa sleepers and club chairs in all guest suites. We have also redesigned our lobby, breakfast area and meeting space along with all new carpet in the common areas. We are pleased you noticed the improvement and value in our hotel. We hope you visit us again during your next visit to La Crosse!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Stayed here for the first time one night last week. I was impressed. The room was very nice and comfortable with plenty of space. The hotel is not far from downtown (it would be an easy walk if the weather was bit nicer), yet is in a quiet neighborhood. I usually stay at the Radisson when I am in La Crosse but the GrandStay is my new favorite.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
3  Thank Beeguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
525Front, General Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites La Crosse, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you for choosing GrandStay! We appreciate the kind comments about your stay and look forward to the opportunity to provide lodging during future trips to La Crosse.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I only stayed here one night but found it to be a very cozy and nicely decorated hotel, the bed was very comfortable and the rooms clean. The staff was very friendly and accommodating- My only criticism was that the breakfast was poor. The scrambled eggs seemed old and milk cartons in the fridge were past expired and curdled. It didn't seem as if anyone was attending to the breakfast. The hotel is in the midst of a remodel and the breakfast is in a temporary location so I am hopeful the breakfast will improve when it is in its central location. Since this was the only drawback, I would not hesitate to stay her again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mommydanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
525Front, General Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites La Crosse, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. We certainly appreciate your business! We strive to exceed our guest expectations and I apologize our breakfast did not. We have moved the breakfast to the newly remodeled breakfast location in the hotel. We were made aware a few of the individually sealed milk cartons appeared spoiled. All the milk with the same expiration date was immediately pulled. We are working with our supplier to ensure this doesn’t happen again as the expiration date which was 2/6/2014 had not passed. We hope you continue to choose GrandStay during future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Crosse hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites La Crosse Downtown
0.2 mi away
The Charmant Hotel
The Charmant Hotel
#1 of 20 in La Crosse
1,754 reviews
0.5 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton La Crosse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel La Crosse
Radisson Hotel La Crosse
#4 of 20 in La Crosse
1,040 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites La Crosse Downtown
2.2 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Conference Center La Crosse - Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GrandStay Hotel & Suites La Crosse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GrandStay Hotel & Suites La Crosse

Address: 525 Front St N, La Crosse, WI 54601-3277
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > La Crosse
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in La Crosse
#2 Business Hotel in La Crosse
#4 Romantic Hotel in La Crosse
Price Range: £100 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — GrandStay Hotel & Suites La Crosse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown La Crosse our all suite hotel combines the comforts of home with the services of a grand hotel. Free WIFI, parking and Grand Start Breakfast included in all rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your GrandStay Hotel & Suites La Crosse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grandstay Residential Hotel La Crosse
Grandstay Hotel La Crosse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing