We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the respite and look forward to a return trip”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in La Farge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kickapoo Valley Ranch Guest Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Loved the respite and look forward to a return trip”
Reviewed 31 August 2011

We had an amazing time. This place is gorgeous. Don't consider staying anywhere else in the region. I had some business to attend in the area and brought my family. I was a bit hesitant to stay when I looked at the website, I thought it would be a bit too country and perhaps conservative for me. It is anything but. The decor is western and country but it is open and lovely with elegance. The decor is MUCH nicer than the photos represent. We were surprised with delight to realize how spacious our cabin was. The owners have thought of everything. If someone here would have told me it had a bit of a Beekman Boy's feel with the goat soap and the llamas and a touch of Brokeback Mountain with the horses plus some Western Cowboy fun I would have got it. Really it is better than all that. The beds are very firm. The bathroom fan is quiet. The soaps are lovely. They buy many from a neighbor soap maker. They buy the baskets from another Amish neighbor. It is great to see them supporting the local businesses and giving you a sense of the history. The added plus of the DVD in our cabin explaining the history of the area really gave us an additional appreciation of the area we stayed in. We understood it much better when we later went canoeing and hiking in the reserve. Cowboy Joe's cookies and attention to detail rock. Cowboy David is so handsome and a great conversationist.
Now the best part is the gorgeous property they maintain. I can't imagine how much work it must be to pick up every speck of trash, to maintain all the fences, to take care of the many horses - that graze by your cabins and to keep every inch meticulous. Thank you for all the work you do so that people like us can take in the amazing views, the wonderful sounds of nature and the serene atmosphere. This place is a gift.

Room Tip: I don't think they have a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CreativeMom13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
108
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Kickapoo Valley Ranch is an amazing get away. I have stayed there a few times and always love it. I love waking up in the morning, drinking coffee and nibbling on cookies on the porches while the horse graze. Very peaceful. Cowboy Joe and Cowboy David make this place what it is!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tmdanielson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We loved the property and area. Cabins were clean, quiet, and lovely. But what really makes Kickapoo Valley ranch so wonderful is how Joe went out of his way to be helpful, when we booked on the phone, and of course during the stay. Really a jewel of a place!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zaddybu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

My husband and I stayed at at this wonderful place in July. It was beautiful, private, well appointed and friendly. We stayed in the Big Sky cabin and it was just perfect. We constantly were in wonder with how such a great place could be so reasonably priced. We were in the area to bike the Elroy Sparta trail but there is a lot of great hiking, canoeing and mountain biking nearby. It was nice just to drive the country roads and see the lovely Amish farms-like a post card! Kickapoo Valley is perfect for a romantic getaway!
Cowboy Joe is the best!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clubbing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2011

When you finally deicide it is time to visit the Kickapoo Vallery there IS truly no other place to stay than the Kickapoo Valley Ranch. I have been staying there since 2004 and find it to be the most amazing, beautiful, peaceful, joyous place anywhere!!
Even during the blizzard of 2010 my kids and I could not have had more fun! Fall, winter, spring or summer the ranch is the place to be!
Thankyou Cowboy Joseph and David for creating this amazing place where my soul is renewed and refreshed!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vespamama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2011

We spent three thoroughly enjoyable nights at the Kickapoo Valley Ranch in late June. The cabin was lovely and very clean, with a well-stocked kitchen and super comfortable bed. There were fresh-baked cookies in our cabin when we arrived. The owners were pleasant and welcoming. We enjoyed chatting with them when we saw them out and about on site, but they were extremely respectful of our privacy. The view from our cabin was so peaceful, and the horses on the ranch grazed and played near our cabin several times, providing additional entertainment. The stars at night were spectacular. We took advantage of hiking and canoeing opportunities just minutes from the Ranch. We couldn’t have asked for a better place for a quick get-away. If you’re looking for a peaceful, relaxed paced vacation, this is your perfect destination.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Calm_IC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

My husband and I just returned to New York City following our three night getaway at the Kickapoo Valley Ranch, and we're already missing our pristine cabin, the beautiful property, and the simple luxuries that made our stay feel perfectly removed, yet luxurious. Our cabin was adjacent to the horse pastures, a real treat, and, like all the cabins, featured a lovely, private porch that allowed us to enjoy a glass of wine under the stars each night from the comfort of wooden rocking chairs. The cabins are immaculate, simple yet lovely, and appointed with nice touches like local goat's milk soap and bath products, locally roasted coffee, a well-appointed efficiency kitchen, and best of all, homemade cookies that made this pastry chef sneak seconds when my husband wasn't looking. We really liked that there was no TV in the cabin (just the equipment to watch DVDs) which affords the opportunity for reflection,and detachment from the world. Definitely worth the trip. Especially great for folks who need lodging while visiting the area for family engagements, holidays, or other functions because it allows you to escape the family madness in stunning tranquility, but also a great honeymoon destination or getaway weekend for those who wish to enjoy nature and relax.

Room Tip: Call the owners - they will make you happy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lwiseNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Farge
9.6 mi away
No photo provided
Old Towne Motel
#1 of 1 in Westby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
16.9 mi away
Justin Trails Resort
Justin Trails Resort
#1 of 5 in Sparta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
9.5 mi away
Westby House Inn
Westby House Inn
#1 of 1 in Westby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kickapoo Valley Ranch Guest Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kickapoo Valley Ranch Guest Cabins

Property: Kickapoo Valley Ranch Guest Cabins
Address: E11761 County Road P, La Farge, WI 54639-8562
Region: United States > Wisconsin > La Farge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in La Farge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Kickapoo Valley of Southwestern Wisconsin these are some of the finest cabin accommodations in the Midwest! Surrounded by 8589 acres of forest preserve, the eight individual guest cabins, featuring king sized beds & sitting areas with sleepers are amazingly appointed and pristinely kept. Porches with over-sized rockers, kitchenettes, handmade quilts & high thread-count sheets. Simply the best! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kickapoo Valley Ranch Guest Cabins Hotel La Farge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing