We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful! Don't recommend at all!”
Review of El Rancho Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
El Rancho Motel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Ladysmith
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I'm an older female traveling by myself. I was given a room around the back of the hotel facing an unlit parking lot. The outside light over my door was burnt out as well.
When I first pulled into the lot, I was on the phone with my husband and I saw the woman at the desk look out the window. I explained to her that I was finishing up a phone call and that's why I was sitting out there for a moment, and she made the remark about it being kind of a shady side of town, but then later when I asked for a refund, she said she had lived here for years and I was being dumb. I told her I'm not from around here, I don't know the area, and if I was traveling with my husband it would be different. She told me I needed to go back where I came from. She also said I had to write a letter stating why I wanted a refund. I did, and at the bottom I put that I was respectfully requesting a copy of the letter, and would sign my name after I received my copy. True to form, when I asked if I could have a copy, she ripped the letter out of my hand and said No! Then she wanted to know where I was going to go, and claimed the same person owned all the hotels and I'd have to drive out of town because she was going to call them and have me blacklisted. She was very hateful and rude, and I thought being an older female herself she would understand.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 317,718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAW905, Owner at El Rancho Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2014

Thank you for your review on EL RANCHO MOTEL
W are sorry for the light missing at your door as the construction workers often unscrew the light bulbs to make it darker in their room, when you parked outside for a long time and did not come in the staff then got concerned as many do parked just to use our internet. We understand your concerns about safety and we are sorry the communications between you and the staff was not good. The staff was upset but we do not a black flag anyone in Ladysmith. These are not the conduct lines we use at all. as we do appreciate all guests coming on a regular basis at our motel. Our previous customers would disagree with your past statement about our staff as our records of great stay and comment tells it all.
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor

Bob
(owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (21)
There are newer reviews for El Rancho Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

we stayed at the elrancho for the weekend found it to be a very clean and quit place to stay . The desk staff was very willing to make our stay special.We found our room to have all the needed things like micro,fridge,cable tv and internet .We will be staying with this motel when in this area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAW905, Owner at El Rancho Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2014

Thank you for your review on EL RANCHO MOTEL
The staff as lot of experience cleaning and greeting the guests, we have done many improvements and will continue to do more in the coming winter and spring in order to accommodate our customer’s needs, wishes and wants. Please enjoy the new 39 inches flat screen televisions in each rooms. Thank you for taking the time to write on Tip Advisor.


Bob
(owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Kathy made the whole trip wonderful. She was very informative on things to do that was close by. Our room were extra clean, The room was wall stocked with items needed to make our stay refreshing. We would highly recommend to our friends and family to stay here. I just can't say enough about how we really enjoyed our time spent at the El Rancho Motel in Ladysmith, WI.
We will be back again for sure.

Room Tip: just book a room and try it out
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dorhane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAW905, Owner at El Rancho Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2014

Thank you for your review on EL RANCHO MOTEL
Our manager has taken care of the motel for over 7 years and she is well aware of activities in the area, she does a great job with training and cleaning the facility. Refreshing and stocking items for our guest is part of our guide lines at the motel.
Thank you for recommending the motel to others as we do wish to have your business again. Thank you for taking the time to write on Tip Advisor.

Bob
(owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Kathy took care of all the difficult details with our Team billing, never a mistake even when there were changes for reservations. The rooms were clean, neat, comfortable. Anything we needed was taken care of immediately. A nice entry way, breakfast, care for our comfort and experience. We basically live in hotels year round, this is definitely one that is a small mom and pop place that makes you feel like you are at home. Thank you for the quality of the stay. Highly recommend for others. Will definitely go back, this time bringing the family! We were there from May thru end of June 2014.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 06Tripreview2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAW905, Owner at El Rancho Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2014

Thank you for your review on EL RANCHO MOTEL
We are very happy we were able to accommodate your group at our Motel. We do try to make your long stay from home taken care off. We do have many long term corp. stays that continue to come back and recommend this hidden motel for their lodging needs. Our manager does care and welcomes all guests to her Motel.
Thank you for taking the time to write on Tip Advisor.

Bob
(owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We had no complaints. Friendly proprietor. Room was clean and in good repair. Windows worked as did AC and fan. Clean refrigerator and spotless microwave. TV worked. Excellent connection and superb hi speed internet. It is not the Hilton... but c'mon this is Ladysmith in beautiful northern Wisconsin. If this is too downscale for you... go south - this part of the country is too incredible and tough for you.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NimbusRising
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

OMG! I have never been in such a gross motel! There was an over whelming smell of dog and some sort of food! ( I think) The odor was so bad that all of our clothing, things that had been in the room (for only 14 hours) had to be washed because the unknown odor attahed itself to EVERYTHING!! Gross! Gross! Gross!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank k t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

I was concerned about staying at the El Rancho after reading some of the older reviews but we found the motel to be quite adequate. It's not fancy but was actually much better than anticipated due to the old reviews. The room and the rest of the motel were clean. Water pressure was good and the A/C worked very well. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tami R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to El Rancho Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Rancho Motel

Address: 8500 West Flambeau Ave., Contact Hotel for Avilability, Ladysmith, WI 54848 (Formerly Best Western)
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Ladysmith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Ladysmith
Price Range: £55 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — El Rancho Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located North of Ladysmith along highway 27 business friendly, pleasant and clean motel great rates, microwave , refrigerator, flat screen tv' s in all rooms, onsite laundry service, free continental breakfast, free internet in all rooms, bar and restaurant near by, pet friendly, interior and exterior entrances, great motel for workers in the area. Formely Best Western Motel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your El Rancho Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western El Rancho Hotel Ladysmith

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing