We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love this place.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lac du Flambeau
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dillman's Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lac du Flambeau
Reviewed 22 October 2013

If you are looking for a fun and relaxing escape, this is where you want to be. My family has been visiting Dillman's Resort for five years. I was looking for a relaxing environment where we could spend time together with phones and computers off and where the kids could enjoy a multitude of fun activities. Dillman's fits the bill. From the second we drop off our luggage we have something to do. The short list starts with kayaking, canoeing, swimming, fishing, and we launch our own boat for water skiing. Evenings are around the campfire with s'mores and the occasional trip into Minocqua when we don't feel like cooking. The cabins are very clean and the staff(which is hard to say because they are more like family) are extremely accommodating and friendly and very helpful in assisting you in making the most of your vacation time. The clincher here is that Dillman's has something for everybody of every age in your group. If it is just sitting in an Adirondack chair decompressing and reading while looking out at the lake, taking an art class, or going on a leisurely pontoon boat tour of White Sand Lake(which they offer I think on Wednesdays) everyone will find something that they will enjoy. The Robertson and Skotterud families have been running Dillman's for years and it is no surprise that they have it down to an art form of its very own. We have had many fond memories at Dillman's and always look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed in North Shore 1 & 2, though we were part of a large group for a wedding, and I saw several rooms/buildings. The placement of the resort on the peninsula into the lake is gorgeous and access to the water just like you owned the place - so that is great. Also, they are dog friendly, and offer multiple fire pits (they supply the wood too) for great nights under the stars. You have to give them credit for an amazing location. However, as far as the sleeping rooms go, they are spacious, but furnished in 1980s dorm furniture - and our rooms kind of smelled of the dogs that had great vacations here previously. It's f a 'cabin in the woods' rental with a microwave and sink/dishes etc, so you can cook simple meals if you want. There's dish soap in the kitchenette and a hair dryer a bar of soap in the bathroom. clean towels. Cheap flat pillows and ancient bedspreads, but clean sheets. So, if you don't expect much in the way of 'nice hotel' and want a place where you and your kids can romp with your dog on vacation - this is a nice place. If you are looking for upscale furnishings and nice B&B touches - this ain't it.

Room Tip: there isn't a restaurant on property- but they do have a breakfast bar area, though they only ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

My wife and I and our children have been visiting Dillmans Bay Resort for a week each summer for over 35 years. We visited Dillmans again this summer with my married daughters, and grandchildren who are now the 3rd generation of our family who come with us to Dillmans each summer. Dillmans is a family run and owned resort with a kind and helpful staff. It is clean and has beautiful, well kept grounds with breathtaking views of White Sand lake. When visiting the resort, my family and I can enjoy fishing, swimming, kayaking, canoeing, or just laying on the beach while viewing wildlife such as eagles and loons. Dillmans is a safe environment where young children can have the freedom of being independent while either bike riding or playing on the grounds by themselves while their parents or grandparents have the peace of mind knowing they are safe at all times.

Room Tip: When making a reservation ask to speak to either Stephanie or Sue who are both extemely helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronshap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Our family returned for another White Sand Lake vacation this past August, and we again had a great experience at Dillman's! The cabin was clean and well stocked and we immediately headed to the lake upon our arrival. Our 10 year old promptly swam to the floating trampoline and used the free kayaks and canoes while we enjoyed the lovely view from the beach chairs.

Evenings are particularly special with the starry skies and campfires that we are able to build in the fire rings that are located around the resort - the firewood is provided...just bring your s'mores! :)

One morning the boys rented the fishing boat and I headed down to the peninsula for some outdoor yoga - what a great way to start the day!

As always, the Robertson's and Skotterud's were beyond helpful and we can NOT wait to return...hopefully we can swing something next summer!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hill_in_WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We planned and held the wedding of our son at Dillman's. All the staff were fantastic in helping us plan and attend to many of the details. The grounds are beautiful, the cabins are comfortable and the water is crystal clear. We enjoyed many of the amenities including boating, shuffleboard, horseshoes, and s'mores around the campfire. We enjoyed it so much we are planning a family reunion here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Dillman's is a wonderful family vacation spot. We recently spent a week there with our family for a much anticipated reunion. We we fortunate to have great weather and the children had lots of fun swimming in the clear lake. Our cottage was clean and well appointed. The reason why I did not rate it five stars is that I would have liked to have been given the option of housekeeping midway though our week.

Room Tip: Shuffleboard, tennis courts, kayaks, playground and basketball courts are free of charge to enjoy. S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We visited Dillman's for family vacation with 2 tween sons. We liked it and would return for another Northwoods vacation. Our accommodations were as described except sleeper sofa was a loveseat with a pullout bed for a single person, DVD player didn't work, and master TV only played VHS tapes. Not huge issues, especially since focus of visit was not watching media but it's a negative. To be fair, Dish network satellite TV in family area and wide selection of movies (mostly VHS) in the main office were very good. Flat screen TV in family area and old TV in master bedroom with no signal or satellite connection. We parked right outside the unit, which was very convenient. We rented a pontoon boat for a few days and tried swimming, tubing, and fishing (no luck on that but we are novice fisherman). The resort allowed us to dock the boat near our accommodations, which was nice. There was no housekeeping other than after a few days. We easily traded in towels and handled garbage ourselves. One disappointment was the lack of any sandy beach -- none. Instead, consistent with WI lakes, the swimming beaches are docks and some grassy areas. The swim raft and swim trampoline were great. There is no supervision, though, which resulted in one family taking over the raft with their cooler of beer. No kids could use the trampoline. They have one beat up paddleboat that our kids used and thought was OK. They had several single, kid kayaks with life jackets and our kids really enjoyed those. There were bikes available for free but they needed repairs -- good for quick rides by kids on paved roads. They were of a garage sale quality. Nicer adult bikes were available if a credit card is provided. No helmets provided. Resort was booked but still seemed calm and quiet. It is a dog friendly resort and there is noticeable dog poop here and there. Great geography being on the peninsula, which allows for good photo ops. A local grocery is pretty big and 3.5 miles away, but it closes early (8 in summer and earlier in other seasons). A super center Walmart is 20 mins away. The only wifi is in the library and the Grandview cabins, which have their own router. We picked up wifi intermittently in chalet 1. Checkout is at 10:00 in July 2013.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aaron1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lac du Flambeau
19.6 mi away
Black Bear Lodge
Black Bear Lodge
#1 of 4 in Saint Germain
170 reviews
12.4 mi away
The Waters of Minocqua
The Waters of Minocqua
#3 of 7 in Minocqua
282 reviews
3.1 mi away
Lake of the Torches Resort Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dillman's Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dillman's Bay Resort

Address: 3305 Sand Lake Lodge Ln, 13277 Dillman's Way, Lac du Flambeau, WI 54538-9744
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Lac du Flambeau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lac du Flambeau
Price Range: £69 - £305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When people think of a Wisconsin resort vacation, whether it’s for a business conference, golf, a quiet fishing retreat, a place where their creative talents can cultivate, or simply a family reunion filled with sailing, skiing, and swimming, many turn to the natural serene world of Dillman’s Bay in Lac du Flambeau. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dillman`s Bay Hotel Lac Du Flambeau
Dillmans Bay Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing