We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow! This place is pretty amazing!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kickapoo Valley Ranch Guest Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in La Farge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kickapoo Valley Ranch Guest Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Here and there
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wow! This place is pretty amazing!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

My wife and I stayed in the Albertella cabin during 4th of July week. We were both pleasantly surprised by the quality of the accommodation and attention to detail. You can tell that Cowboy Joe puts his heart and soul into maintaining this upscale retreat (one that is reasonably priced) and making sure his guests have comfort and peace. And we did. While we spent a good amount of time biking the fantastic country roads, we found the cabin and vibe very comfortable and relaxing. It was a real treat to return to a nicely air conditioned cabin after biking in 100 + degree weather.

It was great to slow things down and see, experience and appreciate the beauty and culture of this area. As that great philosopher, Ferris Bueller, once said:"Life moves pretty fast. You don't stop and look around once in a while, you could miss it." The Kickapoo Vally Ranch delivers with the not missin' it part!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lurganboy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
106
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

KRV is truly perfect. Excluding the singing birds, there is nothing but silence here, all day and all night. We stayed 4 nights in the Big Sky Getaway and spent the days hiking in nearby Wildcat Mountain State Park and Kickapoo Valley Forest Preserve. Upon arrival at the Ranch, Cowboy Joe met us with a warm welcome, maps, and area information. Worth noting: the cleanliness of the cabin was above and beyond impeccable. Had you told me that the cabin was brand new and we were the first people to ever stay, I would have believed it. No wear and tear, no dust, no signs of other guests. The bedding is plush and snuggly, the kitchenette immaculate, and the cookies simply devine. Our favorite part of the Ranch was sitting on our back porch in the evenings, overlooking the wooded hills of the forest preserve, beyond the grazing horses. (Note: The Ranch's website is not overstating the lack of things "to do;" we were glad we packed in all of our food as grocery stores and restaurants are sparse without a significant drive. We also had no cell signal throughout the area.)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChicagoTravel1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Streator
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

What a wonderful place to get away to and just relax and let go of the worries of the world! No highway sounds, no annoying TV, no maids knocking on your door...nothing but nature and you. If you are looking for a place to unwind and do absolutely nothing (unless you want to)...this is the place to go. From the cookies awaiting you in your cabin, to the wonderful decor in the room, to the comfy rockers on the porch...and don't forget the coffee!

We will definitely be back to experience this peaceful, relaxing ranch.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Whitetail Cabin which was very quiet; but I think all the cabins would be the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goerne5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, IL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

What a great place for a peaceful retreat! We stayed for 5 days and had a great time. We loved exploring all the back country roads and hiking trails around the ranch. Cowboy Joe was so friendly and helpful. Definitely worth the drive from Central IL.

Room Tip: Big Sky cabin has a great bed and a jacuzzi tub and is a little separated from the other cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YPgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

Webster defines the word 'serene' as "calm, peaceful and untroubled; tranquil", and there is absolutely no doubt that the word 'serene' is the best to embody the spirit of the Kickapoo Valley and the KV Ranch. This was not my first visit to the ranch, but rather my first "getaway" visit with my girlfriend. From the moment you step out of your car, to the last goodbye, Cowboys Joe and David make you feel like family. Miss Kitty's Rendezvous was spacious and cozy. The bed was comfortable and inviting. There's nothing like a gas stove fireplace in the corner burning all night long - and seeing the snow gently cascading down outside. I'd also be lying if I said one of the staple motivations for driving from Minneapolis wasn't David's home-baked cookies - they'll be waiting for you in your cabin upon arrival and are extraordinary.

There's something for everyone at the KV Ranch, and I know you'll leave feeling rejuvenated like we did. We can't wait to come back again to see the beauty of the valley in yet another season - thanks guys!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank masonr100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

This place is a real find. The cabins are spacious and lovely, the view from the front porch is breathtaking. We spent 3 nights here and could have stayed more. This is a wonderful place to relax, and disconnect from the everyday rush. Pack a pile of books, some music (BYO ipod dock) some good food.(Next time I will byo my own non stick skillet. The utensils and kitchen set up are great, but I am just not used to doing my morning eggs on stainless steel.) We spent a day hiking, another day driving through the hill country to Lacrosse, and another day just laying around and reading. There are plenty of Amish Farm shops to visit, and beautiful walks to take. Cowboy Joe and Cousin Debbie are warm and friendly people, and they have paid attention to every detail. My favorite was the top quality coffee.
Cowboy Joe's winter rates can absolutely not be beat. We had not planned on staying a third
night, but my partner, who is not anxious to spend money, pointed out that at this rate we kind of had to stay. We can't wait to go back, Thanks so much for a lovely weekend.

Room Tip: They are all good, no worries at all..
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lmnmadison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janesville
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

This was our first stay at the KV Ranch. The cabin was perfectly prepared for us down to the last detail. The lovely homemade cookies that were left for us as a gift as well as the delicious fresh signature coffee added to a perfect weekend getaway. The accommodations were outstanding, freshly pressed linens, cozy plush blankets, a glowing fire and complete serenity made this trip one to remember.
I decided to try the in cabin couple massages as a surprise. WHAT A DELIGHTFUL TREAT that was! It was the best service one could ask for and it completely rounded out the best vacation retreat ever! I completely recommend taking advantage of this original service and surprising your special someone.
Cowboy Joe and David did a terrific job to be sure your stay is everything you want it to be. The cabin had outstanding amenities and was spotless. The accommodations are truly “FIVE STAR” and we cannot wait to come back! The views and peacefulness of the KV Ranch have no words that can do the justice it deserves. I recommend you go there and find yourself some relaxation at its very best. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Farge
9.9 mi away
No photo provided
Old Towne Motel
#1 of 1 in Westby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
9.5 mi away
Westby House Inn
Westby House Inn
#1 of 1 in Westby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kickapoo Valley Ranch Guest Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kickapoo Valley Ranch Guest Cabins

Property: Kickapoo Valley Ranch Guest Cabins
Address: E11761 County Road P, La Farge, WI 54639-8562
Region: United States > Wisconsin > La Farge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in La Farge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Kickapoo Valley of Southwestern Wisconsin these are some of the finest cabin accommodations in the Midwest! Surrounded by 8589 acres of forest preserve, the eight individual guest cabins, featuring king sized beds & sitting areas with sleepers are amazingly appointed and pristinely kept. Porches with over-sized rockers, kitchenettes, handmade quilts & high thread-count sheets. Simply the best! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kickapoo Valley Ranch Guest Cabins Hotel La Farge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing