We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On a lake and not boat friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lake of the Torches Resort Casino
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lac du Flambeau
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“On a lake and not boat friendly”
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Been here a few days and ready to leave boat in tow. Went to pull the boat out and return to be told I cannot park in the trailer area I have been parked in for 3 days because motorcycles need the parking???? Motorcycles that can park in small tight places. All this even given the fact we are PAYING hotel guests. I argue the point given I also have a handicap person requiring oxygen be near by but I am told I must park on the farthest side away from the hotel.

The rental cops the make me move the truck and boat two more times until I am at the farthest point away from the hotel. Great job guys. Very poor customer service and the WORST/LAST stay at the hotel.

As far as game play, slowest and smallest I have ever seen at a cadino and by far the smokiest casino floor. Outdated ventilation needs to be addressed or burn it down and build another.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Glen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOTRC, Manager at Lake of the Torches Resort Casino, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
We are sorry to hear about your recent experience at Lake of the Torches. Please be aware that we try to accommodate all of our guests and sometimes need to modify our parking arrangements to serve our guests in the best manner possible. We are also nearing completion of a major HVAC installation project which will enhance the air quality in our casino and make for a comfortable environment for all of our guests on the gaming floor. We realize that several aspects can enter into the perception of a guest’s winning or losing experience while gaming. We hope you will visit us again as gaming perceptions change from visit to visit. Thank you for staying with us and we would look forward to hosting you again at Lake of the Torches Resort Casino.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    50
    22
    9
    12
See reviews for
24
53
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
80 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

We stay here at least once a summer and just returned from this years trip. Our room needed attention this year but still paid a premium price for the night. TV didn't work and the sink in the bathroom refused to drain. While the resort does have some great people working (Marge), others are just plain miserable. The food thankfully remains good and the pool area is maintained. While this review is not even the slightest based off gaming, this casino seems nearly as tight as tight can get. $1,000 will not be sufficient for more than an hour of two.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank JCapp69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOTRC, Manager at Lake of the Torches Resort Casino, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for your feed back. This information will be forwarded to the appropriate management personnel so that your issues can be addressed. We hope that you continue to choose Lake of the Torches Resort Casino as your entertainment destination in Lac du Flambeau, and apologize for any discomfort you may have experienced during your most recent trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bend, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Lake of the Torches is a nice hotel but it is in need of updating. I stayed there over 10 years ago and the rooms still look the same the only thing that has changed is the price. A little pricey for a casino hotel but that's all that is around the area the hotel or cabin rentals. It's not run down it just needs a face lift if they are going to charged that type of pricing. We had fun took some of there money home with us so it made paying the hotel bill a little easier.
The room was very clean and the beds were comfortable we had a high floor so it was quiet but it was over looking the parking lot you have to pay more for the lake view.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor due to squeaky floors and you will not hear someone taking a shower in the mid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jm3534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOTRC, Manager at Lake of the Torches Resort Casino, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us at Lake of the Torches Resort Casino. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We have an ongoing schedule in which we update and remodel our hotel rooms and will be making further updates in the future. Also, our room rates are competitive with other locations in the Lakeland area. We also offer discounts for Club Advantage members and other special offers. Again, thank you for staying with us and we look forward to hosting you again soon at Lake of the Torches Resort Casino.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This was our first stop on a trip through northern Wisconsin and into Canada.

I have stayed here before and I would say that my second time here was just as great as the first. The rooms are decently sized and very clean.

While there are rooms that have views of the lake behind the property, we chose a 'standard' room and only had the view of some type of storage building. Not their fault at all, but highly suggest you get a room that faces the lake!

The room had two queen sized beds, a desk, and plenty of space - as well as your standard amenities: a desk, chair and decently sized bathroom (shower/tub).

The staff is very friendly and they make you feel like you are at home - just one of the family.

There is an indoor pool and large hot tub to take advantage of - couldn't wait to get in!

Definitely plan on staying here again should I ever be up in Lac du Flambeau!

Room Tip: Book a room that faces the lake - beautiful scenery!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tazmaniandvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOTRC, Manager at Lake of the Torches Resort Casino, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for taking you time to write a review for our property. Guest feedback is always appreciated. We are glad to hear about you pleasant experiences with us, and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Beautiful place to stay. The housekeeping staff do a wonderful job. We had an amazing view of the lake and saw an eagle in the morning. We all had lots of fun at Lake Of The Torches. The food and staff at Woody's are amazing. We loved all the food in the buffet also. Only complaint was in the casino they removed much of the video poker and replaced with MORE slots. If you're a video poker player there is not much for you anymore. Please bring back the video poker machines especially The Big Times machine!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IllinoisMag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOTRC, Manager at Lake of the Torches Resort Casino, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for taking you time to let us know about your recent stay with us at Lake of the Torches Resort Casino. Guest feedback is always appreciated. We are continually updating our gaming floor with new machines and technologies. We are sorry to hear we replaced you favorite game, however we still do have nearly 100 video Poker games active on the gaming floor. Again, thank you for staying with us and we look forward to hosting you again soon at Lake of the Torches Resort Casino.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pardeeville
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I actually won this stay at Rhinelander's Hops and Vines tasting event. Our room faced the water, our check-in was a breeze...gave us coupons to enjoy $1.50 off a drink.... and their $5 Buffet was exceptional! Had a very pleasant conversation with the man watering flowers and honestly the view on the deck was relaxing and gorgeous.... minus the mosquitoes!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank tammy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
117 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Didn't play there but it was more upscale casino that I had imagined. We stayed nearby and ate there twice. Good burgers with plenty of fries with a trip to the salad bar for ten bucks. Buffet also available. Craps table was closed. They have hours posted for their table games. Worth checking out for the food.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Banff22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lac du Flambeau
10.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 7 in Minocqua
67 reviews
10.9 mi away
Northwoods Inn & Suites
Northwoods Inn & Suites
#6 of 7 in Minocqua
22 reviews
11.6 mi away
The Pointe Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
AmericInn Minocqua
AmericInn Minocqua
#5 of 7 in Minocqua
226 reviews
11.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Concord Inn
12.3 mi away
The Waters of Minocqua
The Waters of Minocqua
#3 of 7 in Minocqua
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake of the Torches Resort Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake of the Torches Resort Casino

Property: Lake of the Torches Resort Casino
Address: 510 Old Abe Road, Lac du Flambeau, WI 54538
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Lac du Flambeau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lac du Flambeau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake of the Torches Resort Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the shores of Pokegama Lake and nestled in Wisconsin's Northwoods, Lake of the Torches Resort Casino has the feel of a classic Northern retreat and reflects its Ojibwe culture and heritage. The casino has over 800 slot machines (including a non-smoking area), plus Blackjack and Craps, a high-stakes Bingo Hall seating up to 500 persons and Super Spots. Not to mention, great dining at Woody's Bar and Grill and The Eagle's Nest Restaurant will bring your experience full circle. The hotel has 101 well-appointed rooms, the Dancing Waters Lounge and the Woodland Oasis pool area. The 8,500 square-foot Convention Center with the Hall of Nations offers an outstanding venue for entertainment, receptions, trade shows, meetings, presentations and seminars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Lake of the Torches Resort Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Of The Torches Hotel Lac Du Flambeau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing