We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You've gotta see it!”

Franciscan Sisters of Perpetual Adoration Motherhouse
Ranked #5 of 30 things to do in La Crosse
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“You've gotta see it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2012

One of the most exquisite chapels (attached to the St. Rose Convent of Franciscan Sisters of Perpetual Adoration) I have ever seen in the US or in Europe.

Over 100 windows of Bavarian stained glass shine luminously on all sides of the chapel. A gorgeous pipe organ adds to the wow effect.

What appears to be marble, forming the columns and pillars are actually concrete, ingeniously painted to look like marble. Beautiful!

Our guide, one of the sisters, was delightful -- relating the history of the chapel itself, the sisters who live, work, and pray there, and then treating us to her playing a beautiful old harp.

Well worth a visit.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank NancyA676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    7
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
La Crosse, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“AMazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

The architecture and frescos in this building make it a must see for residents of La Crosse. We have a gem in out town. I definetyl recommend this to those visiting our area...you will be impressed.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank SKW0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Iowa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Historical”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

Beautiful spot in a residential setting. Had a personal tour of about 45 minutes.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank tdf531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Take the tour!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

I took my dad here as a Father's Day trip since he loves to tour churches, and we were not disappointed. The beauty of the chapel as well as learning about the life of the sisters make this a worthwhile stop in the area.

Helpful?
2 Thank Irishnips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ishpeming, Michigan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“WOW!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

Not everyone would think to visit a convent on their trip, but whether you're religious or not, this place is a must see just for the beautiful architecture! Complete with high arches, hand-painted, stained glass windows, a stunning pipe organ with over 1,000 pipes, balconies, Italian marble, hand-carved pews, and immaculate gardens, this place is just beautiful.

My great aunt belonged to the Franciscan Sisters and her funeral was held in this convent in 2006. I had not been back since 2006, and this time, it was nice to be there for something other than a sad occasion and get to enjoy the building and learn about its history. The Sisters are very knowledgeable and will treat you with hospitality.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank ageist856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Franciscan Sisters of Perpetual Adoration Motherhouse also viewed

 

Been to Franciscan Sisters of Perpetual Adoration Motherhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing