We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms are nice, well maintained. The buffet was a buffet.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lake of the Torches Resort Casino
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lac du Flambeau
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We came from the Bad River Casino, a bit further up north, which was a dump. Lac du Flambeau looked like a four star resort. The rooms were nice, with nice sheets and clean!! We are not fond of buffets, but we were lured there because of the pig roast. It was just ok. The pig was ok, nothing special, cold. The boiled carrots were ok, along with some rib tips. The other side dishes looked and tasted icky. It was 8pm and the dessert area was a mess, with nothing looking edible. It will be quite awhile before I will be lured into a buffet. We did not try the breakfast buffet based on our stellar evening experience. It takes awhile to find a machine that pays out, but I did find one after fronting quite a bit of money. It was fun!

Stayed: July 2013
Thank CJGurnee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2013

I hate to not rate the place a 5 star but there are a few issues. Wen I checked in we found out that the room we made reservations for almost 2 months before was not available. We were quoted a price of $55 and wound up paying twice that, but the room we got was great so guess it was a wash here, so that wasn't the worst thing but it didn't seem right to us. Then not even a "sorry here is some free play coupons or free buffets either".
The slots just eat our money too. Usually we can hit a few jackpots to help us play longer but not this week. Only 2 blackjack tables at night with many people waiting, how does that make the casino $$?
Now we made a BIG mistake, eating at the buffet, the prime rib was like shoe leather and just about raw too. Many people had to ask them to cook it longer to just eat it. The soup was gone by 7 PM and they are open till 9 I believe, no more then 3 different deserts to pick from. Everyone was complaining and all we were told is sorry but no one really seemed to care.

So in conclusion the staff is great for the most part, room was very clean, casino people just average, not too friendly when we ask any questions, they acted like they really didn't want to be there.

Also, stay out to the pool, it has 3 times the clorine then needed, our eyes were burning when we used it.

Room Tip: Reserve it and have them email u the rate quoted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank R F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We booked the Lake of the Torches from Thursday night until Saturday. We were new to the casino and we signed up under the gaming packages- we got free play money for signing up as a club advantage member and free play money and food credit for the gaming package. The room was clean and liked that they had a non- smoking section. Some of the hotel desk clerks seemed like they did not want to be bothered and when they did they talked so fast that by the time you comphrended what they said they were done explaining everything. Breakfast buffet was good along with the food at Woody's Grill. Good to gamble in the morning because it was less smokey and the machines seemed to give more. View out of hotel window was of construction zone but only stayed in room for a bit.

Room Tip: - sign up for discounts, promos, and packages for the best deals - get to the buffets early so you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Stayed at Lke of the Torches again and it was Great, Room was super clean, Everyoen one front the Hotel desk host to the casino people were frendly and helpful. Breakfest buffet was good and not badly priced, slot were a little tight but we had a great time, plan on going back this fall

Room Tip: Always ask for a lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013 via mobile

Smokey, dirty, tight machines, no player ediquite, etc....... just skip this place trust me. No good service anywhere in the place from waitresses to dealers and pit bosses.Save your money and your lungs!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank AO312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

I went up here from 4 hours away as a guest. I went on a moments notice. I had fun on Friday night. Saturday morning, a friend and I went out to the deck to smoke. He went to open the heavy wooden gate, and the whole thing crashed down on my foot! I limped into lobby, took off my shoe and the top off my foot was hugely swollen. Staff bought me an ice pack. Security offered to call an ambulance, I declined. Some mgr. named Tom said his feet looklike this all the time. Told me I should go lay down and elevate my foot with an ice pack as well. I didnt go to sit in a room! I spent the next 2 days with no shoelace in and limping badly to the show in afternoon. I hinted latet that evening to "Tom" the mgr. that to be compted would be nice
He said he could buy me a drink. Are you serious? By there own admittance, that gate should not have been there, the hinges were broken off. In my opinion, all the hoopla made by maint staff(who by the way made the door disapeer) security and this horribly rude mgr. they vould have served a better apology, as I didnt even get one! BAD experience. The smarta##ed comments made by mgr. totally ruined this mini vacation. My foot turned black and blue after I got home, still hurts.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wizman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

I've stayed here several times and would have rated it higher prior to my last trip. While the bedding and bathrooms are clean, there was a terrible smokey smell permeating through the room and entire hotel area. Im not sure if it's caring over from the casino, but they need to deal with it soon. Other then that, the hotel staff was friendly and efficient. I only had breakfast at buffet and it was good. For a real nice dinner go to Chef Rene's Back Bay restaurant. For pizza and burgers or Indian Fry Bread, go to the New Flame. If your a fisherman or just enjoy boating the property is located on Pokegama lake and part of the beautiful Flambeau chain of lakes. I was ice fishing that weekend and spending time in the pool and hot tub afterwards was worth the price of the room.

Room Tip: If you enjoy beautiful views, the rooms facing the lake are worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lac du Flambeau
10.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 7 in Minocqua
72 reviews
11.6 mi away
The Pointe Hotel & Suites
11.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Concord Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
AmericInn Minocqua
AmericInn Minocqua
#5 of 7 in Minocqua
252 reviews
12.3 mi away
The Waters of Minocqua
The Waters of Minocqua
#3 of 7 in Minocqua
284 reviews
21.2 mi away
Black Bear Lodge
Black Bear Lodge
#1 of 4 in Saint Germain
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake of the Torches Resort Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake of the Torches Resort Casino

Address: 510 Old Abe Road, Lac du Flambeau, WI 54538
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Lac du Flambeau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lac du Flambeau
Price Range: £71 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake of the Torches Resort Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the shores of Pokegama Lake and nestled in Wisconsin's Northwoods, Lake of the Torches Resort Casino has the feel of a classic Northern retreat and reflects its Ojibwe culture and heritage. The casino has over 800 slot machines (including a non-smoking area), plus Blackjack and Craps, a high-stakes Bingo Hall seating up to 500 persons and Super Spots. Not to mention, great dining at Woody's Bar and Grill and The Eagle's Nest Restaurant will bring your experience full circle. The hotel has 101 well-appointed rooms, the Dancing Waters Lounge and the Woodland Oasis pool area. The 8,500 square-foot Convention Center with the Hall of Nations offers an outstanding venue for entertainment, receptions, trade shows, meetings, presentations and seminars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lake of the Torches Resort Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Of The Torches Hotel Lac Du Flambeau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing