We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overnight stay, but more later!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in La Crosse
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bentley-Wheeler B&B
Ranked #2 of 6 La Crosse B&B and Inns
wisconsin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Overnight stay, but more later!”
Reviewed 6 November 2011

We live just "up the river" from LaCrosse, on the Great River Road in Fountain City. As we were attending a wedding, it was easier to spend the night, dine out and travel back the next morning.
Having done this before and been disappointed with local motel accomodations, we searched out and found this B&B.
Boy, are we glad we did!
Magnificent restoration efforts and attention to detail are immediately on view as you drive up and the interior goes beyond that. The owners upgraded our stay to The Ballroom as it was available and we walked into, well...beauty. Awe inspiring, sheer beauty.
Comfortable bed, warm furnishings and the morning breakfast basket left at your door included warm cinnamon buns, fresh blueberrys and more.
As owners of our own turn-of-the-century building, we understand what it takes to undertake and complete this kind of project. The owners have not missed a thing and any traveler should not miss this opportunity.
We will be recommending this B&B to any of our clients that are looking for a unique place to rest and enjoy as they travel through the area.
John and Lori
The Monarch Public House

Room Tip: For the few extra dollars, ask for the ballroom...you will be glad you did
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LookinAllOver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    7
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
38
57
3
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hayward, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

My 2 sisters and I spent 2 nights in the Ballroom Suite. This space (2500 square feet) is fabulous! Never once did we feel like we were in a hotel setting, we were "home". Ken and Jay made us feel very welcome, and made sure we had everything we needed. The Breakfast basket was fantastic! Freshly made, scones, on a warm plate were delicious! Cereal, yogurt, fresh fruit and milk and juice. Even fresh coffee beans and grinder! Perfect! The house is amazing, perfectly restored, with plenty of history. Thank you so much for a great weekend!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pattyjo1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

We had just one night to stay in La Crosse and choose the Bentley- Wheeler. What a wonderful home. We travel to La Crosse occasionally (from California) and will stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peggy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waleska, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

I stayed at the beautiful Bentley-Wheeler home on the weekend of September 23, 2011. I flew in to surprise my daughter for her birthday.
The decor is amazing and it was very quiet. I was so busy that I did not get the opportunity to meet the owners. A wonderful breakfast basket was left outside my door both mornings. They are very quiet with their deliveries, as I never saw or heard them.
I stayed in the extremely large ballroom on the top floor of the main house. (More like a private apartment) The linens were top of the line and it had everything I needed. I wish my visit had been longer so I could have enjoyed the garden with the fountain. Perfect place for quiet time or to read a book.
If you want wonderful service, beautiful decor and quiet then this is the place to stay!

Mary Ellen
Waleksa, Georgia

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1puddlesme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2011

The charm of this B & B was our favorite of 4 different B & B's that we experienced along the Great Mississippi River Road. The decore, the privacy, the charm of these two homes built in the mid 1800's is something to experience. The breakfast was also our favorite - the best blueberry scones we have found anywhere in the world with plenty of fresh fruit, yogurt, granola and fresh coffee beans. We have already booked a return. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The two queen rooms had excellent mattresses. We did not use all the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Stayed at this beautiful victorian home two weeks ago and loved it. Lovely decor,quiet and romantic.The ballroom suite should be your first choice. Very large with bedroom separated by large pocket doors from the adjacent kitchen,large ballroom with cozy sitting area near fireplace, fantastic bathroom with clawfoot soaking tub and skylight for putting on make-up and seeing the stars. The whole top floor of this mansion is yours! Our host was Ken, he was very gracious with his time. We toured the home and furnishings and were delighted to hear about the history. If the weather cooperates be sure to bring a bottle of wine,maybe some cheese and fruit and enjoy the expansive front deck. Also if you need reccomendations for restaurants etc ask Ken. We visited an awesome restaurant on the river (great food and martini's) and hit a wine bar on the way back, all within walking distance. Love this place!

Room Tip: Choose the ballroom suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TRAVEL5253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wi
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Nice, quiet home-base for a weekend of biking on the local trail system. Didn't see the owner except to check in and breakfast delivery, which was fine for us.

Beautiful old mansion homes refurbished into well-furnished guest suites and apartments. Wireless was good, neighborhood quiet, and easy access to the rest of the town.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank badbucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Crosse hotels
0.7 mi away
The Charmant Hotel
The Charmant Hotel
#2 of 20 in La Crosse
1,388 reviews
0.6 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton La Crosse
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites La Crosse Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Courtyard La Crosse Downtown/Mississippi Riverfront
0.7 mi away
Radisson Hotel La Crosse
Radisson Hotel La Crosse
#3 of 20 in La Crosse
936 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites La Crosse Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bentley-Wheeler B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bentley-Wheeler B&B

Property: Bentley-Wheeler B&B
Address: 938 & 950 Cass Street, La Crosse, WI 54601
Region: United States > Wisconsin > La Crosse
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in La Crosse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Bentley-Wheeler Bed and Breakfast! Our establishment is one of the newest and most premier bed and breakfast establishments in the state of Wisconsin. We are located in La Crosse, WI in two refurbished and finely detailed historic homes (two time winner of the La Crosse Preservation Alliance Historic Heritage Award and winner of the Wisconsin Trust for Historic Preservation Award). Daily housekeeping is available at no charge upon request. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing