We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“you can't beat it for the price”
Review of Welch Motel

Welch Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Welch Motel
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in La Crosse
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We are always a little concerned when motels have a lower price. Reminds me of a 1950's motel but updated. The rooms are very clean and I felt very safe in this area. The people at the desk were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bcoySundanceWyoming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2013

The staff is friendly, the rooms are very clean and comfortable,it is as close as you need to be to downtown, the university, the state park, shopping, etc. Why spend twice as much money somewhere else? I will definitely stay there again when I am back in town. Perfect at half the price.Thank you!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rockstar365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We rented 2 nonsmoking rooms, but one of them had clearly been a smoker's room. Unfortunately, there were no vacancies so switching rooms was not an option. Other than the difficulty breathing, the rooms were fine. The bathrooms were in good condition, and the rooms neat.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

First Impression: I usually stay at a downtown hotel but decided to venture into the interior of La Crosse. In short, I am happy that I did. The Welch Motel is located off of a busy highways 14 61 35. However, once inside it feels very warm and inviting. The motel is updated.

Staff: I was greeted by an enthusiastic young man upon check-in. It appeared that he really enjoyed his job, which made for a fun check-in. Everyone I encountered at the motel was very nice!

Room: My room was beautiful. Very clean and well put together. I was apprehensive about staying at a lower star motel but gave it a chance because of all of the reviews I had seen.

Location: The motel is conveniently located near an array of restaurants, mall, gas stations, and grocery stores all of which are within a 1 to 5 minute drive. Walgreens appeared to be within walking distance. The property is within a 10 minute drive to tourist attractions like State Park and Granddad Bluff.

I highly recommend this motel and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

We had to stay here because it was the last place with a room because of the Irish Festival and we were just passing thru so we were thankful we had a place to sleep. No phone in the room. One small pillow per person. Tv was an old analog and sat so low on the stand we couldn't see without our feet in the way and bed wasn't strong enough for us to sit up in. Looks like it was remodeled but not everywhere. Not enough light in the room even with 2 lamps and 1 overhead light. No breakfast .

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Omahans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

A very clean and charming motel. For us as foreigners it was a quite nostalgic feeling of how we imagined traveling in the USA. The owner was very interesting and interested. We talked long about a lot of things and felt very welcome and safe.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Su H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Like others we usually stay at the large chains, we are really glad we didn't this time. Kenya, the desk clerk, housekeeper, handy-person and just about everything else at the motel was so very helpful during our stay. The room was neat and clean, comfortable, and our stay was enjoyable. If, and when, we go to La Crosse again there is no doubt where we will stay. We will bring a coffee pot however.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chuck-Mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Crosse hotels
5.3 mi away
Settle Inn & Suites La Crosse
5.3 mi away
Motel 6 La Crosse WI
Motel 6 La Crosse WI
#15 of 20 in La Crosse
246 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Charmant Hotel
The Charmant Hotel
#1 of 20 in La Crosse
1,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites La Crosse
5.1 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Conference Center La Crosse - Riverfront
5.9 mi away
Days Inn La Crosse Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welch Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welch Motel

Address: 3643 Mormon Coulee Rd, La Crosse, WI 54601-7335
Region: United States > Wisconsin > La Crosse
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in La Crosse
Price Range: £39 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Welch Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean, comfortable, affordable. Scott & Rae Ann Elvin welcome you to La Crosse! We offer you the convenience of at-your-door parking, wireless internet, cable TV with HBO, family hospitality at a great location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Welch Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welch Hotel La Crosse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing